We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,487)
Filter reviews
2,487 results
Traveller rating
1,589
720
128
28
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,589
720
128
28
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgarden roomtrain stationsan marcooverlooking the gardenlovely hotelbreakfast roomwithin walking distancewelcome drinkfirst floorminute walkyogurtpollodeluxe roomquiet streetcentral marketaround the cornermajor sites
Filter
Updating list...
311 - 316 of 2,487 reviews
Reviewed June 17, 2017 via mobile

We are so glad we chose this hotel in Florence! The staff is absolutely WONDERFUL! The room we had was beautiful and the location was perfect. Only about a 15-20 minute walk to the train station with plenty of shops and restaurants nearby. No noise complaints whatsoever. Breakfast was delicious and had plenty of options. If we are ever fortunate enough to return to Florence, we will definitely stay here again!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Allie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 16, 2017

Five of us stayed at this lovely hotel during our trip to Italy. The rooms were clean and nicely appointed. The staff was great about answering our questions and giving directions in English since our Italian was very limited. The hotel is located about 6 blocks from the San Lorenzo leather market, and about 4 blocks from the Medici Palace and the Duomo. Florence was one of our favorite cities in Italy, and the hotel was possibly the nicest on our trip. The women in the group thoroughly enjoyed all the leather shops that were in easy walking distance from this hotel. Good restaurants were an easy walk also. Again, I can't say enough positive things about this location and hotel. Loved, loved, loved it!

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Jean K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2017

Dear Jean,
Thanks for the great review! I am so glad you enjoyed so much Florence and your stay in our hotel.
Francesco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 14, 2017 via mobile

It's walking distance to the Accademia. But and really - the best part? The gardens are where Lorenzo (?) Medici opened his art "workshops" of not for that - would The David have existed? The world may never know.

Seriously - the hotel is amazing. - Just stay in a room larger than the "classic double" unless it's one that has been renovated. The Oregon all ones are REALLY small.

Stayed: June 2017
1  Thank Jaki2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 14, 2017

The hotel itself is beautiful - the gardens are lovely. The staff are really nice and helpful. Its also well-located - one can pretty much walk everywhere

However I really think they can do a few things to make the stay of a person slightly more comfortable for guests. It's small tihngs each but overall end of up being meaningful

1. Have a tea/ coffee maker in the room. Since they don't have room service in the hotel this would not hurt
2. Breakfast. They provide breakfast every morning but its really not a very great one - nothing hot.
3. The rooms could do with a cupboard for keeping clothes. Also simple things like hooks in the bathroom
4. Drinking water in the room. We had to find a grocery store and buy water. It's pretty hot in the summer so you will need it.

If I had an option I would have maybe given it a 3,5 rating given the cost per night of the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank AjitM1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2017

Dear Guest,
Thanks for the review, including the positive mention to the staff. As regards your suggestions:
1- A kettle and cups are available on request at the lobby
2- Breakfast is updating in these weeks, for instance since this Monday we added the hot scrambled eggs and other new features I'll let the new reviews list...
3- The renewed rooms have places to hang the clothes and shelves, but not the traditional wardrobe/cupboard. This is to maximise the available space and the light overall the room, and I have to say most of the guest really appreciated this improvement.
4- Drinking water has always been available in the minibar, and drinking the tub water is totally safe.

I hope next time you will discover more of these features and if you have more request please ask to the lobby.
Thank you!
Francesco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 14, 2017

Would definitely stay here again. Friendly, helpful staff. Rooms were comfortable and clean. Excellent location for sightseeing, restaurants, and shopping. Prices were reasonable. Really enjoyed the stay at this hotel.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank Shibainu2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews