We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Florence!”
Review of Hotel L'Orologio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel L'Orologio
Ranked #44 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic Florence!”
Reviewed 24 February 2012

Visited Florence for the first time in the middle of the snowstorm in Europe. We arrived at the train station after a 1-1/2hour train ride from Rome. The hotel was just across the train station about an 8 minute walk off the Piazza Santa Maria Novella. Check in was easy. The lobby is small but very nicely decorated with watches being the theme of the hotel.

We were given a room on the 4th floor. The room is spacious enough for 2 luggage and can still walk around. We were very impressed with the details in the room. It is very clean and modern. All taps were polished til sparkling new and they have their logo and name on all the fixtures, very detailed. Marble bathtub, overhead and hand held shower available. Their curtains were very clean and new and I loved the colours and the fabric they used. I would love to show pictures that I took of the room and details but unfortunately, I lost my SD card and whole vacation pictures in Italy :(

There were a few complains - I find the lighting in the room too dark and the wifi although free cannot be connected.

Our room on the 4th floor is on the same floor as the breakfast room but it wasn't noisy in the mornings. Breakfast was good enough and the coffee is great. There is also about 5 choices of juices to choose from, warm bread, bacon scrambled eggs etc.

The location is perfect. Very near Duomo, which we used as a guide to get back to hotel. We walked everywhere. Shopping, leather market, restaurants and Ponte Vecchio was within walking distance, let alone the rest of minor attractions.

We had drinks at the bar downstairs. Service was great, the extras they give out with drink orders were always more than enough, very generous in fact that I had to tell them we had enough. And the best part, drinks are not expensive! Staff was willing to suggest restaurants, wine to drink in Florence etc, which we find very helpful. The only minor complain we had was that they played the same jazz/blues music for the 3 nights we were there over and over again. It was as if they had only one CD.

On a scale of balance, I find the hotel a perfect stay for newcomers . I would definitely stay there again if I'm in Florence and I'd recommend it to anybody!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cckkash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,272 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    905
    296
    46
    17
    8
See reviews for
274
659
42
120
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
63 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

We were recommended this hotel by some friends due to its location and because it was a newly refurbished hotel and had lovely decor.They were right and I would also recommend this hotel, however...

We booked a Junior suite with a view expecting a view to the Plaza Maria Novella, instead from the 3 window we had we only had views to the streets behind the hotel. There seemed to be a problem with the heater in the bathroom and the room wasn't warming up we were moved to another Junior suite. This didn't have viewed either but it was a warmer room . The next morning the water in the shower was only luke warm. We spoke to reception who admitted they had a problem with the boiler or they were doing some maintenance and therefore there was only 1 boiler working. I mentioned the 'view' and he said that in italy views onto streets were considered a view and they only had one Junior suite overlooking the square. We were not very happy about this eg the water and no view . They agreed to give us a 20% discount on all of the 3 nights. My advice would be not to bother with the Junior suite and go for a double with a view - the rooms are spacious as it is.

The lighting in the room whereas it makes it cosy it can be quiet dark. The breakfast is served in a nice bright room on the 4th floor with views toward the church . The breakfast had all the basics ( cereal, bread, croissants, fruit, cold meats etc and scrambled eggs and bacon ) but it wasn't anything special. The hotel doesn't have a restaurant as such but you can get some room service and they serve sandwich type things at the bar. Drinks at the bar come with a very generous portion of nibbles but drinks are not cheap !

There are lots of places to eat around the hotel, don't bother with Belle Donna - looks quaint but the staff were not friendly and the food was average. If you want a place popular with the locals and good meat from a spit try La Spada and also great food at Trattoria Marione . We had baked sea bass there which was delicious as was my pasta dish. It was very popular with italian on Sunday lunch. Ice-cream at Gelateria San Lorenzo was lovely too.
Santa Maria Novella is a delightful church. Although there is lots to see it is worth going to Plazza and church Santisima Annunziata,and the Capella Brancassi in Santa Maria del Carmine ( Recommended by a friend that lived in Florence ) San Marco and San Lorenzo are worth it too.

Room Tip: Doubles are a reasonable size don't really need a Junior suite unless you have a child or need a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AP_JLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

I was visiting Florence with two friends and a 10 month old baby for a long weekend. We flew to Pisa then picked up the coach transfer at the airport. Very easy to do , desk was immediately outside arrivals. Ticket was 10 euros for the return trip. I believe if you fly Ryan Air they offer a good coach deal on board, we flew Easy Jet. Friends have previously caught the train which again is very easy to do. The only thing with the coach is that we hit some traffic going into Florence as it was around 5pm but other than that a very pleasant journey which took just over one hour.
The hotel is very close to the train / bus station , less than a 10 minute walk. The hotel itself is on a street corner off the large square , Piazza Santa Novella. We walked all the way around before we found the door !
Very bright and airy reception with a cosy area round the corner with an open fire. It is gas and doesn't give out much heat but looks nice !! Two big sofas either side. There is another seating area further on from this which is much larger with deep seating areas and links to the bar area. There is also a small rectangular ornamental indoor pool which is lit at night and has flowing water. It is open and has no railings etc so you would have to keep a very close eye on smaller children. ( and drunk adults ! )

My twin room was a little disappointing. It was quite dark and although it had large french doors which opened into a courtyard ( which was sealed by four high walls ) it still felt closed in. Also due to my position I could not get the free WiFi signal very well in my room which was a little frustrating. WiFi worked fine in public areas and the breakfast room.
The room was spotlessly clean. The bathroom was beautiful with a very deep bath and giant shower head. Good lighting around the mirror and a good magnifying mirror for shaving / make-up . Powerful hairdryer supplied which plugged into bathroom so could easily use mirror.
Dressing gowns and slippers a nice touch.
Breakfast was good , in a light , airy room overlooking the square. Usual self service continental fare plus scrambled eggs and bacon. Very creamy gorgeous cappuccinos ! Very friendly helpful staff. Only had one high chair available.
We used the bar twice and again very friendly and helpful staff who were very accommodating when asking to heat the baby's milk / food etc. Nice complimentary cheese / olives / prosciutto / breads when we ordered drinks. There were only small bar snacks available at the bar and no restaurant so food slightly limited.
My friends had a very large room with a travel cot. No bath but a big walk-in shower. Again , no view though and a little dark.
The hotel is very close to the Duomo which you can see from almost everywhere in Florence so hard to get lost.
I would recommend this hotel and would stay there again as the few issues I had were not that important. It was absolutely freezing in Florence when we went in Feb so I think we spent more time in the rooms / hotel than we would of if we had gone in the summer !

Room Tip: Ask if you want a view as many rooms face a wall ! Not all rooms have a bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kazza67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

This is a lovely hotel within walking distance to the main sight seeing attractions. Our bedroom was a good size with a large shower room (no bath). A immaculate travel cot was provided for our baby. The staff in the bar and breakfast room are absolutely lovely, we enjoyed a few drinks in the bar and the complimentary bar snacks were delicious. The breakfast was a good variety and quality.
Small niggles which stopped a 5 star rating: dessert ordered in the bar 1 night, was of poor quality, burnt and tiny portion of chocolate cake, the bar was closed on 2 evening due to some service failure (nor sure what) and there was no other catering provision (We hadn't wanted to venture out again late evening due to the extreme cold!).
Really enjoyed our stay and would book again, but for a different time of year!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ainthesun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2012

Upscale, romantic boutique hotel in a great location of Florence! Superb views of Santa Maria Novella from the breakfast room! The room was cozy, comfortable and chic. Free wi-fi was reliable. We enjoyed many cocktails in the relaxing bar!!! Customer service was terrific and the entire staff was very friendly! My husband has spent several months in Florence and finds L'Orologio the best hotel in the city!!! We are already planning our next trip back to stay at L'O!!! Thank you to the entire staff for a memorable vacation!!!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zonafan00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2012

If you arrive in Florence by train, you may be a little concerned that this hotel is too close to the train station. In fact, the hotel is at the edge of everywhere you want to be, with easy access to all the main sites. Breakfast and the breakfast room are spectactular, and the rooms themselves are very nice with comfortable beds, linens, and lots of closet space. Very quiet at night, no problems at all with draft or cold (we were there during the coldest days in Florence for decades). Front desk staff is helpful and friendly, and the sitting rooms to the side are great. We didn't try the bar, which looked very stylish and contemporary. Spectacular little family restaurant across the street with accompanying cafe/bar, both very reasonably priced.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank toomanyairmilez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camp Hill, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel L'Orologio for 3 nights in October 2011. It is a wonderful hotel! The rooms are very spacious, modern, and clean. We had a king size bed, which was extremely comfortable - the best sleep we had in our 2 weeks in Italy. The bathroom was excellent as well. Breakfast was very good and the room is on the top floor overlooking the Piazza - it's beautiful. The hotel is very close to the train station, but it's a little far from the river and some of the sites. However, it's only a few blocks and is not a bad walk. When we go back to Florence, we'll definitely stay at this hotel again!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alicia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
#29 of 422 in Florence
1,620 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Grand Hotel Minerva
Grand Hotel Minerva
#54 of 422 in Florence
1,901 reviews
San Lorenzo
Firenze Number Nine Wellness Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uffizi
Hotel Degli Orafi
Hotel Degli Orafi
#30 of 422 in Florence
1,476 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
JK Place Firenze
JK Place Firenze
#33 of 422 in Florence
619 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Spadai
Hotel Spadai
#4 of 422 in Florence
1,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel L'Orologio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel L'Orologio

Property: Hotel L'Orologio
Address: Piazza di Santa Maria Novella 24, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel L'Orologio 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
After a careful renovation, HOTEL OROLOGIO**** is a Luxury Contemporary Hotel situated in the heart of one of the most important squares of the historical center of Florence, walking distance from the magnificent artistic attractions in Florence.Completely renovated, the hotel has 49 rooms of various types, some of which offer a wonderful view on the city's main attractions: Piazza Santa Maria Novella, the Medici Chapels and the Dome of the Cathedral of Santa Maria ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel L'Orologio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing