We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly enjoyed going there again”

Le Botteghe di Donatello
Ranked #1,207 of 3,061 Restaurants in Florence
Price range: US$23 - US$34
Cuisines: Italian, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Duomo
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

In spite of being in a very Touristy location (just in front of the Duomo), the food is good, and the cost-benefit is high. We truly enjoyed the food we ordered (antipasto, gluten free pizza, pasta with creamy truffle sauce), and the staff this time was much more friendly and accommodating than the first time I visited.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DalilaDias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (808)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 808 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2018

it was early evening looking for something to eat and that had gluten free options for one of the party. on the board a whole menu of options was available so we were happy to sit-down. the service was reasonable but the food was great. 3 pf out group chose the veal and chips was cooked wonderfully and one person made the waiter smile when he requested a second meal. for the gluten free he chose a pizza and was extremely happy. over all a nice atmosphere great location and good food.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Resort13355736168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 21, 2018 via mobile

Came here as it looked busy on a Saturday night...however, most places did...the waiter was the dullest ive ever met...the food was so bland it needed a defibrillator...i suppose, what do you expect from a restaurant right outside a huge tourist attraction...a tourist trap...the bill was alot more than we had encountered at other places where the food was alot nicer and palatable...would I go again...hmmmmmm....NO.......boycott it...!!!!Then my visit wasnt in vain..!!!!

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Matthew J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 24, 2018 via mobile

We ate here tonight - my husband had the steak (supposedly great in this region) and I had fettuccini with chicken. His steak was thin and average, my pasta had bits of cartilage in it. The view of the duomo was great but the service was poor - our waiter treated us like an annoyance. We had to ask for oil and balsamic for the bread which came after 15 minutes, it took 10 minutes for him to bring us the water we asked for, he neglected to mention that their special was exactly what my husband had ordered and would have saved us more than 8 euros on his meal.
Weird classic rock music competing with the classical guitar busker just outside the restaurant. Add to this the 2 euro up-charge on the bill just for sitting inside the restaurant and it’s a thumbs down.

Go further away from the duomo and get better food and service without the view or the bad attitude.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Kim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 24, 2018 via mobile

Trying to give them the benefit of the doubt, it could have been just a bad day. But we got there around 7:15pm for an early dinner, ordered right away, and waited until nearly 8:15pm for our meals.

The gluten free menu choices were great, but the actual quality of the food on the menu was mediocre at best. We ordered the gluten free bruschetta (served soggy), the ravioli, and the steak fiorentino. None were terrible, but not really good either, and certainly not worth an hour wait.

To be fair, many other tables were seated, served, and cleared (sometimes twice) while we were waiting. And many of their meals looked amazing. But ours -- not so much. Pretty much everywhere else we have eaten has been head and shoulders better than our dinner here.

Side note: Watch your billing here. We were charged twice for bread, but we never received any. And when we were reviewing the receipt, they were hasty to take it away. But the few euro we were charged extra wasn't worth the hassle (and likely wait time) to dispute it.

On the whole, we were rather unimpressed/ disappointed in a place that we read so many positive reviews about.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Happiness727748
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Botteghe di Donatello also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Le Botteghe di Donatello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing