We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big calm rooms; beautiful decor; friendly staff; peaceful.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Orto De Medici
Ranked #40 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 February 2011

The location was perfect for my research trip to various Bibliotece, and our party had delightful rooms off the garden on the ground floor (ideal for elderly visitors). The rooms are very large, by Italian/European standards, and the decor is a restful taupe and cream scheme. Huge and very comfortable bed, with (in our double room) a kind of 'walk in' closet each (I've never had this luxury before! All hotels should have this!) with ample drawers and hanging space. Our window had an electric blackout blind, which we really appreciated, and listening to the water plashing in the fountain outside was a lovely way to drift off to sleep. The central heating worked well, and once we'd turned it up a little after the first night we were totally snug, and enjoyed the crisp bed-linen.

Towels were good quality, white and absorbent, and also plentiful (individual hand towels and bidet towels, plus individual bath towels). The drench shower was excellent - good water flow and temperature control. The bath was so long my feet didn't touch the end, and splendidly deep. We were in Florence during a cold/sunny spell with biting wind, so a hot bath every evening pre-dinner was great.

Breakfasts were served in a 'garden room' frescoed set of rooms on the first floor. Buffet style, with coffee in vacuum flasks. This coffee arrangement is never quite the thing, but was made up for to an extent by the frequently replenished steaming jugs of frothed milk. Cereals were fine (a muesli/granola style one was what I tried); there was a range of yoghurts (incl. plain/fat free); the crusty white sliced bread seemed local and was certainly very fresh and flavoursome, and went well with the range of nicely tart jams. There were also rolls (didn't try them), juices (ok, but not stellar), a kind of croissant/cornetto which wasn't exactly what I'd expect a croissant to be like, but this may be a local idiom (this was my first Florence trip). Fresh fruit was always good - apples, bananas, pears. The very kind waitresses also brought an individual pot of boiling water to make fresh tea every morning for one member of our party who can't do without.

The desk staff were uniformly charming and friendly, and all seemed to speak very good English. The wifi was fast, and free, with reliable reception, but logged one out randomly (as it appeared) every now and again. This could be annoying as I needed wifi in order to do some of my work, and the username/password were random generated strings of letters/numbers which took a minute or two to re-input each time. The desk/chair in the room was useful for work purposes; there was also a lounge area in the lobby, plus a 'library' on the first floor (if one wanted varied 'work' spaces).

There was good eating to be had within a few minutes of the hotel; we tried the place across the way (Mimo?), and some others which were fine, but fell in love with the Bronzino, and ate there for our last two nights. P. San Lorenzo was e.g. 5 mins walk, which gives some idea of how well-situated this hotel is. We will definitely stay there again if we return to Florence.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eblana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2011

Dear Madame, thank you for the great review! We are proud to have such caring and attentive guests! There is not much to add, but the thing we loved to read your feedback and we will always undetake to improve and improve again. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,280)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,299 - 1,305 of 2,282 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2011

Hotel is located in a quiet street, but only 5 mins from The Academy and basilica St Marco where Fra Angelico made and left his beautiful frescos. In 10 mins walk you could reach Piazza Republica in the heart of old city and close to many major Florence attractions. Hotel itself is a pleasant, artistic environment by decoration and history, based in the former Medici garden (orto) where Michelangelo made his first artist’s steps as an apprentice in Ghirlandaio workshop.
Hotel is populated by a friendly and competent staff (quite an achievement in a city overwhelmed by tourism). You will appreciate personal touch at the reception and during breakfast feast (great choice of food, fresh and unlimited). Hotel has just about 40 rooms, so it is never too crowded. There are two rest rooms with big screen TV’s, newspapers, magazines and books. In the reception lodge you can use, for no additional cost, one of two Macs with fast internet connection. You can easily and freely get in touch with home or boast to your friends around the world what a good time you have in Florence.
We had a standard double room. It was clean, decently decorated, with a good size, high quality bed. There is a small TV and a fridge, replenished with cold drinks. En suite bathroom is also well maintained, with enclosed shower. Hotel is environmentally conscious and politely asks its guests for cooperation, like reusing towels few times and reduce unnecessary washing. You do not have to obey, but it’s nice if you do.
No much to write about windows view as we can only see emergency stairs exit, but the main views is Florence itself, not a room with a view. The other minor point is a limited choice of satellite TV programs. CNN is the only English spoken channel. French speaking guests can only enjoy obscure “Montagne” (Mountain) channel and Italian RAI is good only to make you wish to rather spend time away from TV.
Hotels, so often, either do not care much about their guests or care too much, trying sometimes too hard to please. Orto de Medici has a right balance. You feel welcomed and free to enjoy your time inside and outside hotel. But be aware: Hotel is capable to make surprises too. We have been welcomed with a bottle of a chilly sparkling wine and when we arrived back home, we received a “thank you” email from hotel’s director.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ztoth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2011

Dear Guest, many thanks for your brilliant comment! We are very happy you could appreciate the hotel position, its Renaissance history and its facilities, like the big TV screen, newspapers in the hall, or the reading room.
We are pleased you enjoyed the minibar, where you can always find fresh drinks like wine, beer, sodas, water, and snacks.
We believe in environmentally consciousness as you marked and will continue this way.
Looking forward to your next visit, we thank you again!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2011

Well situated, in a quieter part of the city, close to Piazza San Marco, at walking distance from railway station and all main cultural sites. Nicely furnished, quiet and large room with great modern bathroom (garden side, superior room), welcoming staff, ready to help. Will come back without hesitation and have already recommended it to friends!

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elaine046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2011

Dear Guests, thank you for the beautiful review! In fact we are lucky to be set just 5/10 minutes away from the Michelangelo's David Gallery, the Dome, the Uffizi Museum and at the same time in a quiet city centre street.
We are glad to meet you again in the future to welcome you as we use to.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2011

We stayed six days in a double room and got a great room with a balcony with a view of San Marco and Il Duomo. The room was very good value (we booked directly with the hotel) for Florence. Was about a 7 minute walk to ll Duomo; Accademia was just around the corner.

The staff were friendly and helpful and all appeared to have impeccable English. Breakfast (which was included in room rate) was very good quality and served in a lovely room on the first floor. Hotel also had free wireless which was helpful.

If we go back to Florence we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KnMtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2011

Dear Sirs, many thanks for your kind comment. We are pleased you could enjoy one of our superior rooms, traditional Florentine styled, overlooking the city. Our staff always welcomes you with 4 languages: English, French, Spanish, German.
We wait for your next visit in Florence!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2011

Just spent three nights at the Orto de Medici which is well priced, immaculately clean, has very comfortable public areas and with staff who could not be more pleasant or helpful. We upgraded to a junior suite which more than met our needs. There are a number of good local eateries and it's only a short walk to most of the major attractions. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
Thank dwnw3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2011

Dear Sir, thanks for your feedback! It is always most precious for us to read the clients' opinion. San Marco area is famous for specialized shopping (books, leather, antiques, food) and fo great restaurants, loved by the Florentine people too. The Junior Suite is our top recommendation for those guests looking for an unforgettable comfort and romantic stay in Florence.
Francesco Bini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2011

Reservation made directly on Hotel's web page, 2 weeks before, as we got vgood rates for BB. Hotel easy to be found, only 3 bus stations from Florence SMN (main railway station), but you can also walk if you don't have heavy luggage. Distance from the bus station "San Marco" is around 50 m and from the hotel you can reach the hystorical center and the main museums/churches within minutes by walk.
Check-in was very smooth and professional, the entire staff (or at least reception) is speaking very good English and is very kind in providing you all details/info you might need/request.
The lobby, the lounges and also the halls are delightfully but discreet decorated in florentin style and invites you to relax and join the atmosphere of Florence.
We got a room on ground floor (which I think it was a double luxury) which was absolutely magnificent, much better then lots of 4 stars hotel rooms I have ever seen; very large, with a great bathroom, spotless clean and well appointed. After long walkings on the streets, we felt very comfortable back in our hotel/room and we slept very well, like home.
Breakfast is basic, like in most of italian hotels, but you can find quite anything you need in this regard. On spring/summer I presume that you can also serve yr breakfast on the terrace or in the garden - forgot to mention them before - the hotel has a nice interior garden with a fountain, which should be a great place to relax after a busy or hot day.
I am not sure I mentioned all the things, which are only positive ones; we stayed only 2 nights, but I am strongly recommending Orto De Medici as one of the best choices in Florence.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fami2212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gflorence, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2011

Dear Guest, thanks for the long review! You listed many features of the hotel with great care, and I can just confirm all of them! Yes, we do serve breakfast outside from April to October (depending the weather, of course) and the rooms on the ground floor are the Deluxe rooms, recently renewed. We hope to see you again soon, at the earliest convenience. Thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2011

Fantastic service from this lovely hotel in the back streets. 10 min walk at a leisurely stroll from the Duomo, this clean and comfortable hotel will be top of our list when we come back to Florence. Attention to detail is excellent, all the staff were very helpful. A good self service breakfast in a lovely room leading onto an open terrace. Large rooms, good size bathroom with bath and shower. Comfortable and stylish sitting rooms, good internet access and wifi. Thanks to the hotel for a great stay.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laurawhite_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#30 of 410 in Florence
2,418 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Perseo
Hotel Perseo
#45 of 410 in Florence
1,883 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Rapallo
Hotel Rapallo
#24 of 410 in Florence
2,096 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Room Mate Luca
Room Mate Luca
#46 of 410 in Florence
1,241 reviews
Orcagna Hotel
#39 of 410 in Florence
856 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Globus
Hotel Globus
#37 of 410 in Florence
1,324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Orto De Medici? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Orto De Medici

Address: Via San Gallo, 30, 50129, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Florence
#31 Family Hotel in Florence
#46 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range: $147 - $379 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Orto De Medici 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Florence Hotel Orto de' Medici’s location is ideal because while located in the “historic center” of Florence it is just outside the noisy hustle and bustle…which is only a short walk away. When walking through our hotel in Florence, you really do feel like you are in a classic and upscale historic building. The front desk staff is very helpful and friendly, and from the moment you arrive you are made to feel very welcome. Each room is uniquely and elegantly appointed, a restful oasis for the busy traveler. The bathroom is very spacious and the shower is wonderful after a long day of sightseeing. Breakfast, with plenty to select from, is served in a cozy room that spills out into a welcoming patio and a beautiful little garden. The hotel lobby and reading rooms are a nice place to relax after a full day of sightseeing (plus free internet - either wifi or with brand new Apple computers). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Orto De Medici reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orto De Medici Hotel
Orto De Medici Florence
Hotel Orto De Medici Florence Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing