We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Palazzo Guadagni
Ranked #49 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Ocean City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel”
Reviewed 28 March 2012

The hotel is in a perfect location but the street vendors spoil the natural beauty. The breakfast should be spruced up a bit. Afternoon beverage and fruit would be a welcome treat.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cabby68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,058 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    723
    261
    53
    14
    7
See reviews for
184
639
48
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

To stay in an historic building in such an historical location is great. The room was nice, very spacious and atmospheric and with a little balcony with a good view of the Piazza. Staff were very helpful and friendly.

A couple of little points for improvement - in our first floor room we had to go up to the main hotel to use the WiFi, and as 'Brits' we miss the kettle in the room for a cuppa first thing, or in the night, although we know that these are very rare in hotels in many countries.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stephenkentuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2012

We have traveled to Florence several times over the past 10 years and this hotel is among our favorites. Every room is special. Some have fantastic views and some have magnificent mosaics on the ceiling. All have antique furniture. One thing is for sure, the staff is always friendly and helpful and the rooms are spacious and clean. Enjoy an evening cocktail on the expansive veranda or in the cozy library. The staff is pleased to offer drinks to suit.
Ask Laura for fine dining recommendations within walking distance of hotel. Quattro Leoni is among the best. Another suggestion would be Natalinos. It's a little bit of a walk but well worth it.
The best pizza in town is around the corner from hotel at Gusto.

Room Tip: The gold room (#2) is bellisimo
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank camps258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford
Level Contributor
136 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2012

Booked this hotel on the internet after reviewing comments on Tripadvisor. Stayed here for 3 nights and we were very well looked after. The staff were very helpful and friendly.
Don`t be put off by the look of the building. The hotel is on the second floor and you have to enter the building via a huge, brown, wood door and up with the elevator to reach the hotel reception.
The room was cosy and authentically decorated with views of Florence roof tops, the Pitti Palace and the Duomo across the river (just). Well sound proofed double glazed window ensured we had a nice, quiet sleep.
Breakfast was good with a selection of cereals, fruits, pasteries, etc and real fruit juice! There is a lovely big, long balcony overlooking the square, ideal for evening drinks.
Special thanks to Rita who made our stay very welcoming!
Please tick the box if you found this helpful, thanks!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andy_Edit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012

This hotel is so beautiful! It's elegant rooms and lovely loggia overlooking Piazza San Spirito make you feel like you're on the Grand Tour. The hotel is on the top two floors of a 16th century palazzo, and you feel as if you have stepped back in time when you arrive. The rooms are so lovely, with frescoed ceilings and spectacular views. (We could see the Duomo from our bathroom window!) Our teenage daughter was with us, so we requested a room for three people. We were shown to two attached rooms with a bathroom--much nicer than most hotels would provide. The staff is welcoming and very helpful. The owner called four or five restaurants for us before he decided that he'd chosen the right spot for our group. I think the location was terrific because it was within walking distance of everything, but a couple of blocks off the beaten path, so the noise wouldn't be bad even at the height of the tourist season. We were there in March, so it was very quiet. I wish I could move in! I can't recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RVASarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
31 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2012

As with many of the other reviewers I have to agree that this is a great hotel in a fantastic location - perfect for exploring Florence.
I visited in August with my wife and two young children. The staff were fantastic and ensured our stay was very comfortable. A good breakfast was also provided which we ate overlooking the city on the terrace - not a bad start to the day !
One thing to bear in mind if you were arriving by car was that the hotel does not have a car park but can arrange space at one around the corner. This was not cheap and therefore if you are staying for more than one night it may be worth exploring if you can park further out and save yourself some euro's.
Finally, I would also recommend Gusta Osteria (Via De' Michelozzi 13/r) which is just off the square which the hotel sits.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mancuban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghent, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Very friendly and efficient staff, beautifull room, comfortable bed, great breakfast, well situated.

Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank antwerptokyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Pitti
Hotel Restaurant  La Scaletta
Uffizi
Hotel Degli Orafi
Hotel Degli Orafi
#30 of 422 in Florence
1,478 reviews
Santo Spirito / San Frediano
Palazzo Magnani Feroni
Palazzo Magnani Feroni
#22 of 422 in Florence
962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#29 of 422 in Florence
2,271 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#8 of 422 in Florence
3,469 reviews
San Lorenzo
Residence La Contessina
Residence La Contessina
#57 of 422 in Florence
788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palazzo Guadagni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Guadagni

Property: Hotel Palazzo Guadagni
Address: Piazza Santo Spirito 9, 50125, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santo Spirito / San Frediano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Palazzo Guadagni 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Palazzo Guadagni is located in the Oltrarno district, in a characteristic piazza in the historical centre of Florance, a nighbourhood full of antique shops andold artisans' workshop, just a few minutes walk from the Pitti palace and the Boboli Gardens.The rooms are spacious and rich in atmosphere, found in Palazza Guadagni designed by Simone del Pollaiolo in 1505,have ceilings with frescos, fire places and a wonderful views that looks out onto Florence and the most important buildings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Nozio Netplan srl, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Guadagni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing