We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Loved our stay

Spent a week in Cortona in a 3rd floor apartment villa in middle of town. Together in Tuscany was... read more

Reviewed October 4, 2018
karink640
,
Corvallis, Oregon
via mobile
Cortona-Casa Bacco

We stayed at Casa Bacco with two other couples last week and did several tours organized by Denyse... read more

Reviewed September 17, 2018
tom232018
,
Denver, Colorado
Read all 96 reviews
  
Reviews (96)
Filter reviews
96 results
Traveller rating
82
6
4
4
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
82
6
4
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews casa san amazing week rental car started planning our trip planning stages story home rental home great central location chef ivan washing machine the check in process week stay cooking class whole group dinner reservations train tickets home base
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 96 reviews
Reviewed October 4, 2018 via mobile

Spent a week in Cortona in a 3rd floor apartment villa in middle of town. Together in Tuscany was the agency facilitating our visit. They were very helpful in the planning stages of our visit, met us at train station to get us going on our visit, got us smoothly checked in to our lodging, and were helpful in facilitating our Florence visit, including helping us resolve a problem that came up, and well as helping us with transportation from Cortona to Tellaro.
They were always great about answering my many email questions prior to our arrival!
Thank you Together in Tuscany!

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank karink640
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DENYSE_PERATHONER, Owner at Together in Tuscany & Umbria, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2018

Dear Karin,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience. It was a pleasure meeting you and we're so happy you enjoyed your time in Cortona, Florence and Tellaro.

We wish you all the best and look forward to having you as a guest again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 23, 2018

I'm not sure why, but Together in Tuscany tours cost 4 times as much as another local tour guide, who was absolutely outstanding. I would have loved to take a cookie class, but at around $1,000 US, I thought the price was ridiculously high. We didn't buy any tours from Together in Tuscany.
When we were brought to Casa Amarino, the woman who was showing us around said the TV worked. My husband couldn't get it to work and when we texted Denyse, she said it didn't work. My husband was disappointed. The coffee pot took 30 minutes to brew, and when we mentioned it, they brought us a new coffee pot within hours. All in all, a very mixed bag.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank SeattleSueandSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DENYSE_PERATHONER, Owner at Together in Tuscany & Umbria, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2018

Hi,

We’re sorry that you feel this way. Please know that we take any feedback and complaint we receive very seriously and thanks to our customers sharing their experiences, we have taken, throughout the years, direct action to improve our services.

While we apologise for the mixup with the TV, we feel that throughout your stay we tried our best to be helpful, for example when we up and left everything to rush to Casa Amorino to fetch the passports you forgot behind and quickly return them to you. Or when we arranged private car transfers and didn’t charge you for them.

As for our prices, we believe there must have been a misunderstanding on your end. Our quote was nowhere near $1000 for 2 people for a cooking class, which, we agree with you, would have been way too high.

We would also like to take this opportunity to say that it’s not fair to compare the price of an independent tour guide and ours. We’re a full-service agency and therefore have higher expenses. We have to comply with different legislation and taxes, for one. Moreover, to ensure our guests’ peace of mind, we're insured and only work with vetted drivers and guides.
Most importantly, almost all of the tours we offer include, besides the guided tour:
- entrance tickets;
- private transfers in air-conditioned vans with licensed taxi drivers;
- a 2-course meal (including water and wine).
An independent tour guide will, usually, only offer a walking tour.

Thank you for your feedback and have a safe trip back home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 17, 2018

We stayed at Casa Bacco with two other couples last week and did several tours organized by Denyse and her staff. The house was great and the tour experiences were amazing. I would have to say that we experienced unparalleled customer service from Denyse and her staff. Everything was seamless from the check in process to all the tours. I would highly recommend Together in Tuscany and Umbria if you are looking to have a first class experience on your visit to Cortona.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank tom232018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DENYSE_PERATHONER, Owner at Together in Tuscany & Umbria, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2018

Grazie! It's great to hear you enjoyed your time at Casa Bacco. Thank you so much for your kind words and for taking the time to share your experience.

We wish you all the best and look forward to having you as a guest again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 10, 2018 via mobile

Stayed in a villa, Casa Bacco in the hilltop town of Cortona with two other couples. Arranged through Together in Tuscany and Umbria. Denyse who runs the company was invaluable in providing us with recommendations for tours, restaurants, wine tastings and cooking classes. Very nice town but built on hill requiring frequent walks up and down steep hills. The local people were very friendly. If you are visiting I would highly recommend her services.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DENYSE_PERATHONER, Owner at Together in Tuscany & Umbria, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2018

Dear Jim,

Grazie! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We're so happy you had a great time in Cortona and that you enjoyed your time at Casa Bacco.

We wish you all the best and look forward to having you as a guest again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 10, 2018

Cortona was amazing - loved the authentic experience of the area! Restaurants were great and make sure to visit SNOOPY for probably the best every gelato! Casa Ombretta was comfortable and had fantastic views. All the basics were available in the villa - would like to see more modern updates like better TV channel choices, TV that allows streaming etc. Be prepared for the hill walking back from the town square and restaurants but great way to walk off your meal :) Service from Together in Tuscany & Umbria was friendly and accommodating. I felt some of the tours were overpriced and expensive and would be good to see this team provide things like restaurant recommendations, booking services to restaurants etc but the team were always responsive to questions and enquiries - thank you Together in Tuscany & Umbria!

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank seanl634
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DENYSE_PERATHONER, Owner at Together in Tuscany & Umbria, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2018

Dear Sean,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience, we’re so happy you enjoyed your time in Cortona.

Also, thank you for your feedback, which we always welcome. We're already working on a few of the things you mentioned, so it's good to know we're on the right track.

We wish you all the best and look forward to having you as a guest again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews