We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for money”
Review of Il Guelfo Bianco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Il Guelfo Bianco
Ranked #26 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 February 2012

This is a three star hotel with five star service. Every member of the team understand what service excellence is - and they deliver it consistently. We stayed with friends in three rooms - each was spotlessly clean, had individual charm and character and remained wonderfully warm during the -4 degrees weekend.

Having read some of the poor comments, I can't help thinking that people forget this building is over 500 years old. We did not experience anything not working - but even if we had, the beauty and character of the rooms and the charm of the hotel and its staff would more than compensate.

If you've never been to Florence before and want to be looked after in beautiful surroundings just a one minute walk from the Doumo - I recommend this hotel as excellent value.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andre F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,406)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,196 - 1,202 of 2,406 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2012

stayed here last summer (2011). the staff is very helpful - they also book the museums so you can skip the lines. location is very central - everything is a short walk away including the train station. will stay again :)

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maverick1611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2012

After our BA flight home was cancelled we called into Il Guelfo Bianco to see if they could help us with an unexpected night's accommodation. We had been staying in a very sleek, contemporary apartment which had glorious views of the Duomo but was bitterly cold (the external temps were an unprecedented -10 at least) and we needed somewhere warm.
We'd read the TA reviews and looked up the prices on line but wanted to check for ourselves there would be some warmth on offer.
The young man on reception was very friendly and offered two rooms (101 and 103) at a special rate including breakfast and gave us the room keys so we could see them before committing ourselves. The rooms are hugely characterful with wonderful historic features and masses of space. On returning to Reception the customer service of the hotel was further enhanced. I (cheekily) asked if we could check in early as we had to leave the apartment at 11am and this was readily agreed to.
I've only given an overall rating of 4 stars as although the rooms were warm enough and breakfast good, there was very limited hot water and our friends had problems opening the external shutters. Perhaps we should have enquired at Reception about these issues but I didn't want to be a pest.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to Florence and would happily stay again.

Room Tip: Try to get a larger de-luxe room if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patpgr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GUELFOMANAGER, Manager at Il Guelfo Bianco, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2012

Dear Patpgr,

I really thank you for your review and we are happy you like our rooms and thanks also for the nice words you had for our staff. We try to do our best to offer a pleasant and enjoyable stay to our customers and when they do appreciate our jobs it'a a great deal for us :-)

Regarding the hot waters we checked immediately when you advcie us but during those days it was really freezy in Florence( (it looked to be in Siberia in not in Florence! Usually our winter are never so cold!) and we had some problems with water pressure because the pressure of the boiler was slower due to the gas pressure all around the tow. Luckly we were able to solve the problem as soon as the technician arrive here and adjust the boiler's electronic control .

Regarding the windows our hotel is housed in two late 15th century buildings with large and antique windows but usually it' s very easy to open them. You shoud never be afraid to ask help at our front desk if you have problems. We are always happy to help our customers.

Hoping for meeting you again in the future, I remain with my best regards. and Thansk again to all the people who write about us. we love you :-)

Antonella Rocchini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2012

We stayed for three nights, and it was wonderful. So glad I did my research on tripadvisor, and booked a stay here. Breakfast was so good and fresh, macchiato's superb, and I had a terrific lunch in the cafe as well. Home cooked duck and potatoes. Room 118 was great. Location is the best, much better to be here than near the river! You can easily walk to and from train station.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heyyouPittsboro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2012

This is a wonderfully quaint, CLEAN, safe, wonderfully located hotel in Florence. I actually stayed in two different rooms because I returned to Florence after 8 or so days away. The staff is wonderful. They are cheerful, helpful and appreciative. Hotel Il Gruelfo Bianco is stuffed with antiques and wonderful architecture as well as interesting art throughout the hotel. The hotel stay includes a great breakfast. The hotel also offers a great little bistro for a cappuccino or even a great daily prepared meal. Hotel Il Guelfo Bianco is located a few blocks from the Duomo and there are some great trattorias and restaurants all around. I have already recommended the hotel to friends and I will continue to do so. The staff tries hard to make your stay wonderful and for my family, they did a GREAT job. If you go to Florence, check out this hotel.
George N. Miller

Room Tip: Ask the staff for their suggestions for you and your companions because they will tailor the hotel t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank georgenmiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2012

The hotel is very central and with lovely detail in the room- it felt special. No noise from the street when windows are closed- we stayed in the street facing room and my other half is a light sleeper. The breakfast was good and fresh. The only minus for me was that I found beds and pillows a bit hard and uncomfortable. However, the staff very friendly and let me try other beds in other rooms and I got used to beds by second night. I will choose the hotel again if I ever went to Florence. We chose this hotel based on triadvisor reviews and were not disppointed.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Still_Searching
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2012

We stayed in January 2012 and had a great experience. Staff was always extremely helpful and helped to make our stay very comfortable. The view from the window to the garden was like something you see in the movies. Within walking distance to all the things you will want to see when you are in Florence (We only took a Taxi to the hotel and then to the airport). Free breakfast was great along. I would recommend staying at this hotel if you plan to visit Florence.

Room Tip: Ask for the view of the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Marco
Hotel Orto De Medici
Hotel Orto De Medici
#39 of 411 in Florence
2,244 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Perseo
Hotel Perseo
#42 of 411 in Florence
1,867 reviews
Hotel David
#1 of 411 in Florence
3,339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#12 of 411 in Florence
3,575 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Loggiato dei Serviti
Hotel Loggiato dei Serviti
#81 of 411 in Florence
1,197 reviews
Orcagna Hotel
#41 of 411 in Florence
848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Guelfo Bianco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Guelfo Bianco

Address: Via Camillo Cavour 29, 50129, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Florence
#18 Business Hotel in Florence
#25 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range: $128 - $299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Il Guelfo Bianco 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is right in the city center, between Piazza Duomo and Piazza San Marco , few steps away from Accademia (the museum where you can see the famous DAVID by Michelangelo). It's housed in two late 15th century building next each other. All rooms are different in size and position - executive rooms have a standard size - superior rooms are larger - de luxe and junior suite are very large with a sitting area. We have rooms overlooking the courtyard, gardens and several rooms overlooking Via Cavour which is the main street but 70% pedestrian and so it's not too noisy. All rooms have triple glasses and double windows. WI/FI available in all the rooms and the drawing rooms and it's free of charge if you have your own laptop or i-phone or i-pad. Bistrot restaurant next door "IL DESCO" open every day (12 till 10,30 pm but on Sunday it closes at 3,00 pm) with good menu' all day long (many organic products directly by the owner's farm. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Il Guelfo Bianco Florence
Il Guelfo Bianco Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing