We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Casa Amarino: Loved, Loved, Loved our apartment and the location”

Together in Tuscany & Umbria
Ranked #7 of 18 Tours in Cortona
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Tours and experiences in the heart of Italy. With over 10 years' experience, we plan stress-free holidays. Private guided tours - Cooking classes & wine tastings - Car transfers with licensed drivers - Bike, Vespa & car rentals. Discover Tuscany, Umbria and Italy with us!
Reviewed September 23, 2018

I'm not sure why, but Together in Tuscany tours cost 4 times as much as another local tour guide, who was absolutely outstanding. I would have loved to take a cookie class, but at around $1,000 US, I thought the price was ridiculously high. We didn't buy any tours from Together in Tuscany.
When we were brought to Casa Amarino, the woman who was showing us around said the TV worked. My husband couldn't get it to work and when we texted Denyse, she said it didn't work. My husband was disappointed. The coffee pot took 30 minutes to brew, and when we mentioned it, they brought us a new coffee pot within hours. All in all, a very mixed bag.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank SeattleSueandSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DENYSE_PERATHONER, Owner at Together in Tuscany & Umbria, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2018

Hi,

We’re sorry that you feel this way. Please know that we take any feedback and complaint we receive very seriously and thanks to our customers sharing their experiences, we have taken, throughout the years, direct action to improve our services.

While we apologise for the mixup with the TV, we feel that throughout your stay we tried our best to be helpful, for example when we up and left everything to rush to Casa Amorino to fetch the passports you forgot behind and quickly return them to you. Or when we arranged private car transfers and didn’t charge you for them.

As for our prices, we believe there must have been a misunderstanding on your end. Our quote was nowhere near $1000 for 2 people for a cooking class, which, we agree with you, would have been way too high.

We would also like to take this opportunity to say that it’s not fair to compare the price of an independent tour guide and ours. We’re a full-service agency and therefore have higher expenses. We have to comply with different legislation and taxes, for one. Moreover, to ensure our guests’ peace of mind, we're insured and only work with vetted drivers and guides.
Most importantly, almost all of the tours we offer include, besides the guided tour:
- entrance tickets;
- private transfers in air-conditioned vans with licensed taxi drivers;
- a 2-course meal (including water and wine).
An independent tour guide will, usually, only offer a walking tour.

Thank you for your feedback and have a safe trip back home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (96)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"casa san"
in 4 reviews
"rental car"
in 5 reviews
"started planning our trip"
in 2 reviews
"planning stages"
in 2 reviews
"story home"
in 2 reviews
"rental home"
in 2 reviews
"great central location"
in 2 reviews
"chef ivan"
in 2 reviews
"washing machine"
in 2 reviews
"the check in process"
in 2 reviews
"week stay"
in 4 reviews
"cooking class"
in 20 reviews
"spent a wonderful week"
in 2 reviews
"dinner reservations"
in 2 reviews
"train tickets"
in 3 reviews
"home base"
in 2 reviews
"olive oil mill"
in 2 reviews
Filter

3 - 7 of 96 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2018

We stayed at Casa Bacco with two other couples last week and did several tours organized by Denyse and her staff. The house was great and the tour experiences were amazing. I would have to say that we experienced unparalleled customer service from Denyse and her staff. Everything was seamless from the check in process to all the tours. I would highly recommend Together in Tuscany and Umbria if you are looking to have a first class experience on your visit to Cortona.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank tom232018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DENYSE_PERATHONER, Owner at Together in Tuscany & Umbria, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2018

Grazie! It's great to hear you enjoyed your time at Casa Bacco. Thank you so much for your kind words and for taking the time to share your experience.

We wish you all the best and look forward to having you as a guest again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 10, 2018 via mobile

Stayed in a villa, Casa Bacco in the hilltop town of Cortona with two other couples. Arranged through Together in Tuscany and Umbria. Denyse who runs the company was invaluable in providing us with recommendations for tours, restaurants, wine tastings and cooking classes. Very nice town but built on hill requiring frequent walks up and down steep hills. The local people were very friendly. If you are visiting I would highly recommend her services.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DENYSE_PERATHONER, Owner at Together in Tuscany & Umbria, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2018

Dear Jim,

Grazie! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We're so happy you had a great time in Cortona and that you enjoyed your time at Casa Bacco.

We wish you all the best and look forward to having you as a guest again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 10, 2018

Cortona was amazing - loved the authentic experience of the area! Restaurants were great and make sure to visit SNOOPY for probably the best every gelato! Casa Ombretta was comfortable and had fantastic views. All the basics were available in the villa - would like to see more modern updates like better TV channel choices, TV that allows streaming etc. Be prepared for the hill walking back from the town square and restaurants but great way to walk off your meal :) Service from Together in Tuscany & Umbria was friendly and accommodating. I felt some of the tours were overpriced and expensive and would be good to see this team provide things like restaurant recommendations, booking services to restaurants etc but the team were always responsive to questions and enquiries - thank you Together in Tuscany & Umbria!

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank seanl634
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DENYSE_PERATHONER, Owner at Together in Tuscany & Umbria, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2018

Dear Sean,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience, we’re so happy you enjoyed your time in Cortona.

Also, thank you for your feedback, which we always welcome. We're already working on a few of the things you mentioned, so it's good to know we're on the right track.

We wish you all the best and look forward to having you as a guest again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed August 31, 2018 via mobile

What a fabulous city to explore! And what a great central location for day trips! Casa Stella was a delightful and convenient house. The views from the city wall are amazing. The food is fabulous and the hills helped us work it off. Just meander and enjoy the people watching, the wine tastings, the churches, the history, the shopping, and the gellato.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Curious393696
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DENYSE_PERATHONER, Owner at Together in Tuscany & Umbria, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2018

Dear Janet,

Grazie! It's so nice to hear you enjoyed your time at Casa Stella and in Cortona.

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience here on TripAdvisor.

We wish you all the best and look forward having you as a guest again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Together in Tuscany & Umbria also viewed

Cortona, Province of Arezzo
Cortona, Province of Arezzo
 
Cortona, Province of Arezzo
 

Been to Together in Tuscany & Umbria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing