We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
A week in Cortona

Cortona is a beautiful, quaint town in the heart of Tuscany. We stayed in a great 1 bed, 1 bath, 2... read more

Reviewed October 7, 2018
scottandfam2017
,
Seattle, Washington
via mobile
Loved our stay

Spent a week in Cortona in a 3rd floor apartment villa in middle of town. Together in Tuscany was... read more

Reviewed October 4, 2018
karink640
,
Corvallis, Oregon
via mobile
Read all 97 reviews
  
Reviews (97)
Filter reviews
97 results
Traveller rating
82
6
4
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
82
6
4
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews casa san rental car started planning our trip planning stages story home great central location chef ivan washing machine the check in process week stay cooking class spent a wonderful week dinner reservations train station home base olive oil mill whole group
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 97 reviews
Reviewed July 8, 2018

We stayed at the spectacular Villa Conti. Together in Tuscany was key in planning our back to back weeks for 2, mostly different, groups of travelers. Denyse and her team were very responsive to our many emails as we explored our options. They organized daily trips (including transportation) that varied from guided tours of Florence and other nearby towns, to dinner reservations, wine tasting, and our 'Under the Tuscan Sun" cooking class- the crown jewel of the trip. Her team's attention to detail and professionalism allowed 22 of us to have the trip of a lifetime.

Date of experience: June 2018
1  Thank mamesteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DENYSE_PERATHONER, Owner at Together in Tuscany & Umbria, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2018

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience here on TripAdvisor.

It was so great meeting you and we're glad you had a great time at Villa Conti and during the tours we planned.

We wish you all the best and we look forward to have you as a guest again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 6, 2018 via mobile

What a charming place to vacation. Cortona has stunning views and offers great experiences! The Together in Tuscany team (Denyse, Irene, and Laura) were responsive and helpful from the minute we started planning our trip until we said goodbye! Our driver GianEnrico was great too! We had a wonderful tour of the LaBraccesca winery; learned to cook pici and tarts there with Sylvia; and had a wonderful lunch and wine tasting experience. While we left Cortona a little earlier than expected, that was only to spend a few more days in Rome before heading home. Thanks so much Together in Tuscany!!

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank Mlsedky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DENYSE_PERATHONER, Owner at Together in Tuscany & Umbria, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2018

Thank you so much for your kind words!

It was great meeting you and we're happy to read you enjoyed your stay as well as your cooking class.

We'll also let GianEnrico know - grazie.

We wish you all the best and we look forward to have you as a guest again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 6, 2018

Oh my goodness we loved staying in Cortona. It's not a gigantic hill-town but just right for us. We got to know some locals and met the owner of the place we were staying, Carlo. Feel like we've made a life long friend. He recommended the best pizza place - Trattoria Pizzeria "Croce del Travaglio". It was a close walk. The hubs LOVES pizza and had three in one week! Cortona was a great jumping off place to see other hill towns. We loved it. Denise and her team communicated with us very well prior to our stay. Lots of communication! They were gracious when we arrived and the ATM wouldn't spit out our money until the next day. :) Thanks, we had a wonderful stay!

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank Skirwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DENYSE_PERATHONER, Owner at Together in Tuscany & Umbria, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2018

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience.

We're so happy you enjoyed your stay with us Cortona!
It was so lovely to meet you and it's great to hear you got on well with Carlo.

We wish you all the best and we look forward to have you as a guest again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 6, 2018

Cortona and our villa were spectacular -- however be prepared for a hill climb. the streets run at a 30 to 45 degree slope. Our cooking class was one of the highlights of the trip. We tried to get several tours scheduled with Together in Tuscany with no luck. Together in Tuscany and Umbria were disorganized, expensive and generally sub-par. Additionally the staff was not at all knowledgeable and was on some occasions quite rude. I would certainly return to Cortona and stay in the same villa, but would purchase any tours or experiences elsewhere. There were 2 other tour companies in Cortona and a nearby resort was so helpful in setting up wine tours and destination suggestions. One was an annual event that we would have missed if not for this other resort staff and tour companies.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank DanP1879
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DENYSE_PERATHONER, Owner at Together in Tuscany & Umbria, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2018

Hi Dan,

First, we want to thank you for your feedback. While we wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that helps us improve. We work hard to deliver a great guest experience and our team and you have already exchanged emails trying to find a fair resolution. As you know, our website experienced technical problems with form submissions, leading to miscommunication when planning your stay. We’re sorry for the inconvenience it caused and already offered at the time a discount towards your cooking class, which we’re glad to read was the highlight of your trip.

We wish you a safe trip back home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 28, 2018

I have travelled many places and taken many tours across the globe. I never write reviews on social media, however this experience was so sub-par that it deserved one.

First, Cortona and our villa (San Francesco) were spectacular-we got an authentic experience of what it is like to live like a local. The townspeople are really friendly and helpful. Our cooking class taught by the owner of the house was one of the highlights of the trip. We took some tours from other companies that were excellent, organized, and affordable. However, two of the three experiences we purchased from Together in Tuscany and Umbria were disorganized, expensive and generally sub-par. Additionally the staff was not at all knowledgeable and was on some occasions quite rude. I would certainly return to Cortona and stay in the same villa, but would purchase any tours or experiences elsewhere.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank debra n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DENYSE_PERATHONER, Owner at Together in Tuscany & Umbria, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2018

Hi Debra,

We’re sorry that you feel this way. We take any feedback and complaint we receive very seriously and thanks to our customers sharing their experience, we have taken, throughout the years, direct action to improve our services.

You and us have already exchanged emails about your experience in the past couple of days, where our team acknowledged that there may have been some hiccups. However, we also made numerous allowances for your party, especially because we received several last minute requests.

We’re a tiny team and always strive to make our customers’ vacation special, trying to be as flexible as we can, even though it’s not always easy during high season in Italy. We feel that during your stay we put every effort to resolve any issue that came up.

Anyway, as stated at beginning of this reply, we take any feedback into account and already took steps to improve what we can in the short term based on your comments.

Thank you for your feedback and have a safe trip back home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews