We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“May in Florence”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Hotel Laurus al Duomo
Ranked #65 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“May in Florence”
Reviewed 14 May 2012

Hotel Laurus was an excellent location - 5 minutes from Duomo, (10-15 mins from central station where airport shuttle drops you off) and no more than 20 mins walk from the furthest main sights. The room was a pleasant surprise - roomy - bedroom, bathroom and a little sitting room, loads of light from the windows overlooking the Florence rooftops. It was also quiet at night, despite the central location. The staff were wonderful... they could not have been more helpful - we received excellent recommendations for dinner and they ordered taxis, looked after luggage... well, to be honest, anything we asked, they provided with courtesy and always with a smile - they were just so welcoming. This was the 1st visit to Florence and the city is wonderful, beautiful and the people very friendly... Pleasantly surprised how easy it was to walk everywhere and felt safe walking home at night after dinner. Will definitely return, to both Florence and the Hotel Duomo.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ZLappin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaLaurus, Responsabile reception at Hotel Laurus al Duomo, responded to this review, 17 May 2012
Dear Sir,

how to respond to a review so fantastic?
We can only thank with all heart and hope to meet you soon again as our welcome guest!

Greetings from all the staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,602 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    823
    618
    113
    28
    20
See reviews for
286
932
29
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2012

The location couldn't be better, the accommodations were nice and clean, and the staff was helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaLaurus, Responsabile reception at Hotel Laurus al Duomo, responded to this review, 15 May 2012
GRAZIE! THANKS!

Greetings from all of us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Laurus for 6 nights at the end of April 2012. We had a fantastic view of the Duomo from our room - and we loved the views from the balcony. It was right in the centre and very close to all the major sites - everything in walking distance. It was so easy to get there from the bus station (or train station) just a few minutes walk - no need for taxis or porters.
Staff very friendly, hotel clean and well maintained. Good value coffee bar on the premises.
Breakfast - lots of choice and nice sitting outside on the balcony looking at the view.

Room Tip: If you want a view, go to the higher floors. Some of the rooms on the 3rd floor looked into the hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaureenL799
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaLaurus, Responsabile reception at Hotel Laurus al Duomo, responded to this review, 7 May 2012
Dear Sirs,
thanks for choosing our hotel and many thanks for kind and appreciated comments about our structure, our services and our staff.
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we are looking forward to welcoming you again.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Chelmsford, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

My husband and I spent 3 nights in this lovely hotel. We were greeted with a smile and escorted to our room on the 6th floor over looking San Lorenzo. The room was clean and comfortable. The location of this hotel can't be beat. It is right down the street from the rail/train station and The Duomo. The front desk staff were gracious and helpful, We took their suggestion of dining at Buca Mario and it was fabulous. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Debsthings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaLaurus, Responsabile reception at Hotel Laurus al Duomo, responded to this review, 2 May 2012
Dear Madame,
thanks for very kind comments!
Our front desk is waiting for you on your next visit even to suggest the best restaurants and attractions of our beautiful city.
Greetings from all the staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, New Jersey
Level Contributor
119 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Laurus al Duomo March 19-22, 2012. No complaints about the Laurus. It really is a fantastic location and minutes from all the major sites. Upon our arrival we were given vouchers for Bellini's on the hotel's balcony. The balcony has a wonderful view of the dome of the Duomo and worth spending an hour on an afternoon enjoying a drink and relaxing. The view is best in the afternoon with the sun shining on the Duomo.

ROOM: We stayed on the top floor, where the breakfast eating area is located; I believe in room 8. The room was very clean and contained an extremely firm king size bed. We greatly appreciated the automatic windows that were placed towards the roof. Our room also had a very small balcony which had a nice view. We used the balcony for drying laundry. There is a safe and a small closet in the room. We had free Wi-Fi which was greatly appreciated, but it continuously cut out, forcing us to re-enter the passwords given by the front desk. If you don't want to wait for the elevator you can easily take the stairs.

BREAKFAST: 2 types of cold cuts, several yogurts, pastries, and breads, fruit, juices, coffee and tea. Considering the price of the hotel I was surprised that the breakfast was so well run and had so many options. Given we went in March we had no problem finding a seat.

I highly recommend Laurus.

Room Tip: Ask for the top floor for windows that bring a breeze through the room, a small balcony, and easy ac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HappyHikerGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaLaurus, Responsabile reception at Hotel Laurus al Duomo, responded to this review, 2 May 2012
Dear Sirs,
thank you so much for your kind comments and compliments about our hotel, our services and our staff.
We applaud you, you really described in detail throughout the hotel!
Thank you also to highly recommend our hotel and we are looking forward to welcoming you during your next trip to Florence.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

The staff are very good, especially the receptionists, hotel is very clean and well maintained. The position is excellent, within a few minutes walk of the Duomo and also the railway station.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank poppie28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaLaurus, Responsabile reception at Hotel Laurus al Duomo, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
Dear Sirs,
thanks for taking time and let us know about your experience with us, your nice comments are really appreciated.
Hoping to welcoming you again, we remain.
Greetings from all the Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Enjoyed our stay. The location was great. Very close to the Duomo and train station. The room was clean as was the bathroom. The bed was a little low to the floor. Breakfast was OK. Free wi-fi was good to have, but you had to log in every time you left the room and then came back. As soon as I left the room my phone would no longer be connected to the internet. I would strongly consider staying here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JZMSP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaLaurus, Responsabile reception at Hotel Laurus al Duomo, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
Dear Sirs,
we are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and we are waiting to welcoming you again in our beautiful Florence!
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Relais Hotel Centrale Residenza D'Epoca
Duomo
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
#61 of 422 in Florence
1,338 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Berchielli
Hotel Berchielli
#45 of 422 in Florence
1,493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Perseo
Hotel Perseo
#37 of 422 in Florence
1,718 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Globus
Hotel Globus
#59 of 422 in Florence
1,200 reviews
Pitti
Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Laurus al Duomo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Laurus al Duomo

Property: Hotel Laurus al Duomo
Address: Via Cerretani 54 / R, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#52 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#70 Business Hotel in Florence
#71 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Laurus al Duomo 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Laurus al Duomo is located in the heart of Florence, just 70 meters from the Cathedral and 150 meters from the central train station Santa Maria Novella.The hotel is part of the cultural centre "Centro Congressi al Duomo", together with the Auditorium al Duomo, Cafe Astra al Duomo, Hotel Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio.Located in the historical via de' Cerretani, between the Cathedral and the Santa Maria Novella train station, the Hotel Laurus al Duomo stays at a short walk from the most elegant shopping streets, and it is ideal for both leisure and business travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Fastbooking, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Laurus al Duomo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Florence
Laurus Hotel
Florence Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing