We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,225)
Filter reviews
1,225 results
Traveller rating
912
252
45
12
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
912
252
45
12
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews shuttle bus water mill arno river shuttle service water wheel beautiful hotel jacuzzi bath sister hotel tuscan countryside our honeymoon superior room the hotel offers quiet location highly recommend this hotel stayed longer favorite hotel pastries
Filter
Updating list...
504 - 509 of 1,225 reviews
Reviewed January 22, 2013

I visited here in July with my girlfriend. While we enjoyed the romantic nature of the hotel away from the rush of the city, there was nothing to do in the area, and little to do at the hotel other than dinner and drinks. The restaurant and bar are the best points of the hotel. The food served is exceptional, and the barman is a charmer. (My friend enjoyed his humor and attention especially, as did I.) Their so-called spa is basically non-existant, their grounds are oddly spaced and rather useless, and their swimming poor is odd and nothing that lends itself to actually swimming inside. I have since re-read a few of the negative complaints, and I can agree that for a family with kids the swimming pool is likely far from western safety standards and best to be avoided. The staff was okay in total -- the maids were charming, the restaurant staff were exceptional, but the desk staff were rather bland and humorless.

In total, for those who understand and appreciate world class resorts, the Hotel Mulino di Firenze
is far from top notch. On a value scale it is even worse.

Room Tip: We had a river view, and this was nice. However, in the summer I suggest keeping your window closed to keep the gnats outside.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MJinmyPJs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mulinofirenze, Direttore at Hotel Mulino di Firenze, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2013

Dear Guest,
we thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about your stay in our hotel even after all this time.
Thank you for the kind words spended for the restaurant and the staff at the bar, we really appreciate.
We are sorry for rest of the review because it seems that our Hotel did not satisfy your expectations.

In our Hotel we have a nice biological pool open on summertime where all our guests can swim, have a drink and enjoy a wonderful time reading or just relaxing while being lulled by the sound of the rushing river and this is one of the most appreciated “plus” of our hotel.
We can also ensure that our pool is not dangerous, we respected all the standards and as a proof of this we had a lot of families with children that loved spending time in the pool, as you may read in hundreds of reviews.

The Hotel is close to a little village, which can be reached by a 5 minute walk, where there is a little park for a walk or playing games with children (most of our guests use to have a walk with their dogs) and also on the other side of the Arno river there is a wonderful path for running or biking trough the countryside. We also provide bikes for free in the Hotel so that you can also easily reach the city center.

Our SPA in the hotel is small as you can say, this is because it was obtained from one of the caves of the old mill, so this characteristic make the spa area a private place to relax. We have a Sauna and a Turkish bath and for the above mentioned reasons we ask to reserve in advance at the front desk. It’s only for a private use so even if small, the plus is that is only for the ones who reserve while in most of the hotel all around the world is for a common use so really more confusing.

We are sorry that you did not appreciated in general the hotel but we think there is some nice things to do in the hotel and in the surrounding areas but if you have some suggestions about other activities you usually can find in other hotel we’ll be very happy to consider them in order to provide an even more pleasant service for our future guest’s experience at the Mulino.

Having read your preference is mostly given to hotels like the Four Seasons, we should warn all reviewers that the Mulino is a completely different choice (and also a completly different rate…).

Hotel is a boutique designed to be a different experience on the River Banks of the Arno.
We are sorry this was not a good experience for you and your familiy, it is for a large majority of people who stays with us and suggest the place on Tripadvisor.

Thank you very much anyway, our goal is to satisfy at least 99% of our guests.
Giancarlo Carniani

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We as a family of four spent three nights at the hotel, a fantastic place, not too big. The hotel is located very close to the river Arno, or actually "in the river". The view from the hotel is really scenic, be sure to ask for a room overlooking the river. The staff is extraordinary polite and helpful, and also there is access to spa facilities (you need to book). The restaurant is actually excellent also for dinners, and the breakfast is very plentiful with everything you will be looking for. In summer, the swimmingpool will be open, and it looks like a really nice place to spend some time in the sun! The hotel is located about 7 kilometers from the city center, and they do have a shuttle service, just sign up the evening before. Do not attempt to drive in the center of Florence! The hotel is a four star, a little expensive, but well worth spending money on.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the river Arno, one of the most important and well known rivers in Italy.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arne Baard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mulinofirenze, Direttore at Hotel Mulino di Firenze, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2013

Dear guest,

thank you very much for your review, we are very happy to see that our guests appreciate the Hotel, the staff and, first of all, the service wich is the part we try to improve every day with passion and dedication.

Thank you very much from the whole staff and see you next time...in summertime maybe!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Just outside the hustle and bustle of the city centre of Florence (15 minutes by taxi), the tranqulity, countryside, water and surrounds provides a unique experience.

Advantages: Great atmosphere, small friendly hotel, charming rooms, quiet, regular hotel shuttle to city, good service.
Disadvantages: If you want to be in the city centre, this hotel will not suit.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheFabFour_fromSyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 30, 2012

This year we decided to visit Florence, We have stayed at Hotels all over the world and my wife and I and three children
choose Hotel Mulino Di Firenze. What a delight! Fantasic location, best of bothe worlds, next to the River Arno and yet only a few minutes into Florence centre-by the free shuttle service offered by the Hotel, Excellent rooms, beatiful decor
but the real credit must go to the Staff who are extremly friendly and helpful! If you are thinking of visitng Florence this should definlty be your chioce of Hotel, Excellent food, and the only thing we regreted was leaving! We stayed there for a week during Christmas coming from Malta. You can also visit the beatiful Chianti region from Florence and numerous other places, best Hotel, best Staff, best Holiday we have ever had, We intend on returning, Thank you so much Beatrice and Antonia and Emilio, you have a Hotel and a country to be proud of!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Composer_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 26, 2012

When we arrived at Mulino we were a little scared because it`s a little far from the city center, but it turned out to be the perfect place to stay in Firenze. We rented a car, so going into the centro storico would be difficult since it`s a restricted traffic zone. Perfect breakfast, awesome view of the river, and the greatest advantage of this hotel is the staff. They helped us with everything we needed, be it an extra blanket or calling a drugstore in the middle of the night for a painkiller. I`ll definitely return there soon.

Room Tip: The best views of the river are on the north/northwest side of the hotel.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joao R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mulinofirenze, Direttore at Hotel Mulino di Firenze, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2012

Dear guest,
we appreciate your review because this is a proof that we are doing well with our job!

Thank you very much for spending your time to review your stay, this pays for all the effort made by our staff.

Thank you and came back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews