We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Watch out, there's a thief about” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Cora

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Villa Cora
Ranked #7 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Watch out, there's a thief about”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2011

We stayed here for our first wedding anniversary from 29th November for 3 nights. On the 2nd night my husband's iphone was stolen from our room by someone with a key card who entered the room while we dined in the hotel restaurant. The staff were politely apologetic but ineffectual and resigned to utilising insurance claims as a way of making this all better. Sorry to see on our return that a previous guest also experienced a theft from this hotel - clearly there is a thief operating there and the hotel have not done anything about it. If you do stay here - and it is a very beautiful hotel indeed - we suggest you lock all valuables in the room safe.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
15 Thank purreedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarissa18, Direttore at Villa Cora, responded to this review, 21 December 2011
We thank you for taking the time to write such comment on tripadvisor. We always take advantages from clients suggestions and we will surely do it also this time.

We deeply apologize for the wrong feedback you had while staying in our Hotel.
We, the management together with the staff, feel very appassionate with our job and such things are always very sad to listen.

Here below our explanations:

when the guest advised us about the missing mobile phone,beside apologizing for what they reported. we clearly informed the clients that, in order to claim any loss, they have to report the incident to the Police. The hotel, as you may understand is fully insured, but of course to do any claim, as everyway in the world , you are obliged to have a report from the police. We offered to our clients the possibility to go and come back to the police station with our shuttle bus. The answer was: we do not want to waste time to go and report the incident .

So that no other actions was taken, we anyhow informed our insurance company of the client’s incident.
Regarding the story of a thieft in the hotel our points of view are:
- how can you (proof?) this? (thieft operating in the Hotel) We would suggest to be more polite and pay much more attention before reporting this comments
- the other guest writing about the thieft was part of a group and nobody else of the same group experienced the same problem she had. We think that if a thieft is operating in the hotel, the bad experiences should have been much much more.

Anyhow, as written at the beginning of our answer, we are surely working to improve our standards of service and we will take into consideration all kind of comments clients are reporting us.
On the other hand we would like you to invite to see our nice comments on the Villa, the service and the food.

Best regards

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

820 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    709
    78
    16
    7
    10
See reviews for
166
430
10
56
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Monza, Italy
Level Contributor
66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2011

We stayed in the 1st floor of the Villa Cora and out stay was just amazing. Impecable service, great structure. We were able to hv an early checkin and 1st thing we did was a tour in the property, with a thorough explanatoon about its construction. Navetta service to downtown, waiting time 10 min max. We had a drink one night in their bar and again great customer service. Spectacular view from the 5th floor, we certainly come back during summer.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brig-cris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2011

Unbelievable. I traveled with a group where we had over 20 rooms booked here. First rooms are dark and dreary. Very clean though and grounds are nice. My collegue reported her watch missing and she scoured her room. She's meticulous. Oddly enough, watch shows up on her dresser where she left it the next nite. My ring was stolen the day after I wore it. Made admitted to going thru my jewelry. While I was away manager sent her back to my room to find my ring. She went thru my items again and even took some to the front desk. Mind you, I wasn't there or informed. My ring never resurfaced and manager told me he'd take care of it. I supplied receipt from Paris purchase as requested and they decided they will not compensate me a mere $500 after we spent tens of thousands there. The negligence is horrible. Watch out, each nite you come home, the help will have rearrarranged your things. Such an invasion of personal space. Management is very impolite and could care less about guests. Hotel is new and staff not seasoned or responsible! I take that back, the concierge was helpful!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Ebok76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarissa18, Direttore at Villa Cora, responded to this review, 29 November 2011
Dear Guest,

we thank you for taking your time on writing.

We are concerned regading the incident you have experienced in fact we are keeping in touch since few months following all the right procedures.

Anyway, we thank you for your comments,

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2011

The lovely and lovingly restored from private residence to grand hotel building is a feast for the eyes and soul. We only stayed once for a week and were it not for my husband's difficulty walking long distances, we'd have stayed more frequently. The rooms were quite large and beautifully decorated, as are all the public areas. The grounds are very well kept and the views of the city from the top of the hill where the hotel is situated are superb. We found the staff to be well-trained and extremely accommodating.

The hotel is located in Oltrarno, quite a distance from the Centro Storico, but they do have a shuttle service that leaves you just at the foot of Ponte Vecchio. Should you enjoy a leisurely walk to the center, it takes about half an hour. The hotel is just up the hill from Piazza Michelangelo and from Pitti Palace and Boboli Gardens, quite close to San Miniato al Monte, all of which are well worth a visit for the views alone if not their impressive history.

If there is a negative at all for some people, it would be that in the evenings one must use a taxi service to get into town to dine; otherwise, everything one could desire is located in the hotel. There is a lovely bar and the public areas within the hotel are spectacularly, opulently decorated. One genuinely has the impression of staying in a palazzo. It is a delightful setting to feel that one has stepped back in time to an elegant place, and life at a more relaxed pace.

Room Tip: We had a corner room with sweeping two-sided views - lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sandra3120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harare, Zimbabwe
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2011

The title is a true reflection of a wonderfully appointed hotel in Florence. The grandeur, the architecture, the decor all work beautifully to give one a very special stay. The convenience of the hotel works very well with a busy schedule. The Concierge and front desk staff were extremely helpful, knowlegable and efficient. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: All rooms well appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank benguerra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2011

- Location: Oltrarno quarter, view over the Boboli gardens, lush historic villa quarter, garden landscape, 25 min walking distance to Uffizii, small but busy road around the hotel complex (daytime)
- Hotel: historic neo renaissance palace, lavishly restored with passion to the historic details, huge reception rooms, very beautiful, but not amble garden, elegant pool area, completely renovated property
- Room: roof level chamber, low ceilings, sumptuously decorated, baroque design, but not overloaded, view over the whole historic city, state of the art technical equipment, too dark reading lamps, large bathroom
- Restaurant (Breakfast): tasteful turkish tent design interior, large breakfast buffet, too close to the pool
- Service: professional and warm service appropriate to the hotel standard

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hamburg_meine_Perle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2011

We got to stay here after receiving an upgrade from one of the groups other hotels(hotel o'rologio- thanks guys!!!), and we love this place!

The building and grounds are gorgeous, and the main rooms downstairs are just stunning...the pool was lovely, great service, and our room abalcony room on third floor with views of florence....

We only wish we could stay longer :)

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobCat-reviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Uffizi
Portrait Firenze
Portrait Firenze
#3 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
Hotel David
#1 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,989 reviews
San Marco
Four Seasons Hotel Firenze
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Palazzo Castri 1874
Palazzo Castri 1874
#6 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 793 reviews
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
#18 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#20 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Cora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Cora

Property: Villa Cora
Address: Viale Niccolo Machiavelli 18, 50125, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Florence
#1 Business Hotel in Florence
#6 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#11 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa Cora 5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
VILLA CORA is a 5 star resort located in a 19th century mansion with a large park, bordering the gardens along Viale dei Colli, within walking distance from Boboli and Oltrarno and considered the "grand lady" of Florence southern hills. Its 46 rooms and suites, heated pool in the park, Gourmet's Restaurant and Spa make it the ultimate, exquisitely sophisticated "city resort". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Villa Cora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Florence
Grand Hotel Cora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing