We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A beautiful farmhouse retreat in Tuscany”
other travellers have booked this property
Il Bocciolo Twin/double bedroom
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Il Bocciolo Twin/double bedroom
An aerial view of La Lombarda
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
Il Bocciolo Twin/double bedroom
An aerial view of La Lombarda
The relaxing swimming pool
La Lombarda against Cortona backdrop
Il Bocciolo Lounge
Il Bocciolo Lounge
Il Bocciolo Kitchen/diner
Il Bocciolo Kitchen/diner
Il Bocciolo Kitchen/diner
Il Bocciolo Twin/double bedroom
Il Bocciolo Twin/double bedroom
Il Bocciolo shower room
La Lombarda view from the road
La Lombarda - back garden as seen from our balcony.
Rose bed
Cortona on its hill - a 20 minute drive away
La Lombarda - front garden
Our little orchard. Peach, apricot, apple, pear and fig.
Our vineyard. Sangiovese, Syrah and Malvasia Nera.
Cortona's Piazza Repubblica. Perfect for wining and dining, or simply a coffee or a beer.
Castle at Castiglione del Lago on Lake Trasimeno - easily reached in 20 minutes-
Lake Trasimeno
Isola Maggiore on Lake Trasimeno
Siena - Palazzo Pubblico - just an hours pleasant drive away
take a short train ride and enjoy Florence - Ponte Vecchio
Florence, city of art - panorama
Assisi, basilica San Francesco: the church that St. Francis didn't want built.
Perugia - Fontana Maggiore
Montichiello in the Val D'Orcia
Val D'Orcia viewed from Pienza. Monte Amiata forms the backdrop.
The beautiful Val D'Orcia. Perfect for walking and cycling.
'Il Bocciolo' - Lounge and Kitchen/Dining Room
Il Bocciolo - lounge/diner
Il Bocciolo - the romantic bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Cortona, Province of Arezzo, Tuscany

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Nini807
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A beautiful farmhouse retreat in Tuscany”
Reviewed October 19, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We loved our week in this beautiful farmhouse retreat in Tuscany. Perched amongst the vineyards, olive trees and rolling hills of the countryside, we were made to feel completely at home. We enjoyed having breakfasts and cooking dinners in the wonderful kitchen, and ventured out each day to explore various places in Tuscany and neighboring Umbria. Nina and Peter were happy to make suggestions, and had stocked the kitchen with lots of welcoming treats such that if we hadn't want to go to the shops on the afternoon of our arrival, we would have been well set for the evening and next morning. They really did everything they could to make our stay enjoyable, and it was! Our favorite places to explore: Cortona, Gubbio, Lake Trasimeno, Le Celle (Nina will give you directions), and the little towns of Paciano and Panicale. We enjoyed a lovely lunch at the Osteria del Teatro in Cortona, and shopping at the Coop met our every need!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborah N
Ormskirk, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A perfect retreat!”
Reviewed September 10, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

La Lombarda, is a delightful farmhouse, set in a quiet and peaceful rural area. We wanted to retreat from the world and were able to do this here. The local area is stunning, and the ease of getting to the Medieval town of Cortona, with a hire car, made going out in the evening most pleasant. Cortona, provided excellent restaurants, and plenty of local culture.

We were welcomed most warmly by the owners, and the farmhouse itself was superbly equipped, along with a lovely private swimming pool, and patio to relax in.

We really recommend this property for both couples and families who want to relax and explore the local delights of Tuscany and Umbria.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meddy65
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Just the most gorgeous location with perfect hosts”
Reviewed July 16, 2015 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This really is the most perfect place you could stay if visiting Tuscany. It is perfectly located for visiting Montepulciano, Cortona, Sienna, Pienza and the surrounding area. But what makes this place are the most perfect hosts, Peter and Nina and Caterina who just really look after you. The accommodation is well appointed and we stayed here four years on the run, just loved it. Would highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teresa N
Potters Bar, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
297 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Home from home! Fantastic hosts”
Reviewed April 10, 2015 for a stay in June 2014

We came with my mum and our adult children and their partner.
Peter and Giovanna could not have made us more welcome.
Whenever we have been self catering before, we have had to provide everything like herbs and spices, etc there were lots of items provided
There was a huge welcome pack of bread, butter, cheese and salami, wine and beer ( probably more too!) I can't remember now
We have just booked to go again and I realised I had not put up a review
There were lots of things like soap powder for the washing machine, cleaning materials and plenty of toilet rolls etc
The flat was exactly as described. The bed was very comfortable and it was great having a big table we could all sit round inside.
The outside area is nicely screened off with comfy chairs table and umbrella and just a stones throw from the lovely pool area.
There are plenty of sun loungers and a shaded area for when the sun is high
The gardens are well tended with a small vineyard, olive trees and fruit trees.
Giovannas mum Katerina makes wonderful jam and pickles
Giovanna and Peter cooked a meal for us sometimes they will takes guests into Cortona for an ice cream
Nothing was too much trouble. Peter took time to find out about vineyard tours, book a resturaunt, print off our boarding passes and give us lots of tips on days out.
The property is a great base for days out. Our son and his partner flew to Florence and we met them at Camucia station about 15 minutes away
Our daughter flew to Perugia about 30 minutes away
You do need a car unless you plan to stay on site all the time. The local supermarket in Cortona was very reasonably priced.
We really appreciated wifi we could even get it by the pool!
Peter and Giovanna live above the flats and willing to help whenever asked
The flat was on the ground floor
The pool is not fenced in for young children

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quiet and relaxing family holiday
Liked least: Having to go home
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jelena A
Serbia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful seven sunflower days!”
Reviewed August 19, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

The apartment is spacious, clean and fully equipped. Our hosts Nina and Peter were absolutely great. Location of the apartment is what we liked the best. The house is 15 drive from Cortona, about 30 minutes drive from Montepulciano, 40 minutes from Perugia, about 50 minutes from Siena...
We enjoyed in our afternoons on the pool. We enjoyed our stay here very much and we were not surprised to hear that some guests came to La Lombarda for the fourth time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wazzuski
Newport, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Ottimo!”
Reviewed October 21, 2013 for a stay in October 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Peter and Nina were absolutely fantastic hosts! Very generous with recommendations, and booked our requested dinner reservation for us. The apartment was exactly what we were hoping for when we booked it, and in a beautiful setting. A mere 15-minute drive to Cortona, with easy access to all of the other "must-sees" in Tuscany, ie Siena, Montepulciano, Assisi, Pienza, Montalcino, and others too numerous to mention. The kitchen and washing machine were life-savers as they allowed us to scale down the amount of luggage we brought and saved us plenty of money on food. I highly recommend to any traveler looking for something different from the usual hotel stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Location, atmosphere, and hosts
Liked least: Typical Euro bed, not the most comfortable.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann29holi...
Leeds
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A lovely peaceful retreat”
Reviewed June 6, 2013 for a stay in June 2013
3
people found this review helpful

We stayed for a week with Nina and Peter and they were lovely people who made us very welcome. We had a lovely south facing patio and of course the huge swimming pool which was a great treat from the heat of the afternoon sun. The apartment was a real home from home and we had everything we could possible need for a lovely holiday. There are lots of lovely places to visit very close by including Cortona, the location for the film 'Under the Tuscan sun'. We would definitely visit again when next in Italy.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The property
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing