We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, nice hotel, amazing staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Alessandra

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Alessandra
Ranked #36 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Good location, nice hotel, amazing staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2012

I loved our stay at Hotel Alessandra. The hotel is located just a few blocks from the Ponte Vecchio and just a few minutes’ walk from the Duomo. It’s on the top couple of floors in its building, but there is a lift. Do be aware that the lift is up one flight of stairs from the entry, so be prepared to carry you luggage just a little bit.

Our room was very large as was our bathroom. It was clean and very comfortable, but a little worn around the edges. The bathroom had a huge shower and was lit during the day by a skylight. Breakfast at Hotel Alessandra was very good. With a selection of meats, breads, cheeses, and cereals, there was something for everyone.

The best part of our stay was the staff at the hotel. From the moment we arrived, to the moment we left, we were treated warmly and always felt that the staff really wanted us to have the best experience possible. Everyone we dealt with was exceedingly helpful and always had a smile on their face.

I would 100% stay at Hotel Alessandra if I was lucky enough to return to Florence. This is a great hotel at a great value

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank S_C_Barnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndreaGennarini, Owner at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this review, 28 September 2015
We're so glad you were as fond of our staff as we are! We hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,662 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,134
    446
    60
    12
    10
See reviews for
345
793
149
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2012

We very much enjoyed our stay at Hotel Alessandra.

The hotel is within walking distance from the train and bus stations though if you have a lot of luggage it might be too far only because the narrow sidewalks and cobblestones might make it difficult. We walked both to and from with our luggage.

The hotel staff were very friendly and they all spoke English. Monti was really nice and made several restaurant recommendations for us.

The room we stayed in was huge. I'm not sure exactly what type of room it was but, wow, you could play basketball in there the ceilings were so high.

The breakfast offering was nice and the free wifi was very much appreciated. For some reason free wifi wasn't always available in our hotels as we traveled through Italy this trip.

We would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doug703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndreaGennarini, Owner at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this review, 28 September 2015
Thanks so much for your input! We hope to see you back at Hotel Alessandra soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

This was a great choice for our honeymoon, as it was both my and my husband's first time in Florence. It was close to the sights of Florence as well as restaurants and shopping. The service was great (and available 24 hours a day), especially as we had several large bags and there are many steps in the building - both to the front door and up to the bedrooms. Our room was very large, but the bathroom and bed could use a bit of updating to make it more comfortable. All in all, a great experience!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alysson B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndreaGennarini, Owner at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this review, 28 September 2015
We're so glad you decided to spend such a special trip with us! We hope to see you back for many anniversaries to come!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

Spent three nights at Hotel Alessandra in April. The hotel is centrally located and just off the river Arno about 15-20 minutes by foot from the main train station. The familiy-run pensione is clean and the desk staff were friendly and accommodating. I arrived early and had a late departure and in both cases they were happy to store my luggage.

My room was up a flight of stairs from the reception (no elevator) and was perfect for my needs. In addition to the single bed the room was furnished with a closet and writing table and didn't feel cramped and crowded. The window overlooked the quiet street (I slept with the window open but wasn't disturbed by noise) and had a view of neighboring rooftops and a corner of the Duomo dome. The room had a sink but no bathroom -- I chose the single room whose private bathroom is across the hall. The bathroom was solely for my use and since I only had to pad across for my morning shower it wasn't a big deal, especially since my room rate averaged € 43/night. WiFi was included and reliable. The buffet-style morning breakfast was included in the price and more than enough to get the day started. I had an excellent experience at Hotel Alessandra and wouldn't hesitate to return or to recommend.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nate58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndreaGennarini, Owner at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this review, 28 September 2015
Thank you for your kind words, we were so happy to have you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

This was an excellent, Italian-style pensione/hotel (lots of stairs, 24 hour clerk, they hold your room key). The hotel has very helpful staff, clean, large rooms, good lighting, comfortable beds and a terrific location with good, free wi-fi and a nice breakfast. Of particular note, we were relatively high up but even so, the noise reduction in the rooms was superb. Italian cities are noisy and sleep can be hard. The sound proofing in our room was amazing.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maiasaura_3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndreaGennarini, Owner at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this review, 28 September 2015
We were so happy you chose to stay with us, and we hope to see you back in Firenze soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

Pros: Excellent location on a cute street near the main sights of Florence, free and reliable WiFi, free calls to U.S.A. during certain hours, wonderful and friendly staff, great charm and personality, adequate breakfast with good made-to-order coffee

Cons: lots of steps (didn't matter to us, but may be an issue for some)

Just a heads up, when staying in Florence near the river, you may want to think twice about leaving your windows open to sleep. We got pretty bit up by mosquitoes. Not a negative for the hotel, just something to know!

We would stay here again of we ever have the opportunity to return to beautiful Firenze!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blp1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndreaGennarini, Owner at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this review, 30 September 2015
Thanks for letting us know! We hope you return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

Ok, the flight of stairs may be a drawback for some (you can take the elevator almost all the way to the entrance), but I was in Florence to walk, so I enjoyed the stairs. My room was huge with a great view of the river and very nice furnishings. The staff was very helpful and attentive and the breakfast was typical European quality. The bathroom was a bit misplaced, but typical for a several hundred year old building.

The location was perfect. I walked to all the great sites from the hotel. Don't miss the very small deli just down the street from the hotel. You can grab some cheese, bread, yogurt and fruit and have a wonderful (cheap) lunch in your room or along the river.

Room Tip: See if you can get a view of the river!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mindfulday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndreaGennarini, Owner at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this review, 30 September 2015
We're so glad you feel that way, one does not come to Florence if they don't want to do some walking!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#26 of 422 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,136 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Casci
Hotel Casci
#31 of 422 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,494 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#8 of 422 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Croce
Hotel Santa Croce
Hotel Santa Croce
#32 of 422 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
Pitti
Hotel Restaurant  La Scaletta
San Lorenzo
Residence La Contessina
Residence La Contessina
#42 of 422 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alessandra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alessandra

Property: Hotel Alessandra
Address: Borgo Santi Apostoli 17, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Uffizi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Alessandra 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our family run hotel is right in the heart of Florence old town - near to the Uffizi Gallery and Ponte Vecchio. Without doubt, Hotel Alessandra is one of the most centrally located hotels in Florence. In this privileged position, Hotel Alessandra offers a home away from home, with our friendly team and extensive knowledge of the local area. The hotel entrance is situated on the second floor of the building. You can reach the reception floor using the lift, small but working fine (in the 1400s buildings hadn't been designed with this in mind!) But please note that there are around 30 steps from the entrance on the street level to the departure of the lift. We very much look forward to seeing you! Andrea and Anna ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Alessandra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing