We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A cold February in Florence”
Review of Hotel Rex

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Rex
Ranked #343 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Reviewed 15 February 2012

Stayed at the Hotel Rex feb 2012, location was excellent 10 minute walk from everything. Staff friendly and polite, Hotel clean and Breakfast ok, basis continental. Rooms very much on the compact side however clean and warm. For a short stay it was excellent value for money. There are also 3 very good restaurants in the same road. Would certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davy_gang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (375)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

90 - 96 of 375 reviews

Reviewed 18 January 2012

The location is perfect: few minutes walk from Santa Maria Novella station and the center of the city. Clean and large enough room and bathroom even if some tiles were broken. Breakfast included was good enough: could be better if served with a "smile" on the face of the waitress.
WiFi connection was free but available just in the lobby.
The price was really good.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paolotdr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Hotel Rex was very centrally located. You can walk to the duomo in about 10 minutes. The hotel was very clean and the staff was friendly. The room was very nice. Bed was super comfortable. GOod water pressure in the shower and lots of hot water! We had some trouble with the toilet not wanting to flush but we eventually got the hang of our quirky bathroom. All in all I would recommend this hotel. Comfortable and great price!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deborah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2011

We had a very good stay at the Hotel Rex. The location was great. Good breakfast. The staff was very helpful and responsive to requests.

We were four in a quad which was a bit small but we managed.

I would rate it a good overall value and would recommend it.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2011

The hotel was clean and staff extremely helpful and friendly. Location was a great plus. Not a bad place at all to stay while visiting Florence. I would certainly this for the price also. The breakfast was a bit scarce and could use some improvement. Overall, I would recommend the Hotel Rex.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank droony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sangiorgio, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Rex, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2011

Dear sirs,
we thank you very much for your nice review.

You will be always welcome in our Hotels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2011

Good location. Friendly staff. Clean. Decent breakfast. Decent value. Stayed there July 2009.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ccocco58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2011

We always stay at the Rex when we are in Florence because it is right where it's at, in the middle of the city, in a street that is the "real" Florence with wonderful authentic restaurants and friendly Florentine people. Michelangelo's masterpieces are just round the corner and so is the fantastic food market. The hotel isn't plastic or bland but has the imprint of time which gives it its unique character. Some of the negative reviews stem from people who like alll hotels to be the same I suspect. It may not be the swishest place in town but when you stay here, you know you are in Florence.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Colin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
San Giorgio e Olimpic
San Giorgio e Olimpic
#252 of 411 in Florence
668 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Caravaggio
Hotel Caravaggio
#112 of 411 in Florence
818 reviews
San Lorenzo
Martelli Hotel
Martelli Hotel
#308 of 411 in Florence
614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Croce
Hotel Il Poeta Dante
Hotel Il Poeta Dante
#184 of 411 in Florence
317 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Romagna
Hotel Romagna
#233 of 411 in Florence
411 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel City
Hotel City
#58 of 411 in Florence
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rex

Address: Via Faenza 6, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #343 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Price Range: $81 - $249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rex 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned & managed with modern ensuite facilities; located 200 meters from Santa Maria Novella Rail Station; near the Duomo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Rex reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rex Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing