We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel but a little out of the way” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Carlotta Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Villa Carlotta Hotel
Ranked #233 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
90 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Good hotel but a little out of the way”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2012

I like this hotel. It is clean and on a quiet location and has complimentary internet. The staff are helpful and even gave us a bottle of champagne to celebrate my birthday which was a month away! There were more variety of food food for breakfast. I have no complaints about the hotel but since we did a lot of walking to see the sights, this hotel is a little far out for me. If you are in Florence for a longer time, this might work out well for you because the location is on a nice quiet neighborhood. But if you are going to be on a few days trip and just wanted to see the major attractions, I'll say spend a few more to be much closer to the center. But if you want to experience the 'Firenzian' daily routine, this is for you.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LuieLuie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

575 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    186
    224
    104
    44
    17
See reviews for
87
337
19
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2011

Nothing too much trouble, staff all friendly and approachable. Rooms in the old house of course have the advantage of period features. Slight demerit is that the restaurant lacks atmosphere and the food is average. Breakfast choice is limited and surprisingly the coffee poor. Restaurant closed on Sunday night The hotel is only 15-20 minutes
walk to the Ponte Vecchio which is the gateway to a compact city. Public transport is easy buses are quick, clean and on time - a single journey costs €1.20 (don't forget to stamp your ticket once on board!). I am going to write seperate reviews for other points of interest to a visitor but must here recommend i'Mangiarino in Via dello Studio it's authentic, excellent value and does great food

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CheekieChappyDW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, Bc
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2011

We were booked into this hotel after the hotel we had booked and paid for decided to close its doors. With only a few days in Florence we were willing to take a chance; it proved to be a good decision.

The location is a bit of a distance from downtown and all the major sites but the bus runs very close by and we quickly learned to jump on and save the shoe leather. Catching the bus in the other direction enabled us to easily get to Piazza Michelangelo for some great views and photo ops.

We found the room quite adequate with a very nicely appointed bathroom with a shower that worked as expected (not always the case were were to find out later in our trip). Like most Italian hotels the A/C was marginal but it was adequate to allow us to sleep at night if we remembered to put it on as soon as we arrived back in the room.

The bed was comfy and the linens were good. The area is mostly residential and was very quiet at night which allowed us to open the window and enjoy some cool morning fresh air.

The breakfast was one of the best we would have at our Italy hotel stays. There were croissants and other pastries as one would expect but there were also cold meats, fruit and yogourt. It was also nice to be able to have a few cups of the wonderful cappuccino to get the evinrude cranking for the day!

The desk staff was very helpful and provided good advice when we asked for help. They sold bus tickets and knew which bus route numbers would get us where we needed to go.

I would recommend this as good value for money and a good compromise between seclusion for needed quiet and reasonable accessibility to the usual suspect sites in the downtown core.

Room Tip: Stay in the main building as we have heard the back building's rooms are not as nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tmurrayis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2011

The room is so quite and romantic!! To town, just walking distance, we spent about 20 mins walking from the hotel, there are many attactions and shops you can see and visit on the way to city centre. Most importantly, the hotel is located in one of the best areas in Florence I reckon!! it's surrounded by green! Lot of choices for buffet breakfast. Overall it's the best hotel we've ever stayed for our three weeks trip in Europe!!

Room Tip: Just let them know what you want when you are making the booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nicole Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2011

I really enjoyed staying in Florence. It is such a wonderful place. The hotel is great, perfect location and a really good staff.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elettra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amherst, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2011

just an ok place. asked for a quiet room but did not get one. had a hard time watching the stray cats hanging around. claimed they were fed, but i doubt it. breakfast was very good.
would not go back

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villcar, Direttore at Villa Carlotta Hotel, responded to this review, 21 May 2012
Dear Guest,
We are very sorry about what is happened during your stay, if we knew you had problems in the room we were able to change it. We are very appreciated for the quiet, especially because we are in a green area just few minutes from the city center.
we hope to see you again in Florence,

Best Regards

Antonio Venturini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2011

I originally selected to stay at the Villa Carlotta Hotel because it had free parking (my husband and I rented a car for a few days) but we became fond of it for its location. At first blush it seems a little remote from most of the Florence attractions but it's actually not more than a 15-20 minute walk from everything, and we really liked walking back down the antiques-store-lined streets back to the neighborhood, which has a great pizzeria and gelateria nearby as well. After staying in a hotel in Rome where your choice was either fresh air or quiet (thanks to a location right above a noisy street), we really cherished the peace and quiet of Hotel Villa Carlotta.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KlarZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Villa Belvedere - Florence
#199 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Classic Hotel
#226 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Principe Hotel
Principe Hotel
#205 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Palace Hotel
#158 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
Hotel Della Robbia
#202 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Golf
Hotel Golf
#253 of 421 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Carlotta Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Carlotta Hotel

Property: Villa Carlotta Hotel
Address: Via Michele di Lando 3, 50125, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#107 Luxury Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Carlotta Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Carlotta is a romantic 19th century patrician manor, situated in the wooded residential area around Porta Romana, at the foot of Piazzale Michelangelo, and within walking distance to the Pitti Palace and the Ponte Vecchio. A brief stroll along some of the characteristic streets of Renaissance Florence or, if you prefer, through the famed Boboli Gardens of the Pitti Palace ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Villa Carlotta Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Carlotta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing