We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“WORST PLACE EVER: do not stay here” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Ferretti

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Ferretti
Ranked #265 of 421 Hotels in Florence
London, UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“WORST PLACE EVER: do not stay here”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2011

We booked online to stay in this hotel in February 2007. We never passed the reception agressed by barking dogs of two old owners couple. I just read all the terrible reviewes of other people who experienced the same or worst service and want to leave mine to warn people of what to expect here! These people were absolutely disgusting, be warn and don't stay here!

They are rude, aggressive and we have NEVER been yalled at in a hotel before! We travel very often, have visited most of Europe and never came across such horrible people.

TO AVOID ABSOLUTELY

NE VENEZ SURTOUT PAS ICI, LES PROPRIOS SONT SCHIZOS.

Room Tip: Horrible place, go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Meri_en_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    136
    78
    52
    56
See reviews for
49
201
29
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Panama City, Panama
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2011

I booked a single room with its own bathroom. My surprised when I got to my room: the bathroom was outside, but I shouldn't get worried because it wasn't a shared bathroom, it was mine... but outside of my room!... Uh?!??!

Please, keep your cash. You will need it to pay at the check-out!... They don't accept credit card, just cash!

The neighborhood is very noisy but the hotel is near of everything. You will get it walking from the Stazione Santa Maria Novella and visit the main attractions in Florence just walking. The locations is the only advantage that this hotel could offer.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IPERHER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Florence hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Poland/Katowice
Level Contributor
35 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2011

This is good hotel for a few nights. Average standard. But location is great, just few minits from the reilway station, and to the center. If you want to see Florence in a few days, this hotel is great for that.
Nice stuff.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CatherinneP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2011

I stayed two nights at Ferretti, and the price and location (blocks from the basilica and train station) are super. The reception were wonderful to us - Sandra was kind enough to go through a map of Florence with me and point out different sites and markets to visit, and then she called and booked a tour for me. It was such a pleasure to be greeted by her and Roberto each morning, and the guy who worked the desk in the evenings (sorry, I never learned his name) was incredibly friendly, too.

We appreciated that everyone coming into the hotel had to go past reception, so we never felt unsafe. The hotel is in an older building, which means it lacks the amenities of a newer building: air conditioning, an elevator and sound-proof walls. But it was never too loud, and our ceiling fan adequately beat the heat, and we also had free Wi-Fi, enabling us to Skype with loved ones. Our private bathroom wasn't connected to our room, but it was quite large and clean, and the towels provided to us were the best quality towels we have EVER used. The hotel is nothing extravagant, but if you are flexible and not high-maintenance, you won't be bothered, and you can't beat the price.

Room Tip: If you have any specific requests (quieter room, private bath), address them before you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank keeny17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uppsala, Sweden
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2011

Location is very good, but be aware that it's very noisy because of bikes and cars, rooms don't have aircon and you have to open windows. Breakfast was not good at all and it's not worth 5 eur, outside of the hotel for these money you can have much better breakfast. Staff wasn't friendly in the morning, guy that are working evening shift are nice and helpful. You friends are not allowed to visit your room even for 2 minutes - we wanted to transfer pictures from the camera and the owner nearly screamed for my friend. It was the fist hotel in my life that asked me money for leaving your bag for few hours - than asked receipt - they didn't give it to me. I really not advise you to stay in this hotel, it can destroy your impression of the wonderful city.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Etecouture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelferretti, Owner at Hotel Ferretti, responded to this review, 8 July 2011
1 - Your room was equipped with ceiling fans (maybe you have not seen)
2 - € 5 for an Italian breakfast buffet, served in a charming room is a competitive price (remember that you are in a hotel and not in a bar down the street). However you've never had breakfast and therefore can not give an evaluation on our breakfast.
3 - The security at the reception is flawless. Only customers can access the rooms, NO friends, NO visitors, this is the Italian Law. Your friend called you loudly from the reception to the second floor, we remembered her that we were not in a market but in a hotel where other guests were sleeping.
4 - The luggage room costs only € 1.00 per day, if you go to the train station costs € 4.50

This review confirms that it is very easy for any customer to give a bad vote and it is up to us to have to respond to customers "so refined" remember that Hotel Pensione Ferretti is a 1 star hotel and not the grand Hotel.

Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgia, USA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2011

I was there in June 2011 with 9 students. It was inexpensive and perfectly situated just outside of the Piazza Santa Maria Novella near the train station. It's within a 5-10 minute walk of the old city.

There was no A/C, and it got a little warm during the day. Still, it was scrupulously clean, the breakfast was nice, and the staff were really great. The reception staff in particular were really good to us.

There are stairs, lots of them, but that's going to be par for the course in old buildings in Italy. It's no good for the mobility challenged, but seriously - the place was REALLY perfectly located and super inexpensive.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank doctoraicha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paia, Hawaii
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2011

My wife & I recently made our first trip to Florence and traveling on a budget, we tried to find a clean, safe place to stay in town that was affordable.We found that and much more at the Pensione Ferretti.With a GREAT location, a 5 min walk from the train station and downtown, this family run hotel is operated professionaly, most of the staff speak very good english, and with warmth, like they are inviting you into their home.They made museum & restuarant reservations for us (saving on online booking fees).They even acknowledged our wedding anniversary with some nice ammenities. We will be back to Florence one day, and when we return, we will stay with our new friends Roberto, Sandra & Nadia at the Hotel Pensione Ferretti.

Room Tip: Book as early as possible,request a large room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PaiaDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Hotel Masaccio
#272 of 421 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Aline
Hotel Aline
#340 of 421 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Dali
Hotel Dali
#133 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Loggia Fiorentina
Loggia Fiorentina
#168 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Elite
Hotel Elite
#257 of 421 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel San Giovanni
Hotel San Giovanni
#248 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ferretti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ferretti

Property: Hotel Ferretti
Address: Via delle Belle Donne 17 | Via delle Belle Donne 17, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#20 Best Value Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Ferretti 1*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm and cozy home in the historical centre of Florence...Hotel Pensione Ferretti is a charming family run hotel, 1 star located just steps from piazza Santa Maria Novella, the central railway station and via de Tornabuoni, the trendy city living. Warm and enveloping, ordered and essential spaces will welcome you during your stay in Florence.Roberto, his wife Sandra and daughter Nadia, will be your family and help you to appreciate the beauty and uniqueness of Florence and the Florentine spirit! Hotel Pensione Ferretti ... "your home" for your holiday in Florence! Enjoy this wonderful dream, stay at the Hotel Pensione Ferretti! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Studio Scivoletto S.r.l. , Travelocity, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Ferretti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pensione Ferretti Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing