We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous hotel!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Palazzo Magnani Feroni

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Palazzo Magnani Feroni
Ranked #19 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Hartpury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fabulous hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

Stayed here for a single night, and proposed on the roof top terrace. :o)

Beautiful rooms, beautiful views from the terrace, lovely staff and a great location.

Free wifi in the room, TV with Sky in both lounge and bedroom. Free tea and coffee, with nibbles and fruit available in the lobby.

Amazing vintage lift!

Note: The hotel does NOT do lunch or dinner in a restaurant, only as a waiter sevice in your room. Breakfast is served in a 'communal' room, or in your suite.

Room Tip: The smallest suit is 800 square feet, so any of them is a good choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave_Ett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

917 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    771
    97
    20
    14
    15
See reviews for
257
489
27
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2012

We have just returned from Florence after staying at the Palazzo Magnani and, well we wish we were still there! Our room was breathtakingly lovely, as was the whole palace. The staff are all friendly, attentive and couldn't do enough for us. The breakfast is also excellent. The hotel is convenient for all the main attractions of Florence and the views from the roof terrace are stunning (although a little chilly this time of year). We would recommend the Palace to everyone.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2012

I cannot recommend this hotel enough. Enormous, incredibly beautiful suites, charming staff and a great location. A real, genuine 17th palace; many rooms even have frescos.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KRAlden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2012

This hotel holds a family history and an old world charm that made our stay in Florence quite unique. My partner and I stayed for 3 nights in the Esmeralda room and we really were made to feel special here. I've read the other reviews for this place and yes, it's not a brand spanking new hotel with modern furnishings that you would be acustom to in large american chain hotels. It's not supposed to be that type of experience. The Palazzo is meant to take you back in time, with it's antique furnishings, high ceilings and little hints, that you are in fact somewhere very unqiue. Our room had frescoes all over the walls and ceilings, most furnishings felt like there were from another time. We had our own private courtyard area with table setting and the bathroom was clean and equipped with Blvgari products. It was really, also the little things...a letter upon arrival, addressed personally, explaining the history of the hotel and wishing a comfortable stay. The room was very generous in size and it was such a surprise to have beautiful soaps left for us as a gift one day upon our return from touring the city. There were only a couple of things that would have made it super perfect, 1. we didn't know there was a service charge for booking museum tickets. We were advised this was a service of the hotel upon arrival and in previous hotels that have mentioned this, it was a free service. To our surprise the hotel added a fairly generous service fee for themselves for booking tickets to a museum. Had we known about the large service fee, we would have certainly booked ourselves. In fact, the lines to the museums this time of the year are relatively short, having been to Florence in the summer and knowing how busy it can get we thought it would have been a good idea to take on the hotel advice to book with them. However, I did feel a little disappointed for 2 reasons, one the service fee was not mentoined and given how quiet it is this time of the year, it would have been a handy tip from the hotel, as when we arrived at the museums, there were no lines at all. The only last thing I wanted to mention was the heating in the main room... perhaps it needs a service but it hardly worked. Lucky for us the beddings were enough to keep us warm once we went to bed, but walking around or shower at night was freezing, even in the warm winter we were having. I would definitely recommend booking this place if you are looking for something unique and special. You will not find ikea or standard furnishings here. The location is also central to the less touristy part of town, however everything is walkng distance and it was a nice hide away once returning to the hotel after a day out.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ClareBear1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2012

We stayed a this hotel for 4 nights and could not of been happier. Sure if you want to get picky the bed isn't the same as my one at home, nor is the pillow but the location is outstanding, the bars and restaurants on the Altarno side are a lot cheaper than on the Florence side but you are a 3 minute walk across the bridge. The Palazzo is olde world full of antiques and lovingly restored. The service was fantastic as were all the staff we encountered. This hotel made us feel special not just a customer like so many of the other 5 star establishments found world wide

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank canttakeatrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2011

This small hotel, transformed lovingly from an historic family owned palace,is exquiste in every detail, filled with museum quality treasures, and radiating home style hospitality. The rooms are extremely generous in size, furnishing quality, amenities, and the modern necessities all function beautifully.Even the lighting in the room can be varied from dim to bright. The staff are all engaging and full of helpful insights. The breakfast room is magnificent even by Florentine standards, and breakfasts were full of variety whilst maintaining an Italian sensibility.

Every future hotel will be judged against this amazing accommodation. I certainly felt like a noblewoman in my palace!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jennifer s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2011

We visited Florence for a month and stayed in an apartment, but decided to treat ourselves to a hotel stay for a night for something special. We chose Palazzo Magnani Feroni and stayed in the smeralda suite, usually reserved for honeymooners. What a gorgeous hotel and suite. A 16th century manor, renovated recently by the family who have owned it for over 200 years. And yes, it's the little things that make it so charming. Coffee and tea available on all floors, breakfast included with cooks at the ready to make you warm food, a choice of handmade soap in your room for your stay, and so much more. My only complaint, although it in no way effected my overall rating, was that the heater was very noisy. Our room was at least 6 metres high with frescos over the wall and ceiling, antique furniture and all the conveniences of a new hotel. Fabulous.

Room Tip: Smeralda Suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JanineKW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
#15 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,111 reviews
Uffizi
Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni
Santa Maria Novella
The St. Regis Florence
The St. Regis Florence
#10 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
JK Place Firenze
JK Place Firenze
#33 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
The Westin Excelsior Florence
Villa Cora
#7 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Magnani Feroni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Magnani Feroni

Property: Palazzo Magnani Feroni
Address: Borgo San Frediano 5, 50124, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santo Spirito / San Frediano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Florence
#13 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#16 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#21 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Palazzo Magnani Feroni 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palazzo Magnani Feroni is an historical home that for over five hundred years has been at the centre of Florence's aristocratic life: one of the oldest dwellings in the San Frediano neighbourhood, it has stood as an important symbol of the city's history and its artistic value. The class of this elegant renaissance palace, evident upon entering, finds its maximum expression in the sumptuous suites and the luxurious hospitality quarters, furnished with candelabra, statues, paintings and frescoes form the '500. Each suite reflects the refinement of the Renaissance style, with the subtle combination of comfort and modern technology and decorated with tasteful antique furnishings and materials originating from the owners' ancestors' antique collection. Spanning between 80- and 120-square meters (860- and 1300- square feet) in size, the 13 suites each comprise a large living room, bedroom(s) and master bathroom(s). Each includes all amenities expected of a five-star luxury hotel, including stereo, satellite television in both the living room and bedroom, internet port and self-regulating air conditioning units. An architectural jewel of the 16th century, the Palazzo Magnani Feroni belongs to the National Register of Historical Monuments of the State of Italy. Detail and ornamentation characterises the building throughout, surprising the wanderer with frescoes, vaulted ceilings and intricate wood-carvings. The Renaissance decor prevails in this palace of traditional Florentine lay-out. Breakfast, for instance, is served in a 160-square meter salon with hand-crafted wood ceilings illuminated by a large original Murano chandelier. In the winter evenings, this salon serves as an intimate, candle-lit Bar, accessible to Palazzo guests and their friends only. The same rules are applicable to the adjoining Billiard Room, as well as to the In-House Gym, so as to assure the guests with absolute privacy. The beautiful Roof-Top Terrace offers a breathtaking view of the city and houses the Palazzo Bar as soon as the temperature permits. Providing 24-hour Reception and Service, the Palazzo Magnani Feroni is run by a staff dedicated to meet your every need with efficiency and discretion, both prior, during and following your stay. Services include reservations to exclusive restaurants, recommendations of typical local eateries and trattorias, coordination of privileged entrance to the city's museums, airport / train station pick-up, private shopping tours, visits to the Ferrari Museum and private, chauffeured excursions to the beautiful Chianti valley. Also, Palazzo guests choose from a selection of CDs, DVD films and soap fragrances for their suite, as well as benefit from private Guides to shopping and restaurants off the beaten path, personally written by the owners of the Palazzo for an "insider's view" of Florence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Palazzo Magnani Feroni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Magnani Feroni Florence
Palazzo Magnani Feroni Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing