We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$220
US$214
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 25% below average rates

The price you found is 25% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$284/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hilton Florence Metropole(Florence)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$89
US$81
Hilton
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$193
US$152
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 33% below average rates

The price you found is 33% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$228/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

FH Calzaiuoli Hotel(Florence)
US$184
US$171
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Orcagna Hotel(Florence)(Great Value!)
US$100
US$97
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$115/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Guest House Bel Duomo(Florence)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 01/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$111
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$98/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$117
NH Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$144/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Plus Florence(Florence)(Great Value!)
US$115
US$100
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Grand Hotel Minerva(Florence)
US$342
US$333
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Lungarno(Florence)
US$527
US$496
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$551/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (2,433)
Filter reviews
2,433 results
Traveller rating
1,554
706
124
28
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,554
706
124
28
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgarden roomtrain stationsan marcooverlooking the gardenclassic roombreakfast roomwithin walking distancelovely hotelwelcome drinkfirst floorminute walkpollojunior suitequiet streetcroissantsmajor sitescentral market
Filter
Updating list...
1,207 - 1,212 of 2,433 reviews
Reviewed June 17, 2012

A three star hotel that is very conveniently-located on a quite street (Via San Gallo), close to the Duoma, Accademia and the Palazzo de Medici Riccardi. Many good restaurants are also nearby. Our 1st room was in their new wing which is far superior to the 2nd room we had to switch to when we extended our stay. The hotel is clean, a little formal and a pleasant place to stay. Most staff speak English and are helpful. Breakfasts are ample and tasty. The breakfast staff didn’t speak English but once they knew you’re eating preferences, they were very helpful and pleasant – a nice way to start a day! Their Internet support is a little behind as you can’t print anything from the 2 computers made available to guests. It can be (and was a) pain to us when we wanted to print our Florence Passes which we purchased online. We were up to 1 AM with the night desk manager trying to get the passes printed on his printer. While most of the front desk staff were helpful, it was like pulling teeth trying to get cooperation with several of them. They need to add some warmth to the front desk staff and be better prepared for guests who would like to print out their itineraries and local passes.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MP336
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2012

Dear Madame, I really thank you for your review. It is full of suggestions for improvement, so it is especially precious for us. We offer free use of Mac Computers and free Wi-Fi in all the hotel, but we cannot offer printing system so far. If you can send the pages to print to us with email attachment then we will print them for free (max 10 pages per room), otherwise we can indicate you an internet café nearby, where you can print, up to 10.00 pm, with a few coins.
Thank you very much
Francesco Bini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 16, 2012

We chose this hotel based on the great reviews but were disappointed to find our room not as expected.  Clearly the previous reviewers had not stayed in rom 3 on level 1 At check in the receptionist immediately advised us that as we were early he had several additional room choices for us. However he then went on to say these alternative rooms would cost an additional 25 euro per night. We politely declined and decided to stick with our "classic double" reservation. We were then given the key to what the receptionist described as a "nice quiet room" on the first floor.  As it turned out the room we were given is what is described on their website as a "double room for single use".  There was only one set of towels and a bit short on space for two people. The window view is of an enclosed alley, nothing pretty about it and produces very little natural light in the room . I was so so disappointed. It is my husband's first visit to Florence and we are celebrating his half century birthday. I was so looking forward to enjoying a great fiorentine hotel with him in this renaiseance city.  I spent much time reading reviews on hotels before choosing Orto de Medeci and i felt very let down. We did query the room we were given with reception as I believe we booked and paid for the higher category room but they did not agree.  They showed us a better room two levels above but they said we would have to pay extra for it.  Unfortunately this experience has made us feel quite cheated by  Orto de Medici hotel  and that's the last thing you want to feel on holiday. Leaving the room aside, the hotel has a lovely common area for breakfast and the bar area is also very pleasant. We are here Zfor three nights and tonight is our second. As I write this I am listening to music that is playing in the common areas right outside our room. So be warned that these rooms are not sound proofed as described and we were awoken bright and early this morning by the sound of people having breakfast with clanking forks and spoons etc. Not the greatest way to start our day. So based on our experience I would not recommend this hotel as it has not delivered on expectations with respect to the room at all and unfortunately that overshadows the entire experience. Sad really that our memories of Florence will forever be tainted in this way. 

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tinabert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2012

Dear Madame, I am sorry for your disappointing. When you book a room you should be careful to select the best option for your need. We have 5 different typologies, as regards the double: Classic, Classic with view, Superior, Deluxe and Junior Suite. We do not have a "double room for single use" typology: it is just a discount we offer to clients who want to use a double room even if they are single, just one person. I am also sorry for the mistake with towels, I could give you as many extra as you needed, just if you had ask. If rooms are available we offer the possibility to upgrade at last minute, with a small extra fee which is much smaller than the regular fare. Many reviews say that people usually appreciates this possibility.

We just gave you the category you booked, the pictures are quite clear on the website. I apologize if there was some confusion at the reservation form, and I will forward your complain to the internet booking system provider, to make it even more clear and simple.
I am pleased your nevertheless enjoyed some features like the common areas for breakfast and the terrace bar.
Thank you
Francesco Bini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 16, 2012

This hotel is really lovely, old world charm with great facilities. Our bedroom was large and roomy. The bathroom was a little small, good idea would be to replace bath with a shower. Reception staff, piano bar staff, breakfast room staff & housekeeping staff are all so warm, friendly & helpful. The hotel is very clean, wel maintained & has a great history. The location is perfect for sightseeing, we walked everywhere, the Duomo, Michaelangelo's David, other sights are very close to the hotel. The hotel is in a limited traffic zone, ring hotel ahead of arrival. Breakfast was included and was a nice spread.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenni03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2012

Dear Madame, your review is full of nice tips for the next guests, so I hope it will be read many times. Thanks for your suggestions!
Francesco Bini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 15, 2012

We had booked a classic room but were surprised to see that they had given us a quad room. It was more space than we needed but we were happy nonetheless. The decor and furnishings added to the Florentine ambiance. The rooms were clean and comfortable as well as the bathroom. The location is very close to many of the sights. The Accademia Gallery is only a five minutes walk from the hotel. There are restaurants, shops, and food markets nearby. Having free WiFi was very convenient and the signal was strong considering our room was at the far end of the hall. The only minor thing I would change is to remove the half-bath tub/shower and just install a regular full standing shower. The height of the tub made it difficult to step in and out. Overall, it's a great place to stay and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2012

Dear Guest, thanks for your review! You are welcome to be upgraded to larger rooms if they are available. Thanks for remarking some positive features, like the location, the free WiFi, and the decoration. Thanks also for the sugegstion about the bathroom.
Grazie!
Francesco Bini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 12, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at the hotel, we had stayed before so were excited to be returning. The hotel has been extensively renovated. The rooms were very clean, unfortunately we had an internal room which was bit dark and also noisy as it was right outside the lift. However the location of the hotel is superb and we would return and specify a different room.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victoria_Fish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2012

All the special requests are welcome, so don't hesitate to ask for a particular room. We will do our best to give what you are looking for.
Thanks for the nice review!
Francesco Bini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews