We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a find!”
Review of Osteria del Pavone

Osteria del Pavone
Ranked #13 of 3,061 Restaurants in Florence
Neighbourhood: Pitti
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Pitti
Reviewed October 29, 2018 via mobile

First night in Florence and lucked out. Google search found this place and photos and reviews looked very promising. It was even better than we hoped. Our waiter/sommelier was hugely knowledgeable and had us trying an Orange wine that suited the quite diverse range of dishes between the group. Standout courses were: white truffle taglialini (mind blowing), wild boar Ravi ( great kids option) and beef tartare - the theatre alone in delivering the latter would make it worth it but it was a good as any tartare I have tasted. On top of all of this the waiter has given us some good advice on other restaurants to try and wine shops to visit. The setting and decor should also not go unmentioned as it is a stunning setting. Totally wowed. Hope the rest of the week goes so well!

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank islandrambler2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (186)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 186 reviews

Reviewed October 25, 2018

A wonderful setting .. hidden away .. you would miss it. We booked after seeing it here on TA, The vaulted ceilings give it a nice atmosphere. The staff were incredibly attentive and the owner came over to chat. I had the ravioli with truffle and I did have to ask for salt.. probably my personal preference and due to the fact that tuscan bread does not have salt and I was eating that at the same time. I had the Rabbit and it was beautifully presented, tasty .. a bit cold though .. Overall a very nice meal..

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Andrea D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 24, 2018

A great little place; make reservations. Had the flan with black truffle appetizer; outstanding. Great mixed salad. Salmon and the pasta with black truffles were very good. The chocolate flan (20 minute wait for it to bake) with pear sauce was scrumptious.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kurt N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 21, 2018

We found this hidden gem on our last night in Firenze. We were seven people but they had no difficult accommodating our group. We were served by Gianni, the sommelier, who spent the time with us to discuss wine pairings and tasting notes. The chef even came to greet us. Overall, it was the best meal on our two week trip in Italy--an incredible feat. We look forward to coming back every time we're in Firenze.
Food *****
Atmosphere *****
Service *****

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Adventure827925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 16, 2018 via mobile

This is a great little spot for dinner. The owner welcomes you in like an old family friend and doesn’t let you leave without having his freshly cut Parma ham and a rose for the lady. The food was brilliant and we would recommend anyone to come here.

Date of visit: October 2018
1  Thank Steve_jersey_86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Osteria del Pavone also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Osteria del Pavone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing