We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hilton Florence Metropole(Florence)(Great Value!)
US$96
US$79
Hilton
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$305
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Orcagna Hotel(Florence)(Great Value!)
US$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$164
US$128
NH Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$155/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$271
US$241
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Guest House Bel Duomo(Florence)(Great Value!)
US$71
US$65
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Savings alert! 31% below average rates

The price you found is 31% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$94/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$276
US$236
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Roma(Florence)
US$295
US$191
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$334
US$311
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$360/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Lungarno(Florence)
US$628
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,465)
Filter reviews
2,465 results
Traveller rating
1,573
715
127
28
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,573
715
127
28
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgarden roomtrain stationsan marcooverlooking the gardenclassic roomlovely hotelbreakfast roomwithin walking distancewelcome drinkfirst floorminute walkyogurtpollodeluxe roomquiet streetcentral marketaround the corner
Filter
Updating list...
1,370 - 1,375 of 2,465 reviews
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Booked through their website and asked for room 81, which I read from previous costumers was supposed to be the best room. Got an personal email respons telling me that room 81 was not available but they would make sure we got a nice room.
Upon arrival, we were allowed to check in early ( at noon) and they had made some "arrangements" which meant that we did get room 81.
A rather modern room, clean and minimalistic in style. Very nice! Confortable beds, nice shower, lots of space and our own little "garden" right outside.
They knew we were in Florence to celebrate a birthday and we were met with the nice touch of a bottle of champagne (on ice!) in the room.
Breakfast is buffetstyle, included breads, cereals, youghurt, cheese and salami, some fruit, and a make your own coffee from an espresso/capuccino machine. Which actually made very nice coffee! ( I know - hard to belive but true)
In the evening there is a bar, and happy hour between 6-8 pm. Drinks at 6 euro each. You get a free drink the first evening. And with the drinks they serve some nice complementary snack, (olives, cheese etc).
The area is nice. Short walking distance to "everything" - Florence is a rather small city. The reseption has two mac computers for you to enjoy. Free wifi in the rooms, worked a bit on and off.
Very pleased with the reseption staff. Extremely helpfull and nice.
Would definetly recomend the hotel and will return!
Do not miss the resturant 200 meters away - Ristorante Accademia . (Do miss the resturant right across the street though - Ristorante Da Mimmo - not worth a visit!)

Room Tip: Room 81 - wonderful, big and clean (If you want a modern room)
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Ducati40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2011

Dear Madame,
I was so pleased to read your long review. Room 81 is a very special room, the only with private balcony and renovated "deluxe" decoration. So next time make sure you book it with enough advance because it's one of our top requested! Thanks or listing the style of the breakfast, the area description and the other facilities such as the free wi-fi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 27, 2011

We booked the hotel on expedia.de. We have lot of travel experience all over the world and I just have to say, I was very surprised by the very friendy, decent behaviour of all employees, at the desk, at the breakfast room and so on. The Hotel ist a combination of traditional italian style elements and very modern rooms, very clean also. If we would come back to florence, this hotel would be our first choice, cause price and quality fits together and we enjoyed our stay very much. Thanks.

Room Tip: We stayed in comfortable double bed room
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SRReiseBerater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2011

Dear Guest, thanks for the review! Our team is one of the features we are most proud of, and I am very glad to read you positive experience. So we will be very happy to welcome you again in the short future.
Thank you!
Francesco Bini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 27, 2011

If you will be in Florence, this is the hotel to book, if you can! The hotel is beautiful, especially for me, the garden rooms and jr suites. The staff could not be nicer or more helpful (and speak english as well). The breakfast is sumptuous and delicious, and may be eaten inside or out on the garden terrace. I love that the hotel is in close proximity to all of the sites Florence has to offer, but is a bit away from the center, so it is quiet and allows for an evening walk. We have been staying at the Hotel Orto De Medici since 2006 and have returned numerous times since our first stay. We consider it our home in Florence and wouldn't consider staying anywhere else while there. We have been back and we WILL be back! We give this an unreserved eight thumbs up (my husband and children and I)! Book here, you won't be sorry!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LJS13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 26, 2011

We selected this hotel for its location just outside of the busy, historic area and for our must-have items like A/C, breakfast, and free Wi-Fi. I had read other reviews before booking so I knew we were getting the older, non-renovated rooms for the less expensive rate. When we arrived the hotel staff were pleasant and helpful. We were early for check in but were able to get into our room. Although the room is older, it had lots of character and it was very comfortable and clean. The bed was super comfortable and supportive. I have a bad back so this is important to me! The bathroom was large and modern. The A/C and WiFi worked well. There was no street noise from outside. My only disappointment was the breakfast buffet which was limited and included breads, cereals, some fruit, and a make your own coffee from an espresso/capuccino machine. We had better breakfasts at smaller, less expensive hotels in other Italian cities. But overall, a good experience and a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: If you want a modern, new room, you must reserve a double deluxe room
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MJR1018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2011

Dear Madame, thanks for your message! Our classic room are a very convenient option for budget travellers. The decoration is more traditional, all the rest is as nice as all the other rooms of the hotel. Thank you for listing many facilities such as the A/C, the free wi-fi, the breakfast, etc. As regards the breakfast we now rethinking the service, so new features come everyday, and I would be pleased to show them to you on your next stay at Orto de' Medici.
Francesco Bini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 25, 2011

We stayed here for 4 nights in July. The hotel was nice and quiet, and the room was incredibly spacious. The only problem was the it was HOT out and our air conditioning never really kept us comfy. But that seemed to be normal everywhere in Florence.

The location is good....behind the San Lorenzo Market and close to L'Accademia. It is walkable to everything, but not in the total middle of everything.

The front desk was very helpful. The bed was comfy. The breakfast was pretty good.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IrishAli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2011

Dear Guest, thanks for the feedback. Your review is very precious to us to keep improving our service. I am pleased to read how you enjoyed the location, the service, the front desk and the breakfast. If you have any complain please never forget to tell the reception first, so we can try to solve it during your stay.
Grazie.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews