We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Try Buontalenti” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gelateria Santa Trinita

Gelateria Santa Trinita
Ranked #5 of 210 Dessert in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, View, Local cuisine, Cheap Eats
Dining options: After-hours, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Santo Spirito / San Frediano
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Try Buontalenti”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

Try all of them, but especially the "Buontalenti" flavour. Should be a variation of cream/vanilla. Bernard Buontalenti is considered to be the inventor of ice-cream in the Renaissance Florence.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lullaby56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,684 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,265
    312
    72
    20
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
new york
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Must try!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

There are many gelato places in Florence. I can't tell you which is the best one because so many that are just terrific... so why chose just one! I made it a point to go to many stellar gelato places! And this was one of my favorite places! Very good gelato, and prices were very fair! They had many different flavors, and best of all, there were seats free of charge. You can sit and enjoy your gelato if you were tired (there are several cushion seats you can sit at). They also sold wine and cookies, so you can get your souvenir shopping in as you enjoy your gelato! I highly recommend!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank lth1031NewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
138 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Amazing gelatto”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

Right across the Santa Trinita Bridge may be the best gelatto in Florence.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank Hawkeye_in_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Heaven on a cone!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

Gelateria Santa Trinita faces the Santa Trinita bridge and the Arno. It has a huge variety of creamy gelati and we tried different ones almost every visit. The chocolate comes in milk and dark flavours and shouldn't be missed. The Florentine Crema is to die for and....well I could go on but you get the idea.
The other thing is that the prices are very reasonable, for instance a small cone with 2 scoops is 1.80 euros. There are some gelati places that rip you off - one north of the Ponte Vecchio Bridge(IPIZZERIA BIRRERIA, 39 Guicciardini) charged me 9 euros for what I would pay 3.60 euros at Gelateria Santa Trinita. Once you have your gelati walk a few steps to the bridge, feel the sun on your face, look at the Ponte Vecchio Bridge and the Arno or better still just watch everyone else eating their gelati.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Ice cream to die for!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

Just stumbled to this amazing ice cream shop on a hot July evening two kids in tow!!! Blown away by the ice cream varieties ..... Kiwi gelato was to die for.. I cannot wait to go back some day very soon!

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Shadwala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gelateria Santa Trinita also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Gelateria Santa Trinita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing