We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Eat here only if you're in a pinch” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gelateria Carabe

Gelateria Carabe
Ranked #39 of 216 Dessert in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Drinks, After-hours, Takeout
Neighbourhood: Duomo
Florida
Level Contributor
46 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Eat here only if you're in a pinch”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

We’ve been in Florence 2 months and have eaten gelato 60+ times. This place is just down the street from where we’re staying but we’ve only eaten there twice. Why? Because it’s your basic gelato – nothing fancy, no outstanding flavors, consistency isn’t super creamy. I tried their Frutti di Bosco on my last visit and the berry flavors were kind of bland.

You’d be better off making the walk to someplace like Perche No or a little further to Neri or La Carraia 2, but in a pinch these guys will do.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank alpha1243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    318
    105
    34
    21
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“YUMMY!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2011

very nice and a clean gelataria that we discovered!!! it had some amazing flavoured gelatariasss.... killerrrrrr

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Yuvraj21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Best sicilian granitas in town. Creams are also great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2011

Delicious, unsurpassed natural granitas, with natural ingredients and flavours: delicia siciliana ( tangerine and lemon), lemon and mint , pear and cinnamon, figs, the traditional almond granita or the most popular coffee one. Creams are delicious too
(the hazelnut, yoghurt and almond ones are among my favourites, but they have more innovative flavours like olive oil, parmesan cheese, figs or the scrumptious yoghourt and cinnamon one). Close to the Galleria della Accademia. Don't get wrong. This is not the one at the corner. It's the one on the same side of the street, just 50 meters away, as you go towards the Duomo from the Accademia. I've kept coming here to taste and let friends and family know about the place almost every single night for three weeks. Bravissimi.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank LUISF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Italy
Level Contributor
188 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“eccellenza siciliana in Florence”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2011

This ice-cream shop was recommended in the local paper here in Florence. After our third return we dubbed it the best ice-cream and granite I've ever tasted.

The coffee granite was to die for and I nearly did with all that caffeine but hey I love coffee! In fact the cheese ice-cream (yes cheese!) was yum as well. Vanilla was subtle and smooth and the chocolate was gr8t!

Don't miss this place you'll make every excuse to pass it - we did.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank M C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valencia, Spain
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worth the price. One of the few best homemade spots in Florence.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2011

If you are visiting Florence, skip all the main road side gelato stores. The gelato there is bought from a whole seller and not special. There are only a few places in florence that rival this gelato spot, and Caribe is definitly in the top select. It is fresh made each day, but their granite is fresh and authentic. I go there especially for the granite.

One last thing, about the store, is their service. We had beyond amazing service, and don't forget, they will give free tasting on Thursday. They are a little expensive, but worth it. I would advice you to stop by if you have time.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Danieliza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gelateria Carabe also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Gelateria Carabe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing