We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Villa Carlotta Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Loggiato dei Serviti(Florence)(Great Value!)
US$169
US$163
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$406
US$331
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$217
US$201
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
US$312
US$246
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Grand Hotel Minerva(Florence)
US$279
US$235
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Brunelleschi(Florence)
US$458
US$362
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$299
US$250
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel David(Florence)
US$255
US$216
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Bretagna(Florence)(Great Value!)
US$243
US$230
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$263
US$222
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (635)
Filter reviews
635 results
Traveller rating
194
244
126
50
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
194
244
126
50
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsboboli gardensminute walkporta romanaponte vecchiopitti palacedvd playerthe main hotelfirst morningtea and coffeetriple roomour night staycomfortable roompastriesby footsmall hotelnice breakfasttrain station
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
214 - 219 of 635 reviews
Reviewed 31 December 2011

Nothing too much trouble, staff all friendly and approachable. Rooms in the old house of course have the advantage of period features. Slight demerit is that the restaurant lacks atmosphere and the food is average. Breakfast choice is limited and surprisingly the coffee poor. Restaurant closed on Sunday night The hotel is only 15-20 minutes
walk to the Ponte Vecchio which is the gateway to a compact city. Public transport is easy buses are quick, clean and on time - a single journey costs €1.20 (don't forget to stamp your ticket once on board!). I am going to write seperate reviews for other points of interest to a visitor but must here recommend i'Mangiarino in Via dello Studio it's authentic, excellent value and does great food

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CheekieChappyDW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2011

We were booked into this hotel after the hotel we had booked and paid for decided to close its doors. With only a few days in Florence we were willing to take a chance; it proved to be a good decision.

The location is a bit of a distance from downtown and all the major sites but the bus runs very close by and we quickly learned to jump on and save the shoe leather. Catching the bus in the other direction enabled us to easily get to Piazza Michelangelo for some great views and photo ops.

We found the room quite adequate with a very nicely appointed bathroom with a shower that worked as expected (not always the case were were to find out later in our trip). Like most Italian hotels the A/C was marginal but it was adequate to allow us to sleep at night if we remembered to put it on as soon as we arrived back in the room.

The bed was comfy and the linens were good. The area is mostly residential and was very quiet at night which allowed us to open the window and enjoy some cool morning fresh air.

The breakfast was one of the best we would have at our Italy hotel stays. There were croissants and other pastries as one would expect but there were also cold meats, fruit and yogourt. It was also nice to be able to have a few cups of the wonderful cappuccino to get the evinrude cranking for the day!

The desk staff was very helpful and provided good advice when we asked for help. They sold bus tickets and knew which bus route numbers would get us where we needed to go.

I would recommend this as good value for money and a good compromise between seclusion for needed quiet and reasonable accessibility to the usual suspect sites in the downtown core.

Room Tip: Stay in the main building as we have heard the back building's rooms are not as nice.
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tmurrayis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2011

The room is so quite and romantic!! To town, just walking distance, we spent about 20 mins walking from the hotel, there are many attactions and shops you can see and visit on the way to city centre. Most importantly, the hotel is located in one of the best areas in Florence I reckon!! it's surrounded by green! Lot of choices for buffet breakfast. Overall it's the best hotel we've ever stayed for our three weeks trip in Europe!!

Room Tip: Just let them know what you want when you are making the booking.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nicole Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2011

I really enjoyed staying in Florence. It is such a wonderful place. The hotel is great, perfect location and a really good staff.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elettra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2011

just an ok place. asked for a quiet room but did not get one. had a hard time watching the stray cats hanging around. claimed they were fed, but i doubt it. breakfast was very good.
would not go back

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrea P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villcar, Direttore at Villa Carlotta Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2012

Dear Guest,
We are very sorry about what is happened during your stay, if we knew you had problems in the room we were able to change it. We are very appreciated for the quiet, especially because we are in a green area just few minutes from the city center.
we hope to see you again in Florence,

Best Regards

Antonio Venturini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews