We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,595)
Filter reviews
2,595 results
Traveller rating
1,667
744
133
28
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,667
744
133
28
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviews garden room san marco train station lovely hotel breakfast room within walking distance welcome drink first floor pollo minute walk deluxe room quiet street croissants i highly recommend this hotel excellent breakfast major sites around the corner
Filter
Updating list...
269 - 274 of 2,595 reviews
Reviewed October 31, 2017

Pretrip info was professional and efficient. Check-in was friendly and problem free. Family Room was clean and comfortable, everything worked perfectly. Good bathroom. Breakfast was ok and typically Italian. I'd personally prefer a normal toaster rather than these rotating tray affairs which seem popular in Continental hotels but never work that efficiently. But that's just me. The breakfast room was rather small and when busy could be hard to find a seat, especially for 3 people. Again no big deal. Staff throughout were always friendly and smiling and very helpful. Hotel location is excellent, 10 min walk from the railway station and 10 min from the city centre. Many good restaurants nearby. Hotel was doing some building restoration at the time which may have been noisy for those rooms nearby but luckily we weren't affected. Again, maintenance has to be done, thats just down to chance. I would definately stay there again, just ideal and at a fair price.

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank generallambert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2017

Dear Guest,
Thanks for this great review! I appreciated how you gave us some good advise for the breakfast and other aspects of your séjour. They are most precious for us. We really hope to see you back soon in Florence!
Grazie!!
Francesco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 30, 2017

Friendly, helpful staff, extremely comfortable, clean room and fantastic breakfast! Situated within an easy walking distance from the historic town and brilliant restaurant recommendations, thank you for a lovely stay in a beautiful city!

Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank AliceS2603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 29, 2017

We only had a one night stay in a beautiful Jr. suite and would highly recommend this hotel! Make sure you read up on the history how the hotel "takes you back to an afternoon of 1489: then, among the garden white roses, a 14-year-old Michelangelo first learned to shape the Carrara marble." Within walking distance of many restaurants and shopping!

Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Janice54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2017

Thanks for your review, Janice! I am glad you appreciated the infos about the history of the hotel!
Francesco Bini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 29, 2017

Our room and en suite was very spacious and kept very clean by Tatiana. The service both in the breakfast room and in the bar was very pleasant as the staff were so friendly and helpful. The breakfast had plenty of choice and super coffee and enjoyed in lovely surroundings. The hotel has a lovely atmosphere and good art work and decor. It was interesting to read about the history of the hotel. The location is good, the Acadamia only 5/10 mins walk, 15 /20 mins walk to the Duomo, 5 mins walk to San Lorenzo and the Medici Chapels and a 25 min walk to the station. If I had to pick a negative it would have to be about some of the staff on the reception desk, (mornings) We always greeted them with Buongiorno and it was seldom responded to, very off putting. Also on one occasion when waiting at the desk to enquire about something, the two ladies on duty, just carried on with their conversation, after 5 mins unfortunately I had to interrupt, incidentally, it wasn't about their work or a guest (I speak Italian). That aside the other reception desk clerks were pleasant enough. I would definitely visit this hotel again and will be recommending it to others.

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank leo930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 22, 2017

The hotel had comfortable accommodations and the room was clean. There was a great atmosphere with social spaces. We grabbed late night pizza and were able to enjoy it in one of the community rooms. Excellent breakfast and valet very convenient.

Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2017

Dear M. Jill,
We appreciate you nice review! I am glad how you had the chance to appreciate our community rooms and the breakfast. Thanks also for the positive mention to the staff.
We hope to see you back sometimes.
Francesco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews