We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“relaxing atmosphere” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Berchielli

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Berchielli
Ranked #48 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Didcot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“relaxing atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

We had a lovely bedroom overlooking the Arno but it was a bit noisy when the windows were open because of the traffic and people going past - not the hotel's fault. The bathroom was gorgeous and the maid noticed we needed an extra pillow and got one for us without our needing to ask. Lovely touches such as English and American newspapers to read every day. The staff were all friendly and helpful, the breakfasts were great and I could have spent many more hours in the hotel itslef just relaxing. It was a wrench to leave.

Room Tip: expect mosquitoes from the arno side
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gail Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,431 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    873
    473
    58
    16
    11
See reviews for
289
775
68
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (323)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

In addition to its almost perfect location, this hotel offered us a large, comfortable room and a staff ready to help with any request. The lovely breakfast room is open until 10:30 a.m. and provides a generous and varied selection of food designed to please their international visitors. The small bar was a pleasant place for a drink and snack. The hotel is very clean and well maintained. The elevators are small so there may be a wait at times. Overall this was one of the best hotel experiences we've had during our travels in Europe.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the street are quieter but may have less light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rcfet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niclor08, Direttore at Hotel Berchielli, responded to this review, 14 April 2012
Dear Customer,
we wish to express our sincere thanks for the very nice review.
We take the opportunity to mention that the opening times of the breakfast room are from 7 to 11 am.
Kind regards.
Massimo Fraus - Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
93 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

This is a classy, well kept hotel. The real highlight is its amazing location. The rooms at the front of the hotel overlook the River Arno and the Ponte Vecchio. The Ponte Vecchio is about.... oh.... 20 seconds walk from the riverside entrance to the hotel!

This is a 4 star hotel, meaning that it has good facilities. Free safe in each room, hairdryer, fresh towels each day, good supply of Etro toiletries, digital/satellite flat screen TV, air conditioning, and mini bar all provided. The double bed was very large and really comfortable. The bathroom had a somewhat small bath compared to those in the UK (usual in both Spain and Italy), powerful hot shower, sink, loo and bidet.

The conceirge service is very helpful; they will recommend restaurants, pizza establishments, give general advice and book your taxi when you need to leave.

The breakfast, as mentioned by other reviewers, is served on the 2nd floor. It is a good spread. Ask nicely for a cappucino and you will be pleasantly surprised by the lovely designs drawn in chocolate syrup on the top of the froth.

The roof terrace on the 4th floor merits a mention. At the time of year we visited, it didn't really get the afternoon sun, but that will change as the months go by. I am sure it will make a wonderful place to relax with a glass of wine after a hard day's sightseeing!

The hotel itself has decor celebrating le Fin de Siecle (the last one - 1899 to 1901!), which lends a stylish feel. Everything is clean and immaculately kept.

Internet access via the communal computer is a little slow. This is my only quibble. But when I go on holiday it isn't imperative to email people or upload photos, so this really is a small issue. Tiny, in fact.

We booked through British Airways and got a combined flight and hotel deal. Frankly, we can't believe how much we lucked out. This is a GREAT hotel, which I heartily recommend.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonTravelbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, England
Level Contributor
78 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

A good location, a nice ambience and a friendly and efficient service.
We opted for rooms with views over the Arno, presented with a flourish of opening shutters by the very friendly doorman. A knockout for our American friends. Just bear in mind that there's a road below and so you will become part of the buzz (literally) of this remarkable city. But you're a couple of minutes' walk to the Ponte Vecchio and there's a myriad of small alleys to nip down to avoid the crush of getting to the main sites/sights. The rear of the hotel looks onto a quiet piazza where the church opposite held a candlelit vigil the night before Good Friday - you're serenaded by the (not-too-loud) bells, the rooftop garden is a small oasis of calm and the locals gather for a Florentine catch-up on the news. So a hotel in a community.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view onto the Arno will include the noise from the road outside - but take this as part...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank headingtonroadrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

We stayed here for our 2 year wedding anniversary. My husband has pre ordered some surprises along the way and had been able to so fairly easily.

The location is right by the ponte vecchio and is central to all the little shops and restaurants in the heart of Florence.

Service was great and the room was clean and a good size. The bathroom was large and spacious and the view from the room was of the little square below us which was beautiful.

If we go back to Florence - we will stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnchieC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahsahka, Idaho
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

This hotel is worth 5 stars. The staff is friendly and very willing to help. The room was beautiful. The breakfast buffet was amazing. The location is perfect, right along the river. We will stay here again.

Room Tip: Florence has mosquitoes, don't open your windows at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Harley2007_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
242 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

Booked a hotels.com package as we needed 2 rooms for our family of five; was more than we hoped to spend. Stayed there this past week for 3 nights, rooms 302 & 304 (not connecting). 304 had a king view with great views of the Arno, and if forehead pressed to window, can see Porte Vecchio. Was very easy walk to all main attractions, and easy for our teenager to find on his own. Also, easy access to restuarants on other side of Arno. Breakfast a little better than most Eur hotels...had scrambled eggs in addition to meats, fruits, cheeses, and breads. Could not get VPN to work over the hotel WiFi (wasn't a problem rest of trip at other hotels). PC/Internet terminal in lobby was very dated and slow.

Room Tip: 305 & 304 have views of Arno, 303, 302 have views of a wall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pmmnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Hotel Degli Orafi
#31 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,438 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Alessandra
Hotel Alessandra
#35 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,684 reviews
Uffizi
Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#9 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,398 reviews
Uffizi
NH Collection Firenze Porta Rossa
Uffizi
Continentale
Continentale
#44 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Berchielli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Berchielli

Property: Hotel Berchielli
Address: Lungarno Acciaiuoli 14, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Uffizi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#30 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#32 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#33 Family Hotel in Florence
#54 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Berchielli 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Six-story Art Nouveau Hotel situated downtown between Old Bridge & Holy Trinity Bridge, 800 meters from train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Berchielli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berchielli Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing