We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Don't stay here! Not worth the 4 star rating the hotel gives itself!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Laurus al Duomo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Laurus al Duomo
Ranked #69 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Don't stay here! Not worth the 4 star rating the hotel gives itself!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

We booked 2 double rooms, one with a king bed and another with twin beds. The king bed room was a bit of a joke for the price we paid. The room was so small that we had trouble moving around. The air con did not work. We called reception to be rudely told that aircon would be switched on only from May and that we should open the windows if we felt too hot. We had room 203 and room 205 which meant that we were on the 2 nd floor with unbearable street noise. We did not sleep all 3 nights that we spent there. Breakfast was a mediocre affair with limited choices and 2 coffee machines that worked sporadically. The TV did not work in the room and we had to call house services to help. I found it surprising that everyday, we had to call housekeeping for a kettle to make our morning coffee. This IS NO 4 star hotel! It is just an overpriced budget hotel! Utter rubbish. The only good point is the location. Close to the train station and eating options. Won't ever stay here again.

Room Tip: Don't bother staying here! If you have too, travel only in the winter and choice a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vidyanavin491
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaLaurus, Responsabile reception at Hotel Laurus al Duomo, responded to this review, 27 March 2012
Dear Sirs,
we regret very much that you did not like anything about our hotel, and, despite our best efforts we could not meet your expectations during the stay.
In any case, the benefit of people who read the comments, we want to clarify some points.
1- 203 and 205 rooms with city view, are about 14 square meters plus bathroom and are equipped with double glazing with double windows, fully soundproofed.
2- during the month of March is usually still operates the heating, but, given the exceptionally warm for the season, we turned off the system throughout the hotel.
3- our breakfast, besides the wonderful view over the city, offers hot and cold, sweet and savory traditional Italian and Florentine territory products.
4- our TV is equipped with satellite channels (instructions are in the rooms), in fact, the porter made ​​you run correctly without changing the TV because failure
5- every morning we take the kettles for washing, replacing with clean boilers and stocked with coffee, etc.
We are sorry however that you will not want to give us another opportunity to serve you better.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,535 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    787
    591
    110
    28
    19
See reviews for
269
899
28
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

Recently stayed here for 3 nights. Had room 305 at the front of the hotel. Room was good very clean and with a modern bathroom. My only criticism is the room is stuffy despite trying to get the Air Con Unit to work. It would go below 16 and made a noise but didn't seem to make any impact. Opening the window is not really viable given the street noise. Breakfast is taken on thd 6th floor that has a terrace with wonderful views of the Duomo. Quality of food was good with a good choice. Must admit experience of staff was mixed with the staff in Wine Bar inconsistent. A guy there was extremely helpful then the next day a young girl was completely the opposite. Highly recommend for value for money and central position.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Duncan0104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaLaurus, Responsabile reception at Hotel Laurus al Duomo, responded to this review, 26 March 2012
Dear Sir
thank you for choosing our hotel and inform about your experience with us.
Your comments on the cleanliness of the room and breakfast on the terrace are very appreciated.
Recently was very hot in Florence, so we turned off the heating system and place the function of moving air. Despite this species in those rooms with views like yours you could not actually lower the temperature. We apologize for the inconvenience.
With regard to the wine bar we note that the "extremely helpful guy" caught the flu and the next day we had to replace it with the young girl who usually served for breakfast, In any case I hope you enjoyed, if not the skill and kindness of the girl.
We are happy that you consider "highly recommended" the Hotel Laurus al Duomo, and we would be more than happy to welcoming you again in our beatiful Florence.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, UK
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

Good points: Pleasant, helpful staff. Clean room. Nice bathroom. Great location, close to main tourist area and main bus and train stations. Good view from terrace bar/breakfast terrace. Safe big enough to take a laptop. Wi-fi free, use of hotel internet 5euro per hour. Comfortable bed. Breakfast standard fare. Tea and coffee tray upon request, without charge.

Bad: View of wall an service alley. Noise from rooms above - sufficient to wake me during the night when they used the bathroom. Sounded like water was running through the room. Room overheated - was offered fan, but didn't take it, due to noise factor.

Would recommend, provided that the position and quietness of room were assured by hotel, in advance.

Room Tip: Ask about the view and the noise before booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Minervah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaLaurus, Responsabile reception at Hotel Laurus al Duomo, responded to this review, 20 March 2012
Dear Sir,
thanks for taking time and let us know about your experience with us.
All comments both positive and negative help us do our job better.
Thank you for your appreciation of our position, on cleaning the rooms and the friendliness of our staff.
We are also sorry about the noise heard from the rooms upstairs and for the room overheated, in fact we had in Florence during those days a climate warmer than normal and we turned off the heating throughout the hotel.
Hoping soon give us another opportunity to serve you, we remain.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

We stayed at the best western for a couple of days in November 2011.. the hotel has an oustanding location - abt a minute's walk from the Duomo - abt an 8 min walk from the railway station - The hotel's very comfortable - free wifi in rooms, a decent american breakfast, small but clean and comfortable rooms and helpful staff - quite courteous
The concierge even recomended a day tour to chianti and sienna which was a lovely experience.
Florence is a great place to walk - we did the uffizi galeries, walked upto the ponte vechio and even to piazza michelangelo.. a long walk but lovely views of Florence across the siene and the duomo.

Room Tip: Most of the rooms dont really have a view of the duomo, but any street facing room on a high floor s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Betttsss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaLaurus, Responsabile reception at Hotel Laurus al Duomo, responded to this review, 6 March 2012
Dear Sirs,
thanks for visiting us last November.
We are delighted that you enjoyed our hotel and our services.
Our concierge is waiting for you next time in Florence to offer other beautiful tours in the area!
Greetings from all of us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorba linda
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 5 days and it was a great experience. The rooms were very clean and very quiet with comfortable beds. King size beds! The people at the hotel were great, from the front desk... thank you Alberto for all your help, to the ladies in the breakfast room. Close to anywhere you want to go. We walked to every site except Palazzo Piti within 15 minutes from the hotel, Piti took maybe 5 minutes more.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank onebigmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaLaurus, Responsabile reception at Hotel Laurus al Duomo, responded to this review, 1 March 2012
Dear Sirs,

thank you for choosing us and we are happy to learn that your stay with us was a "great Experience"!
We are looking forward to welcoming you the next time in Florence, you can not miss a visit to Palazzo Pitti!

Greetings from Alberto, the ladies in the breakfast room, and all the staff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

I recently stayed here in room 504 with my partner for our anniversary. The hotel is very nice and clean with a nice view. It is very close to the Duomo and to the train station which was fantastic as neither of us had ventured to Florence before and were concerned about locating the hotel. The city has lots to offer and is certainly very beautiful.
The use of the free wifi was a nice touch as roaming charges on a UK based mobile phone are ridiculous and this made contacting family and planning our tourism route a lot easier.
The windows in the bedroom are double glazed which locks out nearly all the loud external street noise which is brilliant when trying to sleep.

The staff are polite and friendly, we were very grateful that they allowed us to store our luggage after we checked out.
The only draw back is that the water temperature in the shower constantly fluctuated between hot and cold, so much so that it was difficult to fully enjoy. Also, the bed was clearly made up of two singles pushed together which meant that there was an uncomfortable divide through the middle, they were also a little hard to lie on.
Other than what I have mentioned, our stay was a memorable one and if the price is right, I would happily do it again and stay here.

Room Tip: Definitely select the room with a view. Even if it means paying a little more. You won't be sorr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TomGraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaLaurus, Responsabile reception at Hotel Laurus al Duomo, responded to this review, 1 March 2012
Dear Sirs,

thank you for choosing our hotel and thank you for your kind remarks.
We have taken note of the inconveniences of the shower in your room and we have already solved.
We are happy to learn that it was for you a memorable stay and we hope to welcome you once again, and we shall put at your disposal a room with one bed.
Many greetings from all the staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay Shore, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

My wife and I found the hotel to be exceptionally clean and comfortable. The location is outstanding and within close walking distance to everything you would want to see in the beautiful city of Florence. It is about a 15 minute walk to the train station. The staff was helpful and friendly.

The breakfast service was also very good. The only criticism we had was the lack of water pressure in the shower stall. The water stream was not constant and always felt like the shower was running out of water.

Room Tip: Room 701 (where we stayed) has the absolute best view in the entire hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rmc1264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaLaurus, Responsabile reception at Hotel Laurus al Duomo, responded to this review, 28 February 2012
Dear Sirs,
thank you for choosing our hotel during your stay in Florence, and many thanks for your kind and appreciated comments.
Thanks for your report! In fact, today, we have provided to restore the proper functioning of the shower!
We really hope to welcoming you again and we shall do our best to put at your disposal the same room with the best view of the entire hotel.

Greetings from your helpful and friendly staff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel de La Ville
Hotel de La Ville
#58 of 422 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
Duomo
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
#62 of 422 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,208 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Perseo
Hotel Perseo
#45 of 422 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pitti
Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio
Duomo
Hotel Duomo Firenze
Hotel Duomo Firenze
#49 of 422 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,034 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Berchielli
Hotel Berchielli
#47 of 422 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Laurus al Duomo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Laurus al Duomo

Property: Hotel Laurus al Duomo
Address: Via Cerretani 54 / R, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#52 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#69 Business Hotel in Florence
#71 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Laurus al Duomo 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Laurus al Duomo is located in the heart of Florence, just 70 meters from the Cathedral and 150 meters from the central train station Santa Maria Novella.The hotel is part of the cultural centre "Centro Congressi al Duomo", together with the Auditorium al Duomo, Cafe Astra al Duomo, Hotel Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio.Located in the historical via de' Cerretani, between the Cathedral and the Santa Maria Novella train station, the Hotel Laurus al Duomo stays at a short walk from the most elegant shopping streets, and it is ideal for both leisure and business travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Fastbooking and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Hotel Laurus al Duomo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Florence
Laurus Hotel
Florence Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing