We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (628)
Filter reviews
628 results
Traveller rating
224
208
96
43
57
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
224
208
96
43
57
Show reviews that mention
All reviews no lift the penthouse the hotel staff san lorenzo amazing location family room room was clean and comfortable pastries central market breakfast was included small room train station small hotel main attractions luggage duomo annex
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 628 reviews
Reviewed October 15, 2018

4-star expectations fell short. When we arrived at the hotel, we were convinced into upgrading for 25 euros per night. The selling point was that everything from the mini bar is included with the uprgaded room. The staff made it seem like the minibar was included our whole stay, but in reality, it was only included on the first night. Once we emptied it, then we had to pay. The mini bar only included 2 very cheap beers (2.50 euros at the store) and 1 tiny bottle of wine, and the rest were soft drinks/water. This was the least of our issues with hotel ginori though.

We stayed in room 14. If you enjoy a nice warm shower, walk away. This hotel was built a VERY long time ago and their plumbing shows it. The shower water would stay warm for 30 seconds before getting cold. I found that if we flush the toilet it gets hot again, so our showers consisted of yelling to eachother to flush the toilet when the water got cold, or getting out of the shower flushing the toilet and then going back in. Not something you want to experience on your honeymoon!

Another thing that was not appreciated was the very loud gurgling noise the sink made. It would start gurgling in the middle of the night or early in the morning and wake me up from my sleep, it was that loud. It must have happened when other guests flushed their toilets or something.

The AC in the room was FREEZING. It did not adjust when we turned the temperature up to make it warmer. We ended up having to turn it off completely, and then we were hot. There was no middle ground.

We were also unimpressed with the free breakfast, the breakfast at the other hotels we stayed in on our honeymoon, Rome and Sorrento, were much more elaborate. We were at hotel ginori for 5 nights and only ate the breakfast one of the mornings. When something is free and you still don't take advantage of it, you know it's not very good.

The staff was pleasant and nice, I feel bad leaving this review but I feel like we were ripped off. This hotel should not be advertised as a 4-star hotel.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kristina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GiuseppeD4005, Proprietario at Hotel Ginori al Duomo - Italhotels, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2018

Dear Kristina
thank you for your kind review. First of all we are sorry to hear about all these inconveniences
When our guests decide to take advantage of the upgrade, the mini bar in the room is ALWAYS included. I am sorry about this missunderstanding. I will tell our staff to be more precise with that
I am not quite sure what happened with the pressure of the water, however since you have been stayed with us for five nights, you could easily come to the front desk, report the problem and we would have change you the room - with pleasure. It is hard for us to fix the problem after they guests left
Of course we can always do better, but our buffet breakfast offers a large choice of products (salty and sweet) and if you have come more than just one time we would have found out about it
Concerning the AC, the machine in your room is brand new and it works really well in both mode - cold and warm....again...you could call us and we could help you...
With best regards
Pierpaolo - Hotel Ginori al Duomo - Firenze

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 9, 2018 via mobile

For a four star hotel very poor breakfast is a cold room (actually outside). Awful coffee no matter which you ask - cappuccino, American etc
First night we stayed in old rooms (there were 5 of us, so we had 2 rooms - double and triple) which clearly needed renovation. On second day we noticed that hotel staff are going to paint walls outside the rooms - whole corridor! When we asked the reception they first told us that the paint is not smelly, however, when we insisted that it IS a problem and it is going to smell and we possibly are going to have an allergy we were offered another room (though somehow we had to extra pay for it 50 euro per each room).
Reception is OK, rooms were cleaned acceptably.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank 553kseniab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 20, 2018 via mobile

I stayed 2 nights in this hotel from sep.12 to 14 2018, in a double bed/ single use room.
You won't believe haw narrow was this room. It was 2.5 meters wide from one end and less than 2 meters the other end. As if they've walled a corridor and made a room out of it.
The window at the narrow end opened on a back yard where you can barely see the sky.
The room, doorways and stairs were all covered with carpets, that smelled a mix of moisture and mold.
Staff was very welcoming an helpful the check in was at 2.30.
Great Location and good breakfast.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank ANTOINE F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GiuseppeD4005, Direttore at Hotel Ginori al Duomo - Italhotels, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2018

Dear Antoine
thank you for your kind review and we are very happy to learn that you have enjoyed our location and our breakfast
We have four kind of steps for our rooms - economy/standard/superior/deluxe.
You have been kind enough to reserve our economy room and as say the word it is smaller and more basic than the other rooms.
However if you were not happy you could easily tell us and we could change you the room - with great pleasure
With best regards
Piepaolo - Hotel Ginori al Duomo - Firenze

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 19, 2018 via mobile

Great hotel with the best people! Everyone is so nice, they know the best restaurants, trips and museums. Always friendly! The rooms are supersweet, little time-capsules ❤️
The location is great as well, you are five minutes away from everything

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Fanny Benedicte... W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GiuseppeD4005, Direttore at Hotel Ginori al Duomo - Italhotels, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2018

thank you for your kind review
We are so happy to learn that you have enjoyed your stay with us
Look forward to welcoming you again to Florence and to our hotel
With best regards
Pierpaolo - Hotel Ginori al Duomo - Firenze

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 30, 2018

This hotel is VERY run down and in dire need of a major renovation / overhaul . No elevator should listed in bold ,poor air conditioner, smelly tiny hot room with broken sofa bed, running toilet,peeling walls.The pictures posted on booking.com must be of a different property , because in no way they reflect the reality or look even remotely similar to the room we booked . The "family room" was a size of a closet with the bed sitting directly on top of the bathroom with a noisy leaking toilet.They told us upon checking in that the sofa bed will be replaced in the morning, as it was broken (read :old, smelly), they were not kidding when we saw it in the room!!! Saying "The staff also speak Russian, and can help with carrying your luggage up the stairs" does not auto translate into knowledge that three is no elevator !!! In a nearly 100 degrees heat they have one skinny guy attempting to log your luggage up the stairs to the third floor and you end up doing the same yourself with all of your other family suitcases . My wife suffers from asthma and hardly made it upstairs , only to find a stuffy , hot room that smelled awful!. The room was so terrible that after schlepping the suitcases up the stairs and seeing the actual room, we promptly went down and told reception we were unable to stay there under current condition.However, even though we did not stay there, were charged for 1 night, booked a different hotel, took taxi and left. The true pictures of what rooms look like must be posted (including peeling walls and broken furniture) and the fact that there is NO elevator need to be highlighted, so people can make an educated decision about booking this property!

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Italysummer2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giuseppe D, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Ginori al Duomo - Italhotels, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2018

Dear Italysummer, thank you for spending your time for this review. It's written in all the websites run from the property that it's a XVth century building, without elevator. We were very surprised that you weren't aware of it. It's the guest duty to get proper informations about the property prior the arrival. Suggest you to read "property details" (highlights important aspects) for your future bookings so that you'll be able to make educated decisions about booking properties. The Hotel can not be accused of omitting this information. Since this was the main reason of your departure the cancellation policy of your booking have been respected. Your sofa bed wasn't broken, we asked you the permission to replace it with a new one. Your room was a 30 square metres room. In the room there were 20/21 degrees, and there is a remote control which permits you to manipulate the temperature. The feedback of our guest are always important to us, we'll make treasure of your advice about the renovation. Best regards- Hotel Ginori al Duomo staff & management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews