We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Newly refurbished, modern, great location, friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Orto De Medici
Ranked #39 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 January 2018

We were lucky enough to stay on the newly refurbished fourth floor. Everything was modern and clean. Rooms are dark and quiet at night. Awesome showers with rain shower heads. Comfy beds with good pillows. Staff were very friendly and helpful. WiFi quality good. Many places have rubbishy WiFi. If I had to pick on anything, the only tissues in the bathroom are four in a small box per day. Pretty minor given how good everything else is. Breakfast was pretty typical for Italy, however their breakfast room is too small to service the entire hotel. Sometimes we took our breakfasts to the TV room where “overflow” people tended to go. Not a big deal, but perhaps something they will rectify down the track. Overall, excellent hotel in a fantastic spot only 5 min walk to the Duomo. Highly recommend.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank reobrien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,276)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

19 - 25 of 2,276 reviews

Reviewed 1 January 2018

We had a pleasant stay with this hotel and surprised with the welcome complimentary wine or drink and snack for my kid upon our arrival. Our room is spacious with big bathroom, breakfast is good and staffs are very friendly and helpful. It is within a walking distance to the S.M.N Train station and close to central market.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank cath1116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2018

Dear Guest,
Thanks for your nice review. I am glad you liked so much all the facilities in the hotel, including the welcoming dring, the room, the staff and the location. Why "only" 4 points then? ;-)
Francesco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2017 via mobile

My family and I stayed at Orto De Medici for several days while visiting Florence. We found the location to be excellent for site seeing while easy access to all the sites, the Central Market, and restaurants. The staff was friendly and helpful. The service they provided was excellent, especially the recommendations for places to eat.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Ken B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2018

Dear Ken,
I am so glad you enjoyed our recent stay in Florence. We are happy when you take the best of our city, including its excellent food venues!
Thank you
Francesco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2017 via mobile

The room was so spacious! Nicely decorated, with big bed, big sofa, big bathroom. You might hear some noise from upstairs’ neighbor at night, but it’s short and doesn’t really bother.

The hotel staffs are really nice and helpful, including the staff helping out to tidy up tables at the breakfast room! I guess breakfast style in most hotels in Italy are the same? Fried eggs, bacon, bread and pastries, juices, coffee and tea. But they have something special to choose from: Italy tomato juice and self-served Bloody Mary XD

It’s a bit far from the SMN train station, about 15-20mins walk, but worth it if you want a very comfortable and spacious room!! Will definitely come back!!

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank fungonyuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2017 via mobile

Me and my fiance stayed at Orto De Medici for six nights. As we arrived we were told that we were upgraded to a better room for free and got a room with a balcony and a beautiful view of the city. What a way to start the trip!

The hotel is beautiful with marvel and works of arts around. The room was large and has all the facilities such as a warm shower a big TV and free and fast WiFi connection.

The location is very good and is 10 minutes walk from all the main attractions such as the famous Duomo.

The breakfast was included and has all kinds of coffee, fresh orange juice and a selection of food.

I highly recommend this hotel!

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Amir B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed our 5 night stay at the hotel. All the staff members were very accommodating. They were friendly and spoke English very well. The room was spacious and comfortable. We would definitely recommend others staying at the Hotel Orto De Medici as it's a great location to the city center. There are plenty of restaurants nearby and the train station is just about a 15 minute walk away.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Peggy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2017

I spent 5 days in this amazingly beautiful hotel. The people are extremely nice, the price was affordable and the location is amazing. I had some problems with noise because they were making some constructions on the 4th floor but as soon I informed the reception they immediately gave me a much better and more quite room. The breakfast is taking place in a beautiful sala and the quality is not excellent but it is really high concerning especially it is included in the price. I highly recommend it

Room Tip: rooms that are close to the garden (ground floor) are more quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Theodosia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2017

Dear Thodosia,
Thanks for your kind review. I am glad you appreciated how we tried to solve your inconvenience, and I am glad to confirm that all the works are finished before Christmas, so we now have all new refurbished rooms.
Thank you for recommending us.
Francesco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#27 of 410 in Florence
2,416 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Perseo
Hotel Perseo
#44 of 410 in Florence
1,880 reviews
San Lorenzo
Room Mate Luca
Room Mate Luca
#46 of 410 in Florence
1,238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Rapallo
Hotel Rapallo
#24 of 410 in Florence
2,090 reviews
Orcagna Hotel
#40 of 410 in Florence
856 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Globus
Hotel Globus
#37 of 410 in Florence
1,322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Orto De Medici? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Orto De Medici

Address: Via San Gallo, 30, 50129, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Florence
#31 Family Hotel in Florence
#46 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range: $143 - $367 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Orto De Medici 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Florence Hotel Orto de' Medici’s location is ideal because while located in the “historic center” of Florence it is just outside the noisy hustle and bustle…which is only a short walk away. When walking through our hotel in Florence, you really do feel like you are in a classic and upscale historic building. The front desk staff is very helpful and friendly, and from the moment you arrive you are made to feel very welcome. Each room is uniquely and elegantly appointed, a restful oasis for the busy traveler. The bathroom is very spacious and the shower is wonderful after a long day of sightseeing. Breakfast, with plenty to select from, is served in a cozy room that spills out into a welcoming patio and a beautiful little garden. The hotel lobby and reading rooms are a nice place to relax after a full day of sightseeing (plus free internet - either wifi or with brand new Apple computers). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Orto De Medici reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orto De Medici Hotel
Orto De Medici Florence
Hotel Orto De Medici Florence Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing