We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy Rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Orto De Medici
Ranked #40 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We arrived at the hotel from the train station in 2 taxis and, a lot of luggage. No one help us with the luggage or, offer to show us to our rooms. The elevator was small and, slow; take the stairs if you prefer the workout.

Breakfast was basic, the rooms are noisy and, dark. On the second day we returned to a dusty hallway due to the construction/upgrade next door. Our request for change of room was met with deaf ears by the staffs. Good thing about this place: good location to the D'Academia, La Specola and, a few other Florentine landmarks.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmy71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Dear jmy71,
thanks for your review. Unfortunately, when you wait too much to post a review, memories start to fade and it becomes easier to confuse the things. You selected as date of your stay June 2013, and now, 4 months later, you write that the hotel is close to the Accademia Museum (which is definitely true) and to the Specola Museum (which is wrong, it is definitely in the opposite side of the town)... I think you also confused us with another hotel, since we had no renovation undergoing in June: last renovation was in February/March 2013.

We are a 3-star hotel and we offer a lot of extra services for our category (you can read how many reviews rate us 4-star), but are not 4-starred, so do not exceed your expectations, please! For instance we do not offer a porterage service: there must be some difference if we decided to keep to be rated as 3 stars ("superior" 3-stars actually).

I am sorry if we could not meet all you requests, but it is unfair to write we made "deaf ears". June is the highest season (especially during the Fashion weeks!), so if you did not book a higher level room it can be very difficult for us to propose an upgrade or a room change. I am sure this was gently explained to you after your request, and we will keep in mind, for the future, to explain it even clearer.

Nevertheless I am glad you could take advantage of our convenient location to explore the city of Florence, historical district.

Francesco Bini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,280)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

884 - 890 of 2,280 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2013

My husband and I picked Hotel Orto De Medici based on guide books and trip advisor. When we arrived we found out there was a slight mix-up with our room. After the first night the hotel generously upgraded us to a beautiful junior suite. We stayed 5 nights, left for a few days and came back for our last night which they upgraded again to a beautiful room. The hotel staff was always friendly and helpful. They made our stay in Florence exceptional and we look forward to staying with them again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2-treat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2013

Thank you lots for the feedback. It is always a pleasure to read about a great stay. We apologize for the mix up and I'm glad we were able to make it up to you both times. Hope to see you again soon.
Ciao from Florence
Nicki Sciortino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We stayed four nights here and the location is great.
Pros:
* terrific location, close to everything.
* excellent guestroom bathrooms, which have all been remodeled
* great outdoor seating area with comfortable seating and umbrellas
* very nice powder rooms on the ground floor
* a large computer room (which we didn't use)
* a comfortable, if outdated, lounge on the first (not ground) floor
* very good breakfasts

Cons:
* if you stay here book an upgraded room, NOT the "classic" or "standard," which haven't been remodeled and are totally stark. After coming from a lovely hotel in Venice, we nearly left after seeing the "classic" room. Ugh. It eventually grew on us (nice bathroom) and at the end of the day, it was fine.
* can be *very* noisy if your room faces the street.
* some of the staff was nice, especially the young man at the front desk and some of the breakfast staff; however, the young woman who works at the front desk had zilch personality. (Again, we had just stayed at hotel where EVERYONE went out of their way to not only be accommodating but also extremely friendly, while at the same time professional.)
* no "nice" touches like fresh flowers. e.g. Instead of pens with the hotel's name, they have a box of stubby golf pencils at the front desk. Tacky.
For the price, we'd go somewhere else if we returned. That said, Florence is expensive and this is probably about average. So we *would* consider returning because of the great location but only to one of the upgraded rooms.

Room Tip: Stay in an upgraded room and you'll be fine!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelerNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Dear TravelerNorfolk,
We always appreciate feedback from our former guests. I'm sorry you were not pleased with the room type you chose to book. Please note that on our website you can always find the different categories of room types we offer, which makes it very simple to book the correct room depending on your specific needs and expectations. I am, however, pleased to read you did find some positive aspects about your experience with us. When you do come back to Florence please consider booking a Deluxe room with us. I'm sure you will not be disappointed.
Kind Regards,
Nicki Sciortino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

I stayed here at the end of September 2013. We picked this hotel because it got decent reviews on tripadvisor and the like and location was right for our visit.

Pros: The staff was very friendly and accommodating. Our room was on the corner of third floor (#30) and faced the street. The room and bathroom were well sized with a fairly comfortable bed and a couple of chairs. Breakfast was included with the fare and was good for a free breakfast. I liked the fresh orange juice, croissants and coffee machine. Breakfast is served on the first floor in both an indoor room with ten or so tables as well as a connected outdoor patio.

Cons: I would recommend anyone who is a light or border line light sleeper to bring earplugs. We heard many people in the hallway, people moving chairs in the room above us, and some noise from the street. The garbage/recycling collection (which happened multiple mornings over the course of five days) was quite bothersome as the bins full of loose glass bottles are dumped into collection trucks at about 5 a.m.

My biggest complaint was the key policy. You are required to leave your key at the front desk when you leave the hotel, which isn't really an issue. However, when you come back, you just tell them a room number and they give you the key no questions asked. I saw at least 4 different receptionists who my first interactions with were getting our room key. None asked for any form of identification which I find a little unnerving. If that was changed, I would have given the hotel a 4 star rating instead of 3.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013

Dear Jeff V,
Thank you for writing a review. All suggestions and opinions are always welcome. I'm glad you found our staff accommodating and also enjoyed the breakfast. We apologize if you had some trouble sleeping. As for the key policy, I can assure you we have never had any problems or issues with giving back the keys to the correct guests, let alone giving out keys to "strangers". Nevertheless, we apologize if this did not make you feel very comfortable.
Kind Regards,
Nicki Sciortino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

To be honest, for the price we were paying (>300Eur/night), I thought the rooms would be much better. On the first night, we got room 3, if you are going to stay here then you really don't want this room. It is on the 1st floor between the breakfast hall and the breakfast hall toilet. You get the staff & Italian radio @ 7am as they start service. We changed rooms for the second night, up on the 3rd floor, a very similar room but thankfully quieter. In both of the rooms we had, you could actually touch all 4 walls without getting out of the bed and the ensuite was a bit mouldy, cracked tiles, standard plug with hairdryer next to the sort of weird mini crouchy bath/shower thing. Both windows had a spectacular view of a concrete wall 2m away. We tried the breakfast on day 1 but it was rubbish (coffee from a vending machine in Italy!) & DIY toast ..didn't bother on day 2. ..Day 3 we moved to another hotel, paid roughly the same price and got a fantastic modern room overlooking the river... This place really felt quite like a Youth Hostel, I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danny88_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2013

Dear Danny88_13,

Just let me explain you something: when you book a flight at the very last minute you shall expect to pay a higher price for the ticket, even if you are receiving the same exact service as the passenger seated next to you, who paid a third of your price booking with months in advance. In hotellerie it is going to be the same with the dynamic rates: who books first will get the best discount, the second a less convenient one and so on, until the last rooms booked which are going to get paid in full.

I am sorry if you were disappointed with your experience, but you decided to travel to Florence in the most crowded and expensive period of the year (September/October) when hotels have so many guests that makes it difficult to satisfy all the special requests, especially those arriving at the last minute.

To be honest, I appreciate all the suggestions and feedbacks, but the way you called the breakfast is just a depreciative compensation of your dissatisfaction with the room. All the other reviews prove it. It looks like you did not wanted to see the fresh pastries and bread, the salami and mortadella, the cheese, the yogurt, the fresh fruit-salad, the freshly squeezed orange juice, the cereals, the daily boiled eggs, all the fresh drinks, the free open bar, the Nutella, the jams in mini-jars of glass, the biscuits, the plumcakes, the honey, the fresh fruits and all the rest!

I am almost sure you were not paying 300 euros for all the days you were here, but maybe for a very busy night only, probably the first one. The next days your rate was something in the range of 200-250 euros. For what you paid in the next four-star hotel you stayed in (+100/150 euros a night, you write it in your next review), you could take a chance on upgrading to one of our superior room with private balcony and amazing view from the top floor, which actually are much cheaper than that.

But the next time you might consider to take a holiday, please try to book fairly in advance.

Thank you

Francesco Bini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Quiet, yet convenient to central Florence, I would return to the Hotel Orto De Medici in a minute. The staff are friendly and professional. The breakfast room and courtyard is wonderful. The room is roomier and the availability of the frozen fruit bars in the lobby was a nice touch.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gvwhct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2013

Dear Gvwhct,
Thanks for your very nice review!
I promise next time you will visit us you will find new improvements and new ideas that will worth a another review to mention them!
Grazie!
Francesco Bini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

A great location close to the Academia (to view the David) but quieter than many of the streets in the area. A beautiful lobby and courtyard for breakfast help to make it a wonderful retreat from a busy day of sight-seeing. It's an easy walk to all of the major sights.
The staff are friendly and welcoming and the rooms are comfortable and nicely appointed.
We stayed for three nights and would definitely recommend Orto De Medici!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DayDreamer21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2013

Dear DayDreamer21,
Your review is brief, but it highlights all the most important features of the hotel: location, building, staff, breakfast, rooms. I really appreciate it, thank you.
Francesco Bini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#29 of 410 in Florence
2,418 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Perseo
Hotel Perseo
#45 of 410 in Florence
1,883 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Rapallo
Hotel Rapallo
#24 of 410 in Florence
2,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Room Mate Luca
Room Mate Luca
#46 of 410 in Florence
1,241 reviews
Orcagna Hotel
#38 of 410 in Florence
856 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Globus
Hotel Globus
#36 of 410 in Florence
1,324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Orto De Medici? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Orto De Medici

Address: Via San Gallo, 30, 50129, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Florence
#31 Family Hotel in Florence
#46 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range: $147 - $383 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Orto De Medici 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Florence Hotel Orto de' Medici’s location is ideal because while located in the “historic center” of Florence it is just outside the noisy hustle and bustle…which is only a short walk away. When walking through our hotel in Florence, you really do feel like you are in a classic and upscale historic building. The front desk staff is very helpful and friendly, and from the moment you arrive you are made to feel very welcome. Each room is uniquely and elegantly appointed, a restful oasis for the busy traveler. The bathroom is very spacious and the shower is wonderful after a long day of sightseeing. Breakfast, with plenty to select from, is served in a cozy room that spills out into a welcoming patio and a beautiful little garden. The hotel lobby and reading rooms are a nice place to relax after a full day of sightseeing (plus free internet - either wifi or with brand new Apple computers). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Orto De Medici reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orto De Medici Hotel
Orto De Medici Florence
Hotel Orto De Medici Florence Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing