We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room With a View”
Review of Hotel Alessandra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Alessandra
Ranked #38 of 409 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We had a room with a view of the Arno and the campanile next door. Happily they do not chime the bells during sleep hours. The bath was huge and gleaming. The decor was soothing and comfortable. The staff bent over backwards to help us with our needs, bookings, communications, etc. I highly recommend it. (We were there in May 2008, and I tried to write a review then, but it was never published at the time, probably due to my own computer ineptitude.)

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank farniente08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndreaGennarini, Owner at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2015

Better late than never! We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,788)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

806 - 812 of 1,788 reviews

Reviewed 17 April 2012

I chose the hotel based on its high ranking on Trip Advisor, even though I was on a business trip and would normally go for something a bit more mainstream, to make my life easier. I was reminded of this when I went looking for an iron to get the wrinkles out of a shirt before a meeting, only to be told that there were no irons. Despite this I enjoyed my stay. Arriving one is confronted with a large wooden door and an array of brass buttons, one of which says pensione Alessandra. Magically this button works and one has a couple of flights of steps to a landing where one has the option of the smallest lift the world (just room for one person and a bag) or another few flights of steps to the hotel reception. My room was large and comfortable. The furnishings were rustic, the ceiling high, and the wallpaper peeling. During the nights I noted an unpleasant smell coming from the shower drain in the bathroom. The breakfast was very nice and the coffee exceptionally good. The wifi was free and fast. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The location is very central to all of the attractions of Florence and is located in the historic centre of the city. I walked there from the central station in a few minutes (about 1km). As the hotel is next to the river the opportunities for running are handy, along the river to a large park area. If you are looking for something interesting, old, character-filled, and with rustic charm then this is the hotel for you - kind of the opposite of a large chain hotel. I will remember my stay here fondly.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Runninguy1011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndreaGennarini, Owner at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2015

Thank you for writing! We pride ourselves on our originality, it's part of our Italian charm!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2012

This was my second time in Florence and second time I stayed at Hotel Alessandra. When I visit a third time, I will definitely stay here again! It is a great location, the rooms are clean and spacious and the staff was extremely friendly and helpful. It is very close to the Uffizi, the Ponte Vecchio and easy to walk to all of the wonderful things Florence has to offer. I would highly recommend this hotel to couples, families or groups of friends. Thanks Anna for another great vacation!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kaypo23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndreaGennarini, Owner at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2015

We're always glad to have you stay with us, thanks for being such a valued guest!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

Alessandra's staff was wonderful. Polite, excited, patient. Great location, right next to the Uffizi. Our family of four were impressed with the size of the room and the cleanliness.

BUT ... and this isn't the hotel's fault ... the zanzara (mosquitos) were vicious. There are no screens on the windows in Italy but they really need them in Florence. We made the mistake of not closing our windows completely at night, and the next morning we were covered in bites. My daughter's face looked like she had chicken pox. Apparently, Florence now has mosquitoes 10 months of the year. And the closer you are to the river, the worse it gets.

Just be warned.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank robbydee7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndreaGennarini, Owner at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2015

Thanks for writing! Unfortunately, mosquitoes are a natural part of living in Florence, ut keeping the window closed will solve this problem! We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

This is my second time staying here in the past 2 years and I would not even consider any other hotel!!

Room Tip: if you can stay in a suite take it! The view from the terazzo is excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robertobaggio_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndreaGennarini, Owner at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2015

We're always so glad to have you, and we can't wait to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2012

This was our favorite place to stay during our recent visit to Italy. The staff was friendly and helpful. We felt very comfortable and safe, almost like visiting family. Our rooms were spacious and very clean. We liked the variety of rooms. (Our 23 year old son could have a room of his own.) We were confused when we first arrived since the reception area is up a few flights, but once we had it figured out and used the lift, it was no problem. Breakfast was great and a computer with internet was available for our use. We have recommended Hotel Allesandra to our friends and family who plan to visit Florence and will definitely stay there when we return to Florence.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sheli T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndreaGennarini, Owner at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2015

We're so honored to have been your favorite! We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Roger W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
AndreaGennarini, Owner at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2015

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Hotel Perseo
Hotel Perseo
#37 of 409 in Florence
1,831 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Casci
Hotel Casci
#51 of 409 in Florence
2,815 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Santa Croce
Hotel Santa Croce
#48 of 409 in Florence
833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uffizi
Hotel Hermitage
Hotel Hermitage
#79 of 409 in Florence
624 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Pendini
Hotel Pendini
#36 of 409 in Florence
1,937 reviews
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#27 of 409 in Florence
2,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alessandra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alessandra

Address: Borgo Santi Apostoli 17, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Uffizi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 409 Hotels in Florence
Price Range: $124 - $235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Alessandra 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our family run hotel is right in the heart of Florence old town - near to the Uffizi Gallery and Ponte Vecchio. Without doubt, Hotel Alessandra is one of the most centrally located hotels in Florence. In this privileged position, Hotel Alessandra offers a home away from home, with our friendly team and extensive knowledge of the local area. The hotel entrance is situated on the second floor of the building. You can reach the reception floor using the lift, small but working fine (in the 1400s buildings hadn't been designed with this in mind!) But please note that there are around 30 steps from the entrance on the street level to the departure of the lift. We very much look forward to seeing you! Andrea and Anna ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity.ca and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Alessandra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing