We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home!”
Review of Classic Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Classic Hotel
Ranked #224 of 409 Hotels in Florence
Reviewed 21 October 2011

For 10 years we have enjoyed the Classic Hotel in Florence as our home away from home. The rooms are large, with approximately 20 ft. ceilings (I believe it once was a very large private residence), the location is quiet and convenient to the center of Florence. A 15-20 minute walk will get you to the Duomo. If you choose to ride the bus, the stop is only a 5 minute walk from the hotel. The very best part of the Classic Hotel experience is the staff! Francesco, Benedetta, Sam and Avis make our visits so enjoyable! They have now become our extended family. There is a nice garden in the back to enjoy your morning coffee. Wifi is great! Breakfast is just okay, that is probably the only downside for us.
Also, you are only about a 5 minute walk away from the most famous brick oven pizza in Florence. Tell Nello at L'Antica Porta hello from Martin! Everything considered, you probably will not do better, unless you spend a lot more for a room.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MartinDingman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (185)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 185 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2011

Lovely old style hotel, Great relaxed atmosphere. Excellent service from friendly staff. Lovely quiet garden to have a glass of wine and chill out.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rogclarke36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2011

I like to travel without reservations, creates a more adventurous flexible mood to traveling. I discovered this Villa/Hotel just across the street from the Boblio Gardens on the Internet. It sits in a quiet residential neighborhood walking distance to the Duomo and most of the Florence attractions. I purchased a two day tour bus pass because the bus stops one block from the hotel. The hotel is an old restored villa and with beautiful serene gardens. It does have a lift to all upper floors and the staff is extremely friendly and helpful. In fact, the front desk person helped me find my next reservation in Cortona. You cannot beat the price for what you get in the center of Florence.

Room Tip: Comfortable and quiet rooms on all floors, some rooms face the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1travelwarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2011

This was a nice place to stay. As you arrive driving up a beautiful tree lined street. The gardens out back are peaceful to have a morning cup of coffee or to check your email with the free WiFi.

We traveled with an older teen and our family room had a loft for her. The bathroom was up in the loft...only down side was at night navigating the stairs with little light. The room was clean and spacious compared to other European rooms.

Breakfast was plain and simple. Just the basics. Pastries, cold cereal, yogurt, coffee, tea and juices. We have seen better and worse. Not a deal breaker for our family.

The staff was very helpful and friendly. There was some street noise at night but room had a/c so windows could be closed.

Not a long walk to the city center. Downside...after a day of walking te hotel seemed "far away". This wasn't a big issue. A beautiful park is across the street and at the rotary in the morning is a fresh fruit and veggie market. A small market is just a 5 minute walk or so to get water and anything you forgot.

Arriving on a Sunday leaves little options for dining close by...just head through the Roman gates to the right and a wonderful pizza place is about 10 mins away on the right.

We would stay here again if we drove in...if flying/railing it into Florence we might pick a more central place. Train station is less than 30 minute walk. Quick 1 hour train to Pisa!

We considered the previously posted reviews before choosing the Classic Hotel. We didn't have any problems. Please read all the positives and not focus on the negatives. We were very happy with the service and professionalism of the staff.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Haymodad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2011

Very friendly staff, great hotel. Unfortunately they could not extend my stay for one more night as they were completely booked....I moved to the Kraft Hotel where my computer was stolen...go figure! The Classic Hotel is in agreat location and they have PARKING!
Will stay there again in the future.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank frangio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2011

A good hotel reasonably priced. The staff is very friendly and helpful. It is about 15 min walking distance from the centre. A nice place to stay if you do not mind walking.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luter68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2010

The electronic safe in our hotel room had been unlocked while were out for the day (??) and this was the main reason we checked out of this hotel early and went to stay at another hotel. Also the breakfast was pretty poor. There was nobody in the breakfast room to help serve patrons and an unusual array of stuff laid out on a buffet table which I can only presume was a lazy attempt at putting together a continental breakfast. I've never seen the Italian equivalent of Dairylea in little portions served up as a breakfast item before and the brew which I had to make myself from a flask of lukewarm water was just terrible! Also there was a hole in the tiles in our shower where I'm guessing a light fitting had once been meaning that when you pulled the shower curtain across you were effectively showering in the dark. A shame really because with a bit more effort this could be a nice enough hotel. My advice -- if you stay in any hotel take a really decent lock for your case and keep anything personal in there (not a lock like the ones that you get free sometimes with a suitcase as these are usually rubbish)

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mademoisellie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Villa Carlotta Hotel
#237 of 409 in Florence
626 reviews
Villa Belvedere - Florence
#189 of 409 in Florence
210 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Golf
Hotel Golf
#233 of 409 in Florence
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Della Robbia
#185 of 409 in Florence
206 reviews
Cosmopolitan Concept Hotel
#120 of 409 in Florence
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Classic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Classic Hotel

Address: Viale Niccolo' Machiavelli 25, 50125, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#144 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range: $108 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Classic Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Classic Hotel is a 19th century Villa which has been completely restored and is surrounded with luscious gardens and old trees.All the rooms, double, single, and the suites have a bath- or shower-room, a direct telephone, TV, strongbox, phon, air conditioning and period decor.The historic centre of Florence (Ponte Vecchio, Palazzo Pitti, the Uffizi) can easily be reached on foot from the Villa which is located near Porta Romana and the Boboli Gardens ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Classic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Classic Hotel Florence
Florence Classic Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing