We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, large rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
NH Firenze Anglo American
Ranked #113 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 May 2012

We stayed here for two nights at the end of April 2012. When we arrived, there was a problem in that they had mistakenly overbooked. We, along with a few other guests, had to wait about 30 minutes while the staff worked hard to resolve the situation. As we had booked our room spur of the moment the day before, we were not in the least put out by the wait. The staff was very friendly during this time, and they seemed genuinely concerned about getting us into a room, if not in their hotel, then in a sister hotel.

In the end they gave us an extremely spacious room (for European standards) in their hotel that was very clean and charming.

The location is great as it is near the train station and a couple blocks from the Arno River. A short walk away are many fantastic restaurants and shops as well as many of the famous sites, such as the Duomo and Ponte Vecchio.

Breakfast was included in the room charge and was wonderful. They offer a buffet offering cereal, pastries, yogurt, fruits, meats, cheeses, breads, and juices.

One downside is that internet access is only available at an extra daily charge. It is also not quite as charming as some of the smaller hotels we stayed at in Europe, but larger and fancier.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,323)
There are newer reviews for NH Firenze Anglo American
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

351 - 357 of 1,323 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2012

Well located, clean and good service. The breakfast was very good. It has the classic italian feeling which I loved. As all NH hotels I have stayed in, value it's a plus.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ingridpereyra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Most hotels in Italy are unwilling to invest and modernize. They hold on to old furniture and infrastructure just because it's authentic. I know many travelers love the classical Italian style, but this doesn't mean hotels don't need to invest. This hotel is a good example. The building is beautiful, but inside everything is outdated. There are no plugs to charge your gadgets, no free wifi and the furniture is old and worn. The shower curtain smells like a wet dog and the lighting in the room is insufficient to read a book at night. The elevator is small enough to give Houdini claustrophobia.
The hotel is ran by the Spanish NH chain, so they tried to update many services, yet things feel old and worn. Structural improvements could make this a great hotel.
I'm not saying its bad, but personally I would not book this hotel if it was for more than two nights.

Stayed: April 2012
Thank gluon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

A well- located hotel, in a quiet area, near the Arno. Clean room, well-appointed lobby and terrace, friendly staff - and mostly helpful. Room was quite large, and with a small upgrade received free mini bar. Laundry services and cleaning great.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roz D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

Had no issues with this hotel. More a business hotel and saw lots of airline Crew staying which I normally see as a good sign. Breakfast was good - only major grip is that you expect a 4 star hotel to have bar. There is a bar from 7pm but when you just want a quick beer after a day doing tourist stuff that was not great. Don't expect much English on the front desk either.
Our room was small but cheap so quite happy. We checked out the Market by the river which was well worth the trip.
We did ask for an ice bucket as there was no bar. Reception said they would look into it but we never saw them again. Only a minor com issue but I expect queries in a proper hotel 2 be looked into ESP. As there was no bar available and no cold drinks.
Reception staff were very varied. There was a really nasty guy with a beard. We actually had other follow guests say what a nightmare he was. Certainly not an on brand guy very rude and unhelpful. Do you have a map of the local area was just a plain no. I would sack him in my company. Thankfully there was a nicer guy who gave us maps.Sadly the restaurant he recommend was closed that day so not a great help when we walked all way.
This place is more for business people but has an okay location.
Wifi only in lobby which was a pain.
I will not visit nh again at Anglo but other hotels in the chain seem much better.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ELLIK_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michelacamillo, Direttore at NH Firenze Anglo American, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2012

“Dear All,

We are so sorry to read such a bad review.
Our hotel has a mix of clients as leisure, business, corporate, meeting and only 10 rooms of Airline Crews, but this is a value for us and not a negative point
In low season we open the bar at 6,00 p.m..
We have anyhow a free coffee corner and in each room there is the minibar service where you can find cold drinks.
What is really sad it seems that our staff at the reception weren’t very helpful and even worse someone at the desk was even unpolite.
We do care about our clients, we do every day our best to make their stay as much pleasant as possible and now we feel so disappointed in not having satisfied clients in reference.
We do apologize for the Reception attitude which is really unusual, but every client’s comment helps us to improve.

Trusting in your understanding we thank you and send you our warmest regards.”

Michela Camillo | Direttore | NH Anglo American

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2012

In general everything was fine, the bed and bathroom were good and clean. Breakfast was great and we received a good service.
The only problem for us was that the wifi connection only worked on the desk area.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Victor L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

It's walking distance to the train and good nightclubs if you want to go to Florence with a group of friends and party. The owner was really rude to one of my friends, but everyone else was nice. The breakfast was good, and the room was pretty big. Although, it's hit or miss because the other people we went with got a significantly smaller room with chipped paint on their walls for the same price. We went for new years so it was more expensive than I would usually pay for a hotel, and I can't say the price was worth it, but it's in a good area....

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank N R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
NH Firenze
NH Firenze
#93 of 411 in Florence
1,075 reviews
Duomo
NH Collection Firenze Porta Rossa
Santa Maria Novella
Starhotels Michelangelo
Starhotels Michelangelo
#130 of 411 in Florence
799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
Kraft Hotel
Kraft Hotel
#85 of 411 in Florence
489 reviews
San Lorenzo
Room Mate Luca
Room Mate Luca
#42 of 411 in Florence
1,167 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Diplomat
Hotel Diplomat
#117 of 411 in Florence
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Firenze Anglo American? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Firenze Anglo American

Address: Via Giuseppe Garibaldi 9 | Porta al Prato, Borgo Ognisanti Area, 50123, Florence, Italy (Formerly NH Anglo American)
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#71 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#115 Family Hotel in Florence
#116 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range: $138 - $368 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Firenze Anglo American 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NH Firenze Anglo American is set in a quiet yet central location in Florence, between the Lungarno area and Borgo Ognissanti. The classically-styled hotel preserves all of its unique original features and reflects a fascinating age of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with NHHotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your NH Firenze Anglo American reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Anglo American Hotel Florence
Nh Hotels Florence
Nh Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing