We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hilton Florence Metropole(Florence)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$98
US$81
Hilton
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$220
US$132
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 31% below average rates

The price you found is 31% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$190/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$117
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$193
US$152
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 27% below average rates

The price you found is 27% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$208/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Orcagna Hotel(Florence)(Great Value!)
US$100
US$97
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$108/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

FH Calzaiuoli Hotel(Florence)
US$215
US$167
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Plus Florence(Florence)(Great Value!)
US$115
US$100
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Guest House Bel Duomo(Florence)(Great Value!)
US$111
US$83
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$106/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Grand Hotel Minerva(Florence)
US$348
US$333
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Lungarno(Florence)
US$547
US$501
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,432)
Filter reviews
2,432 results
Traveller rating
1,553
706
124
28
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,553
706
124
28
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgarden roomtrain stationsan marcooverlooking the gardenclassic roombreakfast roomwithin walking distancelovely hotelwelcome drinkfirst floorminute walkpollojunior suitequiet streetcroissantsmajor sitescentral market
Filter
Updating list...
1,229 - 1,234 of 2,432 reviews
Reviewed April 10, 2012

Great place to stay, friendly front desk team members, accommodating breakfast service staff, centrally located, quite rooms(garden side rooms), historic building, great value and very clean…Highly recommended

Room Tip: Rooms in Garden side are quieter
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank S K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2012

I see how you totally enjoyed your experience at the Florence Hotel Orto de' Medici. Good tips for next guests, thank you!
Francesco Bini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 5, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel Orto de Medici in mid March of 2012. We really enjoyed the room, especially the nice firm bed with Frette linens and the marble bathroom with a huge bathtub. Breakfast was in a lovely, light-filled room with beautiful floral murals. Our room overlooked the courtyard and the peaceful fountain there. We loved the frescoed ceilings and the beautiful artwork all around. We found the room to be nice and quiet at night, even though the hotel was very close to all the main sights of Florence. Everything was sparkling clean, and the room was always well cared for on a daily basis, providing a peaceful, clean haven for us to rest our aching feet after walking miles around town. The staff was mostly very nice, although one of the front desk people was rather aloof. When we arrived, after 10 hours of flying, we were told rather coldly that our room wasn't ready. Apart from being told where we could park our luggage while we waited--no offer of help to take care of it--there was no effort made to compensate for our inconvenience. This, however, was the only real glitch, and it was truly a minor one, in what was otherwise a very pleasant and enjoyable stay. Another staff member was more friendly, and very helpful when we needed an adaptor, couldn't figure out how the bathtub stopper worked and when we needed a taxi back to the airport. One evening, there was an art opening in the courtyard of the hotel, and we were graciously invited to join them for a drink. All in all, I'd recommend the Hotel Orto de Medici for lovely and peaceful stay while in Florence.

Room Tip: The junior suite overlooking the courtyard was lovely and peaceful and well worth the small additional cost for the upgrade.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lstolzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for such a nice description of the room and interior of the Hotel. I would like to apologize for the inconvenience you experienced upon your arrival and just specify that check-in is around 1:30pm. However, we are glad that this inconvenience did not influence your overall judgement of the Hotel and that you enjoyed the junior suite and your stay.
Nicki Sciortino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 5, 2012

Stayed here for 3 lovely days, to celebrate my partner's birthday.
The room was spacious and spotless. Staff were very friendly and helpful - they spotted the birthday cards in our room and when we returned later, we had some free chocolates and a note from the manager wishing my partner a happy birthday.

Breakfast was good - nice selection at the buffet.

Room Tip: Go for the balcony room overlooking the garden.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rs101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback! We try and catch every detail about our clients such as a birthday just to make the stay with us and in Florence a little more special.
Nicki Sciortino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 30, 2012

First you're 10-15 mins from the centre of florence, in a nice neighbourhood. It's 15 minutes walk from the train station and where the Pisa airport shuttle bus drops you off. The road it's on it fairly quiet, so there isn't a constant sound of traffic, give that a main road is only just around the corner.
We had a superior room, with balcony which was great value for money, and incredibly spacious. The view over florence was the wrong direction, but it was nice having that bt of outside place to sit in an evening after a long day of sightseeing!

The bathroom was okay, the bath really appreciated.
A bit better sound proofing beteen rooms would have been good, we seemed to be sharing the 4th floor with people who liked to slam doors a lot.

Breakfast was the only thing which was a slight disappointment. Not a very good selection, andone of the worst "free breakfasts" i've encountered in my European travels. But even that wasn't an issue,there's a great little cafe on the corner.

Didn't experience the issues with the staff, the man who checked us in was friendly and if we had a question they were always happy to help.

We loved Florence and as a single female felt remarkably safe wandering around the town by myself, at day time and at night.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hellonophile20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review. Our Superior rooms all have views of the rooftops of Florence just in different directions. I'm sorry there were some noise problems on your floor during your stay. If clients advise us about problems with other guests in the Hotel we try our best to solve them. However, we are happy you enjoyed the balcony sitting area, you are right it is very relaxing after a long day walking. As for the breakfast, we try our best to satisfy our clients tastes by setting up a buffet breakfast that offers a wide range of food from tomatoes, hard boiled eggs and different cold cuts, to cereal, fresh fruit, different cookies and pastries like the classic Italian cornetto.

Nicki Sciortino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 26, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at the hotel for about a week. The ideal hotel should be simply a place where you can get the rest you need for another day of exploring a fantastic city. The problem is this hotel has extremly hard pillows not ideal for sleeping. I asked for softer ones although it seems they don't have any. It it wasnt for the pillows I would have given them 4 stars for the great breakfast, cute little balcony, ideal location and great bathroom.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teresa_DAnna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2012

Dear Guest,
I'm sorry to hear that our pillows weren't comfortable enough for you. However I would like to thank you for your review we try to better ourselves thanks to comments like yours. Thank you also for the compliments about the room, breakfast and location!
Nicki Sciortino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews