We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful location, lovely rooms, helpful staff”
Review of Hotel L'Orologio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel L'Orologio
Ranked #43 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 May 2012

We recently visited Florence for 5 days and stayed at the L'Orologio. For some reason we were upgraded and given a room with a roof terrace facing the Duomo, which was obviously fabulous!

However, this aside, I would recommend the hotel. It is fantastically located, close to the train station and 6-7mins walk from the Duomo, but despite being situated so conveniently, it was not noisy.

In addition, the staff were very helpful, particularily in relation to offering to book restaurants for us. They booked restaurants for us on every night, one that we requested and a number that they suggested, and they were all fabulous.

The hotel bar is also worth a little visit!

Some of the reviews I read suggested problems with the breakfast buffet, but I have to admit we had no issue during our stay. The selection was relatively basic, but more than adequate, and the views from the 4th floor room were fabulous.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SMCDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,341)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

685 - 691 of 1,341 reviews

Reviewed 3 May 2012

A little hard to find (the address in the correspondance says number 24, the street sign has something different, only one tiny road you can take to get you there), but once you get there, you find a fantastic hotel. Large rooms by any standards (let alone european ones), nice decor, extremely helpful staff. Centrally located (5-10 minute walk to the Duomo, 10-15 minute walk to the Uffizi).

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yyzsfoflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

Ok - let's face it, we all want to stay in a fancy hotel, but sometimes you just can't. The L'Orologio is conveniently located about a two blocks away from the train station. It's an older hotel, but it's been beautifully renovated with a bright breakfast room on the top floor with a great view. The price is reasonable, and given the range of hotels in this price range - this one is a sure bet.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces the square - hopefully you won't mind the amazing scent of fresh cooke...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jameskdean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2012

We had a great stay at this lovely hotel. It was ideally located for us - not too far from the station, and within the city centre. The hotel was very clean and nicely decorated. Extremely helpful staff - with a smile on the face always. The room and bathroom was good size and toileteries were good too. Finally, the breakfast was awesome too - with nice views of the Santa Maria Novella church. Would reccommend this hotel whole heartedly.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SGVM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2012

This is a lovely and charming four star hotel, ideally situated in Florence on the Piazza S. Maria Novella, beautiful in its own right. It is within easy walking distance from all the major attractions in town (max 10 min walks). The hotel has a warm and hospitable atmosphere, is very clean and has interesting hall (with a little pool and orange trees) and bar. Breakfast is on the 4th floor, providing an excellent view of the Cathedral S Maria Novella. Rooms are not very large, neither are the bathrooms. Staying there with my wife felt a little cramped. The rooms are also somewhat dark, but overall pleasant and very quiet. Beds are good (not excellent) and service is very kind and efficient. My only major gripe is the pathetic gym: only one elliptical, running mill and a few weights and that's it. So if you plan to work out during your stay here, you're in trouble (or you have to go, as I did, to a public gym in town which was filthy with creaky machines). All in all a very pleasant hotel, certainly in the four star category. A very good value.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sylvain7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

We had a lovely stay here--the renovation is recent (I would say the last few years) and very stylish. We stayed four nights and had a fourth floor room with an original painted beamed ceiling--very charming. The room was elegantly appointed, wonderful bed, bathroom, etc. The breakfast room is stunning--double height windows overlooking the Piazza of Santa Maria Novella. And the breakfast is copious. Easy walk from the train station and into the center. There was only one small problem for us that most guests won't have, and that is that our room (408) was adjacent to the breakfast room. We didn't hear noise coming from the room itself--the soundproofing was good--but we could hear the service staff and the arriving guests quite clearly, and sometimes early in the morning. The hotel should consider, perhaps, on this floor, installing a door between the guest room hallway and the breakfast area. Other than that, absolutely perfect.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mecnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

Our stay in this hotel was quite comfortable. We stayed in a room with a king bed, and everything was just right about our room. The bathroom was particularly nice. We had a shower-only set-up which suited us just fine. The wifi in the hotel is free for guests and worked quite well with no limit of devices. The location was great, just a few minutes walk from the train station on the Piazza Santa Maria Novella. However, as others have said, it would help if the hotel had more obvious signage and an address that corresponded to any of the numbers next to their doors. We walked past it three times before realizing it was the place. We never did see anything on it that said "24." The staff were quite helpful and recommended two excellent restaurants: Osteria Dell'olio close to the Duomo and a bit upbeat and with a modern flair and more popular with locals than tourists, and Buca Mario which was our best meal in Italy, however it was not a place to get away from other tourists.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bamboo_Orchid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Sina Villa Medici
Sina Villa Medici
#85 of 410 in Florence
788 reviews
Duomo
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
#17 of 410 in Florence
1,340 reviews
Duomo
NH Collection Firenze Porta Rossa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
#30 of 410 in Florence
1,706 reviews
Duomo
Helvetia & Bristol - Starhotels Collezione
Santa Maria Novella
The Westin Excelsior Florence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel L'Orologio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel L'Orologio

Address: Piazza di Santa Maria Novella 24, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Price Range: $202 - $582 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel L'Orologio 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
After a careful renovation, HOTEL OROLOGIO**** is a Luxury Contemporary Hotel situated in the heart of one of the most important squares of the historical center of Florence, walking distance from the magnificent artistic attractions in Florence.Completely renovated, the hotel has 49 rooms of various types, some of which offer a wonderful view on the city's main attractions: Piazza Santa Maria Novella, the Medici Chapels and the Dome of the Cathedral of Santa Maria ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel L'Orologio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing