We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (628)
Filter reviews
629 results
Traveller rating
224
209
96
43
57
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
224
209
96
43
57
Show reviews that mention
All reviews no lift the hotel staff san lorenzo amazing location family room room was clean and comfortable pastries central market breakfast was included small room train station small hotel main attractions luggage duomo annex heart
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 629 reviews
Reviewed September 20, 2018 via mobile

I stayed 2 nights in this hotel from sep.12 to 14 2018, in a double bed/ single use room.
You won't believe haw narrow was this room. It was 2.5 meters wide from one end and less than 2 meters the other end. As if they've walled a corridor and made a room out of it.
The window at the narrow end opened on a back yard where you can barely see the sky.
The room, doorways and stairs were all covered with carpets, that smelled a mix of moisture and mold.
Staff was very welcoming an helpful the check in was at 2.30.
Great Location and good breakfast.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank ANTOINE F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GiuseppeD4005, Direttore at Hotel Ginori al Duomo - Italhotels, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2018

Dear Antoine
thank you for your kind review and we are very happy to learn that you have enjoyed our location and our breakfast
We have four kind of steps for our rooms - economy/standard/superior/deluxe.
You have been kind enough to reserve our economy room and as say the word it is smaller and more basic than the other rooms.
However if you were not happy you could easily tell us and we could change you the room - with great pleasure
With best regards
Piepaolo - Hotel Ginori al Duomo - Firenze

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 19, 2018 via mobile

Great hotel with the best people! Everyone is so nice, they know the best restaurants, trips and museums. Always friendly! The rooms are supersweet, little time-capsules ❤️
The location is great as well, you are five minutes away from everything

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Fanny Benedicte... W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GiuseppeD4005, Direttore at Hotel Ginori al Duomo - Italhotels, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2018

thank you for your kind review
We are so happy to learn that you have enjoyed your stay with us
Look forward to welcoming you again to Florence and to our hotel
With best regards
Pierpaolo - Hotel Ginori al Duomo - Firenze

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 30, 2018

This hotel is VERY run down and in dire need of a major renovation / overhaul . No elevator should listed in bold ,poor air conditioner, smelly tiny hot room with broken sofa bed, running toilet,peeling walls.The pictures posted on booking.com must be of a different property , because in no way they reflect the reality or look even remotely similar to the room we booked . The "family room" was a size of a closet with the bed sitting directly on top of the bathroom with a noisy leaking toilet.They told us upon checking in that the sofa bed will be replaced in the morning, as it was broken (read :old, smelly), they were not kidding when we saw it in the room!!! Saying "The staff also speak Russian, and can help with carrying your luggage up the stairs" does not auto translate into knowledge that three is no elevator !!! In a nearly 100 degrees heat they have one skinny guy attempting to log your luggage up the stairs to the third floor and you end up doing the same yourself with all of your other family suitcases . My wife suffers from asthma and hardly made it upstairs , only to find a stuffy , hot room that smelled awful!. The room was so terrible that after schlepping the suitcases up the stairs and seeing the actual room, we promptly went down and told reception we were unable to stay there under current condition.However, even though we did not stay there, were charged for 1 night, booked a different hotel, took taxi and left. The true pictures of what rooms look like must be posted (including peeling walls and broken furniture) and the fact that there is NO elevator need to be highlighted, so people can make an educated decision about booking this property!

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Italysummer2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giuseppe D, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Ginori al Duomo - Italhotels, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2018

Dear Italysummer, thank you for spending your time for this review. It's written in all the websites run from the property that it's a XVth century building, without elevator. We were very surprised that you weren't aware of it. It's the guest duty to get proper informations about the property prior the arrival. Suggest you to read "property details" (highlights important aspects) for your future bookings so that you'll be able to make educated decisions about booking properties. The Hotel can not be accused of omitting this information. Since this was the main reason of your departure the cancellation policy of your booking have been respected. Your sofa bed wasn't broken, we asked you the permission to replace it with a new one. Your room was a 30 square metres room. In the room there were 20/21 degrees, and there is a remote control which permits you to manipulate the temperature. The feedback of our guest are always important to us, we'll make treasure of your advice about the renovation. Best regards- Hotel Ginori al Duomo staff & management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 10, 2018 via mobile

A 1 star dump sold as a 4 star hotel. Complete misrepresentation on the hotel website. Room is tiny, 1 ultra thin window, swimming pool is an extra cost. No plug for the kettle, bed filthy, room smells of mothballs.

Judge for yourself in the photographs.

Date of stay: August 2018
2  Thank AshleyV355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giuseppe D, Proprietario at Hotel Ginori al Duomo - Italhotels, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2018

Dear Ashley
It is probably the third review that you have written about our hotel since you arrived yesterday. We all understood that you do not like our hotel.....however it is kind of rude of you to put down someone else business like that. We do not pretend to be perfect and we know we have some facilities to improve, but we are almost 24hours a day to try to make our best. We respect any kind of judgements but I can not accept anymore this kind of behavior. Ok you did not like the first room. FINE !! Today I have changed you the room and you seem very happy now...I think it would have been more fair at least wait till the end of your stay before give us such a comment
thank you for being so rude to us
With best regards
Pierpaolo - Hotel Ginori al Duomo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 10, 2018 via mobile

We arrived at the hotel with great expectations, having seen their website. The man at the reception was lovely and polite. When we were taken to our room, it was a horror site for sore eyes.

We had been stuffed into a dirty, dark room. My daughter was put into a pull out couch that was absolutely filthy and she suffers from asthma and allergic to dust mites (photo attached)

There was a kettle in the room near no plug, so we had to boil the water on the floor. The lamp could also not be plugged in as there was no plug - more darkness. They advertise that they have a swimming pool, but when you read the fine print, it’s only for the deluxe room. All others pay -€18 a day! And if you buy now, you get some goggles and a towel for €30.

Absolutely horrendous - don’t ever think of staying here.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank SarahD8330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giuseppe D, Proprietario at Hotel Ginori al Duomo - Italhotels, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2018

Dear Sarah
We are sorry you having this impression of us. As you said we are located in a 15th century building and as you might understand on your own we can't have all the rooms of the same size. You came down at the desk asking for a different room, unfortunately today we have no other rooms available but I did offer the chance to change tomorrow. As far as the photos, I am not sure what do you mean about misrepresent but it depends what kind of room you have reserved. We have standard (your room) we have superior and than we have deluxe room...and every category offers different facilities and amenities.
Concernig the swimmingpool, it is written everywhere that it is included in the DELUXE ROOM rate ONLY. All other guests that reserve different categories (economy, standard and superior) are welcome to use the pool at the cost of Euros 15 per person per day
We always try our best, but of course we know it is impossible to pleased everybody at the same level, but at least you could wait till the end of your stay to review us or try to give us a second chance in order to change your opinion
Pierpaolo - Hotel Ginori al Duomo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews