We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Educational, fun and yummy!”
Review of Tuscan Trails

Tuscan Trails
Ranked #20 of 138 Food & Drink in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Daily semi-private and private Tuscan wine tours and adventures. Florence's first and best wine tour of its kind. Tuscan Trails offers wine tours in the Chianti, Montalcino and Montepulciano regions (and others upon request). Enjoy one of our small, mixed group wine tours into the Chianti or create a private tour with just your group. Your guide is a native English speaking, bilingual resident of florence, fully licensed and trained as a sommelier in Tuscany. We can also provide driver and transfer services.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Educational, fun and yummy!”
Reviewed 6 December 2011

The Tuscan Trails wine tour was fantastic! We went to 2 very different wineries providing a great feel for the different areas and techniques in wine making. Todd shared a lot of history with us which was extremely interesting. He also new every answer to any questions that were asked. Remarkable!
The wine tastings themselves were great - you truly get to taste and learn about the wines in a comfortable atmosphere.
Lunch - which we had between tours - was fantastic. Big family style pasts dishes with yummy meat and cheese apps.
A wonderful day. Highly recommended.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank ndepiano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    408
    9
    1
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful day in Montalcino”
Reviewed 29 November 2011

Eight of us took the tour. Three had been on Todd's tour before so they had some idea what to expect but it was an amazing day touring with Todd. He took us to two excellent Brunello wineries. The countryside was absolutely beautiful even if it was November. The lunch was the best meal we had on our whole trip. My 85 year old mother-in-law had a great time.

Thank you Todd. Scott, Mary and Helen

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank MurphyMurphyMurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
193 reviews
92 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Informative and lovely tour of the Chianti Region”
Reviewed 28 November 2011

Todd Bolton is a great tour guide who will help make your experience touring the region memorable and wonderful. He took us to two wineraries, showed us the wine making process, gave us background in the history of the wineraries, the wines and everything that will help you understand the region. In between the winery tours, Todd took us to a local restaurant and the food was fantastic.

The ability to take a day out of the busy city and enjoy the beautiful sights of the country side is really wonderful. I highly recommend anyone who is heading to Florence to take a tour with Todd. It will be the highlight of your trip too.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank dededa80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
44 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Fun and informative day tour, with a great leader, wine and food!”
Reviewed 8 November 2011

Figuring we’d want a small break from Florence after a few days, we did a bit of research and gathered some friends’ recommendations for a wine trip for the middle of our week. A friend strongly recommend Tuscan Trails and its American owner, Todd, and there were similar rave reviews on TripAdvisor. And, we're happy to report, they were all correct!

We went on a day trip of Chiani with Todd as our leader, and two other guests, in Todd’s van, and it was a perfectly lovely day. On the drive, which isn’t that far from central Florence, Todd gave us an overview on the sometimes complex (and very political) world of Italian wines. It was very helpful to us who live in California and have a decent appreciation for wine, but who are a bit at sea when it comes to the distinctions between DOC, DOCG and IGT wines, and other odd wrinkles of Italian wine classification.

The trip went to two wineries - one in the morning and then the second one following lunch. The first one was in the Chianti foothills and was in an old castle that we explored a bit before trying their wines and olive oil. The second one was smaller, in the Ruffina sub-region, and Todd spent more time at that one walking us through the winemaking process, the cellars, etc., followed of course by more delicious wine and olive oil. Todd handled the pouring and the tasting of the wines at each stop, unlike in the US where a winery person would run the show.

Todd has studied to be a sommelier and he knows his wine, and talks about wine, food pairings, etc. with a really refreshing clarity, with a depth of knowledge combined with a practical bent. The particular trip we went on wasn’t tailored to serious oenophiles, but I think Todd would be comfortable with pretty much any level of wine interest you have (even if you just want to escape the city for the day and enjoy the scenery). Plus, he's a really nice guy!

Lunch was at a farmhouse restaurant, served family-style to our group. A hearty selection of meats, crostini, and two pasta dishes, along with wine and water.

On the drive back into Florence, we all picked Todd’s brain for restaurant and gelato recommendations, the latter being apparently quite the topic of discussion and disagreement among Florence residents. Todd lives in Florence, with his wife (a Florence native), so I definitely tried to make a mental note of his suggestions, some of which we managed to get to on this trip and others I’ll try to remember for next time.

Highly recommended!

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank PhilAtty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wedding Day to Remember with Family, Friends & Todd of Tuscan Trails”
Reviewed 8 November 2011

The main part of our wedding day was Todd's organising and executing of our entire wedding reception lunch/wine tour! We could not have organised an overseas wedding location and reception without him!

We would recommend everyone going on a tour with Todd when you are in Florence! He knows all there is to know about wines and Tuscany!! We really can't thank him enough for "making" our wedding day amazing!

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Nadene P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tuscan Trails also viewed

 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Tuscan Trails? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing