We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Spot! Superb Fish Restaurant!”
Review of San Niccolo 39

San Niccolo 39
Ranked #354 of 3,022 Restaurants in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$35 - US$41
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Piazzale Michelangelo
Description: Atmosphere and a glass of wine. All this can be found at the new San Niccolò 39, which offers a pleasant and friendly environment for spending your most intimate moments, enhanced even further by the fact that here you are sure of finding a glass of fine wine on the table. The idea behind this restaurant, with a new management, is that of creating quality dishes and therefore wine is one of the essential ingredients for complementing everything you taste. This original restaurant in fact proposes the perfect glass of wine to match each of its dishes. It is not only an ideal place to dine for couples, but also suitable for business lunches or dinners or meals with friends in a quiet and peaceful setting. Chef Vieri Simoni.
Reviewed July 19, 2016

Just a little off the usual tourist trail is this delightfully un-spoiled area of San Niccolo...home to unique artisanal shopping, great dining & friendly wine bars--fascinating history too boot!

Open for just on two years now, Ristorante Filipepe has a delightfully decorated interior fitout as might be expected in a far more lugubrious address...& then add utterly professional service coupled with the finely crafted kitchen work...in short > you have a near perfect dining experience!
& all for a relatively modest cost mind you!

We chose what proved to be a marvellous-tasting baked-in-salt whole fish that was sold by weight..not inexpensive at 90 euros--but shared between we two, not So highly priced for a special treat! Obviously one could dine a la carte for a great deal less..half that cost indeed > so don't be put off!

Our starters were sublime baby-baby grilled Calamaretti--the like of which we've never seen before. Divine! (& a steal at E10 each serve)

Excellent wine advice & sensibly priced & presented eficiently , our evening was near perfectly achieved.

I hope more diners coming here wont make it too hard to get a table..because even though that will make going back more difficult--this establishment deserves to be packed each night!
What am I saying!

Do go here...highly recommended!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulL F, Manager at San Niccolo 39, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2016

Dear John

Thanks for the review - I don't think we met when you came for dinner - I arrived to take over the place just afterwards.
We are now called San Niccolò 39 or SO39 as we like to call it.
I hope that when you return to Florence you'll look us up again - we'll still have the great selection of fish but also some great meat and vegetarian dishes too. Our beef tartare is fantastic. We also have nightly specials to tempt you too - Thursdays is Tagine night, Friday and Saturday we serve Lobster & Chips with homemade mayonnaise. Come and see us next time.
Thanks again
Paul Feakes
Manager
San Niccolò 39

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (191)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 30 of 191 reviews

Reviewed April 18, 2016

I stumbled upon this little eatery one evening..... Good atmosphere, decent food at a reasonable price.

Thank suzannewales55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
filipepe, Proprietario at San Niccolo 39, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2016

Hi Suzannewales55,
thanks for your kind review, we are pleased to know that you loved out restaurant and we hope to have you our guest again.
Bye

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 4, 2015

This restaurant. Is a little way out from the centre of Florence but still within walking distance - it is well worth seeking out it out because it is a good seafood restaurant with helpful and friendly staff. Just beware that the fish is sold by weight and you can be surprised by the eventual price.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tuffino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
filipepe, Proprietario at San Niccolo 39, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2016

Hi Tuffino,
Thank you for being our guest, we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our restaurant.
The served fish is fresh and of high quality.
Thanks for your kind comments and we hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 25, 2015

We came across this place on a night when we looking for a change of pace from the usual pasta places. What we found was a casually elegant restaurant with attentive service and wonderful seafood. We selected a catch of the day from a selection of fish that was brought out and presented to us at the table. We got it grilled with fresh vegetables and it was perfect. The appetizers were also excellent. We would highly recommend this restaurant for both the food and the ambience.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bark1776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
filipepe, Proprietario at San Niccolo 39, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2016

Hi Bark,
Thank you for your compliments that make us very proud .
We are delighted that you enjoyed both our food and the environment and we hope to welcome you again to taste new dishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 29, 2015

I went there with a group of people mid Sept, the meal was paid for most of them by business, I was asked to pay 40 euros in advance ( In the hotel) by the agency who had organized the dinner
When we got there, the tables hadnt been arranged for the group, there was confusion; the starter arrived:pasta, no sauce & very little seafood, the man next to me didnt touch his plate, the main dish was fish, no taste , there was no vegetable beside it or salad.
Only the dessert was good. The red wine was mediocre.
40 euros for that !
If I had known what the standard was like, I wouldnt have paid ahead. IT WASNT WORTH IT. I wonder why the agency took us there... as it is out of the way

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank dhassie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed San Niccolo 39 also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to San Niccolo 39? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing