We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Each year a week at the Minerva!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel Minerva

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Grand Hotel Minerva
Ranked #53 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Each year a week at the Minerva!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

We have stayed for a week several years in a row in this marvellous hotel,
offering their guests a unique blend of professional handling and kind, personal treatment.
Returning is like meeting old friends. And, as so many others have observed:
rooms, breakfast, terrace, pool and the central situation are of highest quality.
Not to speak of the spectacular view from fthe front windows. Dreamlike!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ConsonStockholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,810 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,025
    570
    138
    51
    26
See reviews for
511
745
68
143
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

This hotel is very conveniently located near the Santa Maria Novella train station and only a ten minute walk to the Duomo, and other Florence sites. The front desk staff is very friendly and also helpful. The rooms are nice and our rooms overlooked the Piazza Santa Maria Novella. The only problem, and a major one, was that the Piazza is noisy all night long, and we never had a restful night's sleep in five nights! One night we awoke at 5:30 to the sounds and smells of a sewer cleaner outside the hotel!! Never in 40 years of travel have we ever encountered anything as disgusting. Our room smelled like an open sewer. Other nights, there were groups of people in the Piazza, outside our room, drinking and carrying on until 3:00 a.m. We finally called the front desk and asked them to call the police, which they replied, "We did once this evening, and will call again!!"

Room Tip: Stay in a room not on the Piazza or choose a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Teresa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FilippoBurroni, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Minerva, responded to this review, 4 April 2012
Dear Guests,
Thank you for choosing our property for your stay in Florence. I am very sorry to apprehend your nights at our hotel have been so troubled and would like you to accept my apologies for what has occurred, which I would say is the result of a chain of very unfortunate and unusual events.
Our property faces one of the most beautiful squares of Florence which attracts many locals and tourists and is as lively as any Italian or Mediterranean urban open space. This said, it is true that for some consequent days in March a group of young persons has been gathering until late in the night and being very noisy, behaving in an extremely rude way. For what it seems it was a student's group (for sure not staying with us and almost certainly not in one of our neighboring hotels - which as far as I know do not accept young student's groups) who had exchanged the Square of Piazza Santa Maria Novella as their playground. On our side we have repeatedly called the police for immediate action (although I cannot declare myself fully satisfied on the result of said action) and subsequently we have contacted the local authorities to solicitate a stricter surveillance of the area. To my record no similar episodes have occurred again since then.
Regarding the sewage smell, you are perfectly right. There has been an emergency situation which needed urgent action and this was performed at a very uncomfortable time.
Let me finally thank you for your appreciation of our staff's work: we are investing lots of efforts and resources on this front and it is my greatest pleasure to see that we are achieving some good results.
I sincerely would like you to consider us again for a future stay in Florence because I am confident that such a combination of inconveniences will not repeat. I would truly be happy to be directly contacted in order to arrange your stay in the best possible way.

Filippo Burroni,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

I spent 5 nights at the Grand Hotel Minerva while attending a convention. It is well located within easy walking distance of the train station, convention centre and the shops! It overlooks the Piazza in front of the Santa Maria Novella church and this area empties out at night and with the shutters closed the room becomes well insulated from any outside noise or light. I booked a Superior room and ended up with a spacious bedroom with separate walk-in wardrobe and marble bathroom overlooking the square. The room was modern and comfortable and the beds guaranteed a good nights sleep. The hotel has a special policy of looking after female travellers and the staff couldn't have been more helpful. Breakfast was excellent and room service was quick and efficient. The free WiFi was appreciated. Being spring, the pool was closed but the views from the rooftop area were amazing. Even the view from the rooms over the rooftops to the Duomo was good. I have been to Florence several times but this is the best hotel I have found so far that is well situated for the convention centre. I will be back.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnaChristchurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Grand Hotel Minerva for 2 nights in March and it was great. The location was fantastic - right in the Santa Maria Novella piazza, which was really nice and very convenient. Our room was great - it was very private and removed from the others and there was a rooftop patio adjacent to our room with awesome views of the Tuscan mountains (same view from our room). The room was very clean, spacious and nicely decorated. I would definitely return to this hotel the next time we are in Florence.

Room Tip: We had room 400 -- it was a great room. But it appeared that the others on our floor were also very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NLSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

Stayed for four nights in February after visiting the Venice Carnival. Very nice, comfortable, clean hotel. Staff very friendly and helpful. Excellent breakfast choice. Bed linen and towels changed every day. Wonderful views from the roof especially at night. Rooftop pool and lounging area looked really nice but obviously pool not open till later in the year. Very central for all the tourist areas and only five minute walk from the train station.

Room Tip: We were above the breakfast room over looking the inner garden and was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 11EmJaysee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
153 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

There are no 5 star hotels apparently in Florence and the Minerva came up well when making a choice.
All in all of which more later we were disappointed and couldn't really find how it claimed to be 4 star although I know European ratings are somewhat different to ours.
Location was admirable within easy walking distance of main sights, rooftop terrace was undergoing some form of maintenance, but the views were magnificent and it would be perfect for hot summer evenings.
Lobby staff were friendly, but we were very let down by the room, very sparse with poor quality furnishings, and only a few of the small toiletries were available.
Air/con. was unavailable at this time of year subsequently we had to sleep with windows open which led to a very disturbed night as the square is busy and noisy till all hours plus there is an emergency ambulance station next door to the hotel and sirens were going all hours of the night.
Breakfast was good with a varied selection to suit all tastes.

Room Tip: Opt for rear of hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank efembe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FilippoBurroni, General Manager at Grand Hotel Minerva, responded to this review, 13 March 2012
Dear Guests,
let me first of all thank you for having chosen our hotel for your stay in Florence and let me add that I am very sorry we did not manage to fully meet your expectations. I would like to go into some more detail and answer your points one by one.

1. Florence boasts some of the best five star hotels in Italy, some of them affiliated to the most internationally reknown chains, such as a freshly inaugurated Four Seasons and an even more recently renovated St. Regis. I sincerely doubt that all of them were full in March, being middle not to say low season in town.
2. Our belonging to 4 star rated hotels is not a self proclamation: it is an appointment achieved matching with precise quality standards which are both established by Italian law regulations and recognized by several international organizations. We can boast a list of long term partners ammong which are several worldwide tour operators and multinational corporations.
3. As to the room furnishing I am sorry it did not match your taste. Guests expecting antique or "antique-style" wardrobes and rich tapestry will be disappointed by our contemporary style which emphazises brightness and outside views and is blessed by natural light (in case you would like antique furniture and a nineteenth Century decorated room with frescoed ceiling you can still request our Presidential Suite, which has been kept as a memory of the hotel opening around 160 years ago with antique furniture and decorations) .
4. In March temperatures at night in Florence drop quite often below zero Celsius (32F) and we keep the heating on. From your room you can regulate or appease the heating but unfortunatley not turn it into cool air.
5. I try to sleep at the hotel I manage at least once a month but I would not confirm that sirens are regularly going at all hours during the nights. Actually ambulance drivers are normally very cautios in actioning sirens once they are out of the square (which is pedestrianized) and already into traffic and thus far away from the hotel. Nevertheless it is still a possibility that a specific night has been particularly troubled and I would like you to accept my apologies for your disturbed sleep.
6. Thank you for your praise of the friendliness of our staff and the quality of our breakfast: we are investing a lot of efforts on these two aspects of our business and it is a great satisfaction to read appraciation from our guests.

I truly hope you will consider the Grand Hotel Minerva for a future stay in Florence and remain at you full disposal for any further clarification you may need.

Filippo Burroni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
#31 of 422 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,553 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel L'Orologio
Hotel L'Orologio
#41 of 422 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,232 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Rivoli
Hotel Rivoli
#64 of 422 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#19 of 422 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,580 reviews
San Lorenzo
Firenze Number Nine Wellness Hotel
Santa Maria Novella
JK Place Firenze
JK Place Firenze
#25 of 422 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Minerva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Minerva

Property: Grand Hotel Minerva
Address: Piazza Santa Maria Novella 16, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#39 Family Hotel in Florence
#47 Business Hotel in Florence
#61 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Minerva 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel Minerva, renovated in 2015, is a 4-star superior hotel in the heart of Florence's historic center in its illustrious Piazza Santa Maria Novella, which is close to the main railway station. Florence's key tourist attractions are all just five or ten minutes' walk from us as well as the Congress and Fair Center. The hotel boasts 102 rooms, suites and family solutions and a breathtaking rooftop terrace (open all year round) with an open-air swimming pool (open from May to September). It also offers a restaurant with its "al fresco" extension on the Piazza and five meeting rooms with day light. High speed wi-fi is free in all common areas and rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Grand Hotel Minerva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing