We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel and great staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Berchielli

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Berchielli
Ranked #46 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great hotel and great staff”
Reviewed 18 January 2012

Hotel is perfectly located on the Arno river near the Ponte Vecchio Bridge. Rooms are spacious and nicely furnished. Staff is exceptional. The manager, Massimo Fraus, demonstrates a true interest in his guests and their comfort--willing to go the extra mile. This attitude extends to all of the staff. My wife and I highly recommend this hotel and look forward to returning.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view--worth extra money
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Boots S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,452 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    888
    479
    58
    16
    11
See reviews for
293
787
69
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
perth
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Berchielli for 4 nights, including New Years Eve. We had booked a deluxe river view room, and what a view! Room was very clean, and spacious. Staff were very helpful and polite, without being intrusive. Breakfast was included in the price, very large selection, great quality. Hotel is so close to everything, and there are some fantastic restaurants just behind the hotel in Via Terme. Would highly recommend, and would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Pay the extra and get a deluxe river view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank PerthTraveller_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deltaville, Virginia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2012

Location, location, location. This hotel has it. Just steps from the Arno River and the Ponte Vecchio bridge, and so close to everything. Our room, located on the inside of hotel overlooking the side alley, was spacious and comfortable, with a large balcony - every direction provided picturesque window boxes and shuttered Tuscan windows. Bathroom was also spacious and appears to have been newly renovated. Bed was quite firm, too firm for our liking, but as we traveled through Italy we realized this was the norm. The only negative we can think of, is the the walls are thin. At times it felt like our neighbors were in our room - even during normal conversation. Other than that, everything was great.

Front desk staff was very helpful and friendly. Any request we had was responded to immediately. Guiseppe the bellman was great! Always had smile on his face and asking how are stay was going. The breakfast at Hotel Berchielli was our favorite of all the hotels we stayed in during this trip. Quite elaborate with an excellent variety, and it was the little things like chocolate drizzled custom designs on top of our cappuccino froth that made it extra special. We definitely plan to stay here again on our next visit to Florence!

Other hotels we stayed in during this trip: Palazzo Ravizzo in Siena, and Hotel Diocleziano in Rome.

Room Tip: Request a room overlooking the Arno River, costs a bit more but worth it I'm sure. Our stay was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank islandgirl59j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanslope, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2012

We visited Florence mid October 2011 and, as usual, consulted trip advisor to help select our accommodation. Whilst it took us a while (and a noisy traipse across the city with our trolley suitcase) to get to the hotel, we were blown away with the location so close to Ponte Vecchio, and the Uffizi.
Some elements of the hotel felt a bit old fashioned (the many lamps took us a while to figure out) but overall it was very clean and comfortable with great sized rooms. We had a couple of drinks at the bar and found the staff friendly, and both enjoyed seeing what pattern would be on the top of our cappuccinos at breakfast.
The concierge got us tickets for the Uffizi for entry just a couple of hours after we asked too - very helpful.
We had a few issues with travel adaptors and some very strange sockets, but managed to remedy with a trip to the supermarket so probably just a lack of research on our part. The hotel is obviously made up of a few buildings and initially we found it a bit maze like to get to and from our room...
A great and comfortable base to explore the many sights Florence has to offer - whilst remaining surprisingly quiet.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank trishm79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niclor08, Direttore at Hotel Berchielli, responded to this review, 10 January 2012
Dear Customer,
we wish to thank you for the nice review.
Our electric sockets are standard italian therefore clients will need adapters to serve this purpose.
At the front desk we provide the main international adapters on request.
Accept our best regards.
Massimo Fraus – Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2012

We stayed at Hotel Berchielli last week for three days. The hotel is next to the Arno river, and has rooms that face the river which is Euro 90 dollars more compared with the other rooms. We did not stay at the room facing the river, but our room is nice because It has a spacious balcony. The bathroom has been remodeled and we like the color of tile very much. The breakfast serves start from 7 to 11, and the selection is pretty good. Various of pantry, juice, and the coffee we got has chocolate decoration!! The staff is professional, but they are not as friendly as the staff we met in Rome. They will do what you ask for, i.e. reserve restaurants, dry clean, reserve guide tours, however, they make you feel as if you are in a business trip.
Overall, I still recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2011

I always use tripadvisor as my bench mark and I am extremely disappointed that on this occasion I was let down. Although the location is superb, I had a dingy old room in the back of the hotel. It is exceptionally noisy, there is no natural light as it overlooks an alleyway and their is no extractor fan in the bathroom. Room was extremely old and in desperate need of a re-vamp. So all I can say, is if you are staying here, make sure you get a room with a view as clearly my experience was awful in comparison to the rave reviews

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Claudia748
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niclor08, Direttore at Hotel Berchielli, responded to this review, 2 January 2012
Dear Mrs. Claudia E.,
we are sorry that you did not like your room on the 4th floor.
We wish to describe the room:
double single use on the 4th floor facing the side street with natural light coming from 2 windows being 115x85 cm and 53x85cm wide.
Room measures: 15 sqm.
All of our our 76 rooms have extractor fans with no exceptions.
All of our bathrooms have been renewed in the last 2 years using top quality tiles from a named designer.
That room is very comforatble for 1 person and we sell it almost daily.
Kind regards.
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benson, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2011

My wife and I visited Florence in late September 2011. Our room in the hotel had two balconies overlooking the Arno River. If we looked one way we saw the Ponte Vecchio and the other way was the Michaelangelo bridge. At sunset we sat with a glass of wine and listened to live music from the ponte vecchio and the conversations of the people walking on the streets below. With the doors shut you could hear nothing. In the morning our server drew a flower in my wife's capucino and a turtle in mine. It only enhanced what we saw in Florence from the Pitti palace and gardens to a Sunday competition of marching bands made up of people of all ages.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kidelmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Uffizi
Hotel Degli Orafi
Hotel Degli Orafi
#33 of 421 in Florence
1,451 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Alessandra
Hotel Alessandra
#34 of 421 in Florence
1,696 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#10 of 421 in Florence
3,418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uffizi
Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni
Duomo
NH Collection Firenze Porta Rossa
Uffizi
Continentale
Continentale
#45 of 421 in Florence
811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Berchielli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Berchielli

Property: Hotel Berchielli
Address: Lungarno Acciaiuoli 14, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Uffizi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#30 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#33 Family Hotel in Florence
#33 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#54 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Berchielli 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Six-story Art Nouveau Hotel situated downtown between Old Bridge & Holy Trinity Bridge, 800 meters from train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity.ca, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Berchielli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berchielli Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing