We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a gem!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Il Guelfo Bianco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Il Guelfo Bianco
Ranked #28 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
“a gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2012

Our family of 4 spent 6 nights here in May 2012. The room was beautiful, clean and spacious and had a very nice large bath. We looked forward to the breakfast every morning as it was delicious, and extremely fresh. We also loved the welcome drink and 'snack'[mini meal really] at the bistro. The courtyards are lovely and offer a nice quiet location. As they say LOCATION!LOCATION!LOCATION! The hotel is perfectly located so that you can walk everywhere, the Duomo, the Accademia, the central market are minutes away and even Ponte Vecchio is only 15 minutes away. All the staff was friendly and helpful and in particular Dario and Daniel at the front desk. They made great restaurant recommendations and and were helpful with museum and tour reservations. We all want to return both to Florence and Il Guelfo Bianco.

Room Tip: If anyone in your party has mobility issues, be aware that even though the hotel has an elevator you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lmaemel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,198 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,608
    490
    81
    15
    4
See reviews for
538
1,102
77
123
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
55 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2012

this hotel has a lot of good things going for it: good location (only 5 mins from the duomo), cleanliness, unique architecture and charm, good breakfast!

we found it very convenient to get to most places we wanted to visit in florence from the hotel. not only that there was also a mcdonalds beside the hotel, a gelateria, and even a turkish restaurant a few steps away

the hotel was very quiet and restful as well, with the unique architecture making it a very 'different' stay than the typical standard hotel room. i found it adds to the charm of the hotel and makes a vacation more memorable...

the breakfast was continental style with cold cuts, cheeses, juice, cereal, bread, and bruschetta. not a big american breakfast but it was tasty enough and very fresh or so proclaims their menu card.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chirp333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2012

What a lovely hotel! Set in the heart of Florence, only a 5 minute walk from the Duomo. The hotel is a charming mix of old and new, very well appointed. The weather was fabulous during our stay and we were delighted the air con worked so efficiently! The beds were comfortable and the junior suite we stayed in was larger than expected. Breakfast was plentiful and with a variety of meats, cheeses, breads, fruit and pastries - more than enough to keep hunger pangs at bay till long into the day!
The reception staff were indeed helpful and informative and overall ensured our stay in Florence was a pleasurable one. We look forward to returning!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WetsocksS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fontainebleau, Ile-de-France, France
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2012

Our family of 5 spent 6 nights here in April 2012. The rooms were beautiful and quiet. The breakfast was delicious, and all food is extremely fresh. We also enjoyed their bistro. The hotel is very well located and we walked everywhere. Last but not least, the staff was very friendly and helpful - ask Daniele what restaurant to go to each night, he gave us great advice! We will definitely stay here the next time we come to Florence.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank drkatrinamaxwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2012

Four of us, touring Italy, stayed 4 nights at this very well-located hotel. The staff was so helpful with advance reservations for museums, restaurant recommendations, even a suggestion for a hair salon. We had one smaller and one larger room. Both were comfortable -- not luxurious or soundproof, but very nice. Breakfast was excellent, again with very pleasant staff. We've stayed in several locations in Florence, and this was the best for both location and value. We like to recommend places where the staff seems to enjoy helping the guests, and that was certainly the case here. We'll go back!

Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank 775jan2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2012

We just spent Friday night 27 April 2012 there. The location is two blocks from the Duomo and three blocks from the Accademia, where David is located. The room was large and the A/C worked wonderful. We arrived at 11 AM and immediately was given our room. I had forgotten my coupon for cheese and sausage at 4:30 PM, no problem, they made me a new one. There is a mini bus stop down two buildings, thank god. After all the walking on Friday till 10:30 PM, Saturday with our Firenze Card, the rides are included, just show the card to the driver. The bus have routes all over Old Town, what a foot saver. We had checked out early, but the hotel kept our bags.. We came back for a late lunch in the hotel Restaurant. Sawls the chef and waiter, and host was friendly and entertaining. All the staff and Manager were outstanding. The next time were in Florence we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TerryGranade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2012

My best friend and I started off our Italian adventure in Florence and stayed at this lovely hotel after a friend had referred us to stay here. It did not disappoint! After we had our fill of the best breakfast I'd ever had in Europe, we explored the city on foot thanks to the hotel's perfect location.

The room we had was very clean and charming. The bathroom was exceptionally clean and functional. Beds were VERY comfortable!

There are many nearby restaurants and small shops to buy wine and cheese for midnight snacks. (There is even a McDonald's down the street in case of a rare french fry craving emergency)

The staff is extremely friendly and all speak some English. They were more than willing to help with travel plans, taxi services, etc. Hello Antonella!

I would absolutely stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Faye211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Rapallo
Hotel Rapallo
#26 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,816 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Casci
Hotel Casci
#34 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,587 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Alessandra
Hotel Alessandra
#35 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel David
#1 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,991 reviews
Orcagna Hotel
#31 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 741 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#9 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Guelfo Bianco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Guelfo Bianco

Property: Il Guelfo Bianco
Address: Via Camillo Cavour 29, 50129, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Florence
#18 Business Hotel in Florence
#25 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Il Guelfo Bianco 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is right in the city center, between Piazza Duomo and Piazza San Marco , few steps away from Accademia (the museum where you can see the famous DAVID by Michelangelo). It's housed in two late 15th century building next each other. All rooms are different in size and position - executive rooms have a standard size - superior rooms are larger - de luxe and junior suite are very large with a sitting area. We have rooms overlooking the courtyard, gardens and several rooms overlooking Via Cavour which is the main street but 70% pedestrian and so it's not too noisy. All rooms have triple glasses and double windows. WI/FI available in all the rooms and the drawing rooms and it's free of charge if you have your own laptop or i-phone or i-pad. Bistrot restaurant next door "IL DESCO" open every day (12 till 10,30 pm but on Sunday it closes at 3,00 pm) with good menu' all day long (many organic products directly by the owner's farm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Il Guelfo Bianco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Guelfo Bianco Florence
Il Guelfo Bianco Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing