We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Beautiful room top location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Residenza dell'Orafo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Residenza dell'Orafo
Ranked #45 of 638 Florence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Beautiful room top location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2012

Stayed 3 nights in this small but modern and beautiful room. Very clean but bed was rather hard. Very friendly reception who stayed to wait for us till 8 pm. Delicious biscuit and fruit tray everyday plus wine upon check out far surpass our expectations, thanks! Supermarket 3 minutes away and central train station 5 minutes away; extremely convenient. We walked to all attractions and train/bus to Prada(space) and The Mall. Will definitely stay again if mattress is changed to a softer and more comfortable one :) .Hope to be back. Vicinity safe.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sk248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    435
    98
    23
    5
    1
See reviews for
125
280
24
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
the woodlands, texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2012

As many others have written, the location and the staff are fantastic. Giulia was there when we arrived and she helped us with the places to visit. She also noted when we registered, that we arrived on my birthday. She said we should have let them know, that they would have done something special. The next day after sightseeing for 4-5 hours, we returned to our room and found some fresh pastries in our mini fridge. You are near the train station, which was nice since we had arrived from Rome by train. You are also near main sights.
The rooms are very comfortable Nd quiet even though you are near a main street. There are only 5 rooms, so service is very personal.
We even received a parting gift - a nice bottle of wine.
Marta and Raffaella also were very nice. Strongly recommend.

Room Tip: Only 5 rooms, so size of group may dictate room to chose. Staff is helpful no matter what.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gmck1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laresidenzadellorafo, Responsabile reception at La Residenza dell'Orafo, responded to this review, 15 June 2012
Thank you very much for your kind review :-)

We are happy to know that you appreciated our service during your stay .

We always try to provide and improve our services for our guests to make their holiday special.

We hope to have the pleasure to host you again in our resort for another wonderful vacation.


Raffaella and all the Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sumaré, SP, Brazil
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2012

We loved the hotel and the people. Nice decorated room, good size mainly because our big suitcases, clean, organized. Bathroom and shower very nice. We would like to thank in special Raffaella who welcomed us in a lovely and unique way! All the girls on the desk were very nice with us, but Raffaella was very special. The hotel is located very near the train station and it is easily to walk to the main sightseeings, restaurants, etc.. We loved everything in Florence and if we come back we will stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Good location. Competitive prices. Clean, organized, quieter, larger rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IsaApril2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laresidenzadellorafo, Responsabile reception at La Residenza dell'Orafo, responded to this review, 15 June 2012
Thank you so much for your review and for your kind words :-)

Your opinion is very important for us.

We are glad that you appreciate our b&b and above all that you considered our staff excellent.

We always hope that our friendly and informal way to help our clients is appreciated.

It would be a pleasure for us host you again in our resort for another wonderful vacation.

With love

Raffaella
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2012

No need to look further - The rooms were large enough to accommodate my husband and I with our two teenage children. My mother had a separate room which was slightly smaller, but had similar facilities.
The blinds (electric) made sure that the room was dark enough at night and the double glazing cut the noise of the busy street below completely. The comfortable (large) bed as well as the fresh crisp linen all contributed to a fantastic nights' sleep - exactly what is needed when staying in the city! Being in a location that is just a five minute walk to ALL of the major attractions in Florence as well as being accross the road from the train station is also a good reason to stay here. The little extras (a basket of fruit each day, pastries left in the fridge, buscuits, juices and water) as well as coffee making facilities (unseen in other hotels in Italy...) made our stay relaxed and pleasant. We also had the opportunity to catch up with our corrispondence as there is Wi-Fi in all the rooms. All in all, the best place in Italy by far!!!I wouldn't hesitate to stay here.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gwen68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laresidenzadellorafo, Responsabile reception at La Residenza dell'Orafo, responded to this review, 15 June 2012
Dear Guest,

I would like to express my sincerest thanks for the observations you wrote regarding services at our hotel.

We are continually striving to improve the hospitality we offer, and comments from our guests are very useful and welcome.

We hope to have the pleasure to host you again in our resort for another wonderful vacation.

Best regards

Raffaella
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

I loved the place and the people. Lovely decorated rooms, good size, very clean, completely new. Bathroom and shower were really well working and comfortable. But the top is the staff (Marta, Raffaella and Giulia..thanks to all!!) that makes your stay so much different from any other place. They welcomed us with an aperitiv and we had fresh fruit in the room, plus there's always a tea boiler and a little gift every day. Staff is really professional but, at the same time very friendly and helpful. Wireless is perfectly working and free!! B&B is located next to the main central station so you can easily get there by bus from airport or by train. And it is really in the city centre, short walking distance from major attractions. The relation price-quality is really good. I will come back. that's for sure. i was there for work and they made me feel at home!

Room Tip: all rooms are nice and different. look at their website and choose the colour which fits your charac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bobolawwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laresidenzadellorafo, Responsabile reception at La Residenza dell'Orafo, responded to this review, 8 May 2012
Dear Sirs,

thank you for choosing "La Residenza Dell' Orafo" for your holidays in Florence and for writing your review.

We are glad that you appreciate our B&B and all our staff . We always hope that our friendly and informal way to help our clients is appreciated.

We hope to have the pleasure to host you again in our resort for another wonderful vacation.

Kindest regards

Raffaella, Marta and Giulia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

My husband and two children stayed here last week for 2 nights. It was great. Clean, good location, a block from the train station and two blocks to the market. Just a few minutes to the center. The woman who worked their were very sweet and helpful. The snacks and drinks they provide are a nice bonus. My children each had their own twin beds and we had a big bed. We took a tour early at the train station so for the kids it was great to be so close. The breakfast was in a cafe on the next block. You get your choice of little sandwiches, pastries, coffee, juice. Very nice. Would recommend it for a reasonably priced hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1330ag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laresidenzadellorafo, Responsabile reception at La Residenza dell'Orafo, responded to this review, 27 April 2012
Dear Client,

thank you so much for your review and for your kind words.

Your opinion is very important for our work.

It was a great pleasure for us to have you and your wonderful family as our guest and we hope that we can see you again .

Warmest regards

Raffaella and all the staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

La Residenza dell'Orafo was probably the best place we stayed on our trip, Giulia, and the other girls on the desk were always extremely helpful, even offering the use of their computer, when ours was giving us trouble. Location is great, an easy walk from the train station and to all the attractions, and restaurants in Florence. It was lovely to come back from a day out to find a note telling us that there was a little surprise in the fridge or on the cupboard for us. We have stayed in beautiful 5 star hotels since, but dell'Ortafo is still the best for value, service and making you feel at home. we will be back.

Room Tip: Take one of the front rooms if you want a larger one, we had one of the rear rooms which was still g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DarrylFischer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laresidenzadellorafo, Responsabile reception at La Residenza dell'Orafo, responded to this review, 27 April 2012
Dear Guest,,

thank you very much for your kind review.

We are happy to know that you appreciated our service during your stay . We always try to provide and improve our services for our guests to make their holiday memorable.

Hooping to welcome you again,

Kindest regards

Raffaella and all the staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Residence La Contessina
Residence La Contessina
#42 of 422 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel City
Hotel City
#51 of 422 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Cosimo de'Medici
Hotel Cosimo de'Medici
#94 of 422 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
Bellevue House
Bellevue House
#19 of 638 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
San Lorenzo
Alloro B&B
Alloro B&B
#27 of 638 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 761 reviews
San Marco
San Giuliano Inn
San Giuliano Inn
#6 of 638 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Residenza dell'Orafo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Residenza dell'Orafo

Property: La Residenza dell'Orafo
Address: Largo Fratelli Alinari 11, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 638 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Florence, one of the most romantic and magical cities of the world, right at the exit of the train Station Santa Maria Novella, a step away from the Palace of Congresses (Conferences Palace) and from the historical center a Bed and Breakfast has recently been opened: “La Residenza dell'Orafo” with cozy and comfortable rooms, great service and an excellent quality price ratio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity.ca so you can book your La Residenza dell'Orafo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Residenza Dell`Orafo Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing