We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant as Always”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Orto De Medici
Ranked #39 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A fantastic 8th stay at this hotel and can’t wait for the 9th
Rooms are clean and spacious, public areas always clean and very well appointed
The breakfast is a joy and very substantial - unusual in Italy smaller hotels
Staff Excellent

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
Thank franblackburn2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,279)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

17 - 23 of 2,279 reviews

Reviewed 15 January 2018

We recently stayed in a Junior Garden Suite (myself, my wife and two children) and absolutely adored our stay. I have been to Florence many times throughout my life, but particularly loved this time, in large part because of the Hotel Orto de Medici. The location was perfect: close enough tot he train station for an easy walk, close enough to all the main sights to see everything with a leisurely pace, and, I think most importantly, far enough from the heavily touristed parts of the city so as to feel like we were in a more "local" part of Florence with good local activity in the evening and some great non-tourist driven restaurants a close walk away. The room was spacious, clean, and well outfitted (my kids adored the massive bathtub!) and breakfast was a great relaxing atmosphere with good selection for everyone. I can't recommend the hotel enough! Truly a pleasure, and I don't often do reviews, so the fact I am writing this should also speak to how highly I thought of our stay there!

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank mkula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2018

An excellent hotel. Great location - 10 minutes walk to the Cathedral. Clean. Staff very friendly and pleasant. Great room (27 I think) - lovely high ceilings, view on to garden. Room was very quiet. Breakfast was perfect. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Clare O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2018

Beautiful hotel, beautiful rooms, excellent breakfast, excellent staff, great location. The hotel and the experience were much much more than we were expecting. I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank ms009986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2018

We were lucky enough to stay on the newly refurbished fourth floor. Everything was modern and clean. Rooms are dark and quiet at night. Awesome showers with rain shower heads. Comfy beds with good pillows. Staff were very friendly and helpful. WiFi quality good. Many places have rubbishy WiFi. If I had to pick on anything, the only tissues in the bathroom are four in a small box per day. Pretty minor given how good everything else is. Breakfast was pretty typical for Italy, however their breakfast room is too small to service the entire hotel. Sometimes we took our breakfasts to the TV room where “overflow” people tended to go. Not a big deal, but perhaps something they will rectify down the track. Overall, excellent hotel in a fantastic spot only 5 min walk to the Duomo. Highly recommend.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank reobrien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2018

We had a pleasant stay with this hotel and surprised with the welcome complimentary wine or drink and snack for my kid upon our arrival. Our room is spacious with big bathroom, breakfast is good and staffs are very friendly and helpful. It is within a walking distance to the S.M.N Train station and close to central market.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank cath1116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2018

Dear Guest,
Thanks for your nice review. I am glad you liked so much all the facilities in the hotel, including the welcoming dring, the room, the staff and the location. Why "only" 4 points then? ;-)
Francesco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2017 via mobile

My family and I stayed at Orto De Medici for several days while visiting Florence. We found the location to be excellent for site seeing while easy access to all the sites, the Central Market, and restaurants. The staff was friendly and helpful. The service they provided was excellent, especially the recommendations for places to eat.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Ken B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2018

Dear Ken,
I am so glad you enjoyed our recent stay in Florence. We are happy when you take the best of our city, including its excellent food venues!
Thank you
Francesco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#27 of 410 in Florence
2,417 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Perseo
Hotel Perseo
#44 of 410 in Florence
1,881 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Rapallo
Hotel Rapallo
#24 of 410 in Florence
2,092 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Room Mate Luca
Room Mate Luca
#46 of 410 in Florence
1,240 reviews
Orcagna Hotel
#40 of 410 in Florence
856 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Globus
Hotel Globus
#37 of 410 in Florence
1,323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Orto De Medici? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Orto De Medici

Address: Via San Gallo, 30, 50129, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Florence
#31 Family Hotel in Florence
#46 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range: $145 - $371 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Orto De Medici 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Florence Hotel Orto de' Medici’s location is ideal because while located in the “historic center” of Florence it is just outside the noisy hustle and bustle…which is only a short walk away. When walking through our hotel in Florence, you really do feel like you are in a classic and upscale historic building. The front desk staff is very helpful and friendly, and from the moment you arrive you are made to feel very welcome. Each room is uniquely and elegantly appointed, a restful oasis for the busy traveler. The bathroom is very spacious and the shower is wonderful after a long day of sightseeing. Breakfast, with plenty to select from, is served in a cozy room that spills out into a welcoming patio and a beautiful little garden. The hotel lobby and reading rooms are a nice place to relax after a full day of sightseeing (plus free internet - either wifi or with brand new Apple computers). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Orto De Medici reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orto De Medici Hotel
Orto De Medici Florence
Hotel Orto De Medici Florence Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing