We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Relais Borgo San Pietro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Relais Borgo San Pietro
Ranked #14 of 24 Hotels in Cortona
Certificate of Excellence
Raleigh, North Carolina
2 reviews
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2011

My husband and I had a wonderful experience at the Relais. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. Our room was clean and spacious and we had a wonderful view of Cortona from our window. We loved the breakfast every morning in the garden and listening to the church bells in the distance. We enjoyed the pool and the free wi-fi and it was convenient to day trips all over Tuscany. Luciane, Sarah and Elenora made us feel right at home.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    51
    11
    4
    1
See reviews for
33
106
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2011

Actually we liked the rather 'off' location to Cortona, feeling part of the typical italian landscape and had nice views around. Cortona was only a 5 mts drive uphill and we were glad we didn't book a hotel in the inevitably touristic centre but a few miles outside.
The room and furniture had a very old italian ' borgo' atmosphere, including an old dusty smell, which, once noticed, we were used to very quickly. The bathroom was large and well supplied. The swimming pool is very nice situated in the surrounding fields. The service was accurate, missed a bit a family feeling though (after a very warm welcome we saw 5 different people at the reception in 1,5 day). Breakfast was nice on a terrace outside. Perfect place for exploring the south of tuscany.

Room Tip: you can choose rooms in surrounding 'private' buildings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank floorams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandnes, Norway
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2011

The hotel itself was fine, our only complaint there was that the bed was too hard. The pool area was great, and the pool larger than expected. Other than the pool, there was nothing special about the hotel. What we didn't like was the location. We thought it was 2 km outside Cortona, and that we would be able to walk to town for dinner. It is 3-4 km from Cortona, and Cortona is at the top of a very, very steep hill. So it would have taken a long time to walk. The reception expected the taxi to cost 18 EUR each way, so we ended up driving for dinner, which meant no wine for the driver. No restaurant at the hotel either, and nothing closer than Cortona. So we wouldn't recommend this place unless you don't drink - I'm sure it is possible to find similar places it a better location.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sigrun H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palermo, Italy
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2011

I was there in august with my family and friends. Friendly welcome, fine location, comfortable and clean rooms, lovely pool, although if the frequent presence of bees in the water could make it sometime dangerous, especially for allergic subjects. Attention to agree in advance the price of cleaning if you choose the apartment accommodation . We paid 30 euros for three days for the final clean and this price was not envisaged at the time of booking.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sis2011_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Latina, Italy
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2011

We were 15 people ad we all loved it! All the members of the staff, especially Luciane and Roberto, are very kind and happy to help you with all kind of problems and requests. The rooms are nice and clean and the location is simply perfect: in the beautiful countryside, under the Tuscan sun, but at the same time 10 minutes away from Cortona, a little jewel!!! :-) . I'll be back!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lalla1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto Alegre, RS
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2010

We had a great experience in this hotel. Very friendly staff and great rooms. We took our coffe at a wonderful garden, where we can see the mountain and Cortona.

I strongly recommend this place to everyone.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leobopp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2010

We stayed at Relais Borgo San Pietro in late August -early sept. This is a lovely converted farm with lots of olive trees. Has a great pool. The rooms are small but clean confortable and par for the course in this part of europe. Well located for day trips to Siena, Montalcino, Pienza, etc. The staff was great. Davide helped us find local restaurants, sold us wine at night and booked winery tours. It's a bit hard to find but with a car was not a realy problem. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ff68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cortona hotels
7.9 km away
Villa di Piazzano
Villa di Piazzano
#1 of 24 in Cortona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
1.5 km away
Borgo il Melone
Borgo il Melone
#8 of 24 in Cortona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
6.8 km away
Relais La Corte dei Papi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 km away
Villa Marsili
Villa Marsili
#2 of 24 in Cortona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
0.9 km away
Relais Il Falconiere & Spa
4.5 km away
Cortona Resort & Spa
Cortona Resort & Spa
#4 of 24 in Cortona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais Borgo San Pietro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Borgo San Pietro

Property: Relais Borgo San Pietro
Address: Loc. San Pietro a Cegliolo, 52044, Cortona, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Cortona
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cortona
#11 Luxury Hotel in Cortona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Relais Borgo San Pietro 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relais Borgo San Pietro is an ancient XVII century farm transformed into a charming Relais with outdoor swimming pool composed of 14 rooms and 5 apartments. Thanks to an intelligent restoration the new purpose of the structure took into account yet maintaining its ancient look. The old well, the fruit and olive trees, the grass fields, combined with the old prints, paintings and furniture, give that peaceful feeling and atmosphere of a Tuscan country house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Relais Borgo San Pietro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Borgo San Pietro Hotel Cortona
Relais Borgo San Pietro Cortona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing