We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,573)
Filter reviews
2,573 results
Traveller rating
1,650
742
131
28
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,650
742
131
28
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviews garden room san marco train station overlooking the garden lovely hotel breakfast room within walking distance welcome drink first floor pollo minute walk deluxe room quiet street croissants excellent breakfast major sites around the corner
Filter
Updating list...
1,508 - 1,513 of 2,573 reviews
Reviewed February 24, 2011

Hotel is located in a quiet street, but only 5 mins from The Academy and basilica St Marco where Fra Angelico made and left his beautiful frescos. In 10 mins walk you could reach Piazza Republica in the heart of old city and close to many major Florence attractions. Hotel itself is a pleasant, artistic environment by decoration and history, based in the former Medici garden (orto) where Michelangelo made his first artist’s steps as an apprentice in Ghirlandaio workshop.
Hotel is populated by a friendly and competent staff (quite an achievement in a city overwhelmed by tourism). You will appreciate personal touch at the reception and during breakfast feast (great choice of food, fresh and unlimited). Hotel has just about 40 rooms, so it is never too crowded. There are two rest rooms with big screen TV’s, newspapers, magazines and books. In the reception lodge you can use, for no additional cost, one of two Macs with fast internet connection. You can easily and freely get in touch with home or boast to your friends around the world what a good time you have in Florence.
We had a standard double room. It was clean, decently decorated, with a good size, high quality bed. There is a small TV and a fridge, replenished with cold drinks. En suite bathroom is also well maintained, with enclosed shower. Hotel is environmentally conscious and politely asks its guests for cooperation, like reusing towels few times and reduce unnecessary washing. You do not have to obey, but it’s nice if you do.
No much to write about windows view as we can only see emergency stairs exit, but the main views is Florence itself, not a room with a view. The other minor point is a limited choice of satellite TV programs. CNN is the only English spoken channel. French speaking guests can only enjoy obscure “Montagne” (Mountain) channel and Italian RAI is good only to make you wish to rather spend time away from TV.
Hotels, so often, either do not care much about their guests or care too much, trying sometimes too hard to please. Orto de Medici has a right balance. You feel welcomed and free to enjoy your time inside and outside hotel. But be aware: Hotel is capable to make surprises too. We have been welcomed with a bottle of a chilly sparkling wine and when we arrived back home, we received a “thank you” email from hotel’s director.

Date of stay: February 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ztoth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2011

Dear Guest, many thanks for your brilliant comment! We are very happy you could appreciate the hotel position, its Renaissance history and its facilities, like the big TV screen, newspapers in the hall, or the reading room.
We are pleased you enjoyed the minibar, where you can always find fresh drinks like wine, beer, sodas, water, and snacks.
We believe in environmentally consciousness as you marked and will continue this way.
Looking forward to your next visit, we thank you again!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 23, 2011

Well situated, in a quieter part of the city, close to Piazza San Marco, at walking distance from railway station and all main cultural sites. Nicely furnished, quiet and large room with great modern bathroom (garden side, superior room), welcoming staff, ready to help. Will come back without hesitation and have already recommended it to friends!

Date of stay: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elaine046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2011

Dear Guests, thank you for the beautiful review! In fact we are lucky to be set just 5/10 minutes away from the Michelangelo's David Gallery, the Dome, the Uffizi Museum and at the same time in a quiet city centre street.
We are glad to meet you again in the future to welcome you as we use to.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 23, 2011

We stayed six days in a double room and got a great room with a balcony with a view of San Marco and Il Duomo. The room was very good value (we booked directly with the hotel) for Florence. Was about a 7 minute walk to ll Duomo; Accademia was just around the corner.

The staff were friendly and helpful and all appeared to have impeccable English. Breakfast (which was included in room rate) was very good quality and served in a lovely room on the first floor. Hotel also had free wireless which was helpful.

If we go back to Florence we would definitely stay here again.

Date of stay: February 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KnMtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2011

Dear Sirs, many thanks for your kind comment. We are pleased you could enjoy one of our superior rooms, traditional Florentine styled, overlooking the city. Our staff always welcomes you with 4 languages: English, French, Spanish, German.
We wait for your next visit in Florence!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 22, 2011

Just spent three nights at the Orto de Medici which is well priced, immaculately clean, has very comfortable public areas and with staff who could not be more pleasant or helpful. We upgraded to a junior suite which more than met our needs. There are a number of good local eateries and it's only a short walk to most of the major attractions. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Date of stay: February 2011
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank dwnw3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2011

Dear Sir, thanks for your feedback! It is always most precious for us to read the clients' opinion. San Marco area is famous for specialized shopping (books, leather, antiques, food) and fo great restaurants, loved by the Florentine people too. The Junior Suite is our top recommendation for those guests looking for an unforgettable comfort and romantic stay in Florence.
Francesco Bini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 18, 2011

Reservation made directly on Hotel's web page, 2 weeks before, as we got vgood rates for BB. Hotel easy to be found, only 3 bus stations from Florence SMN (main railway station), but you can also walk if you don't have heavy luggage. Distance from the bus station "San Marco" is around 50 m and from the hotel you can reach the hystorical center and the main museums/churches within minutes by walk.
Check-in was very smooth and professional, the entire staff (or at least reception) is speaking very good English and is very kind in providing you all details/info you might need/request.
The lobby, the lounges and also the halls are delightfully but discreet decorated in florentin style and invites you to relax and join the atmosphere of Florence.
We got a room on ground floor (which I think it was a double luxury) which was absolutely magnificent, much better then lots of 4 stars hotel rooms I have ever seen; very large, with a great bathroom, spotless clean and well appointed. After long walkings on the streets, we felt very comfortable back in our hotel/room and we slept very well, like home.
Breakfast is basic, like in most of italian hotels, but you can find quite anything you need in this regard. On spring/summer I presume that you can also serve yr breakfast on the terrace or in the garden - forgot to mention them before - the hotel has a nice interior garden with a fountain, which should be a great place to relax after a busy or hot day.
I am not sure I mentioned all the things, which are only positive ones; we stayed only 2 nights, but I am strongly recommending Orto De Medici as one of the best choices in Florence.

Date of stay: February 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fami2212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gflorence, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2011

Dear Guest, thanks for the long review! You listed many features of the hotel with great care, and I can just confirm all of them! Yes, we do serve breakfast outside from April to October (depending the weather, of course) and the rooms on the ground floor are the Deluxe rooms, recently renewed. We hope to see you again soon, at the earliest convenience. Thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews