We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything that the comments say”
Review of Hotel Alessandra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Alessandra
Ranked #38 of 409 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 May 2012

As all the comments say, this is a great hotel. Nicely furnished rooms, incredibly handy position, very helpful staff - I can't recommend it too highly. BUT Florence has a mosquito problem - take one of those plug gadgets to keep them at bay

Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank WeeJohnnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndreaGennarini, Owner at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2015

Thank you for your review! We hope to see you back in Florence soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,789)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

795 - 801 of 1,789 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2012

This hotel was perfect! The location was fantastic, with outrageously friendly front desk staff, and a great housekeeping crew. Our room was large, with 2 beds, and plenty of space. The rooms were charming and clean and the free breakfast was great.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bsar2968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndreaGennarini, Owner at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2015

We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us, hopefully you'll be inspired to return someday soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2012

We booked this hotel on the basis of its trip advisor rating and were delighted. We were upgraded to an amazing suite overlooking a bell tower and the river - it was quiet and comfortable. The staff were helpful and friendly, and explained they could never achieve more than a 2* rating because of the walk up stairs to the lift - however the welcome and comfort makes up for this and we will certainly return on a future visit to Florence.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AE-JD59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndreaGennarini, Owner at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2015

Thanks so much for writing! We can't wait to have you back in Firenze again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2012

We were well taken care of at Hotel Alessandro,from our arrival to are departure the the staff was always ready to help.Our room was spacious and fresh with a view of the river.We highly recommend this hotel,you feel at home.

Room Tip: Our room was a suite with the private bath near the room,which worked well for us( #22).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mixerguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndreaGennarini, Owner at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2015

We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us at Hotel Alessandra. Come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2012

The staff at Hotel Alessandra are the best! Very accommodating. I ended up getting sick and had to stay another night and they were able to get me into a room. You can store your luggage there, use the restroom - anything you need. I stayed in both a shared bathroom room and one that had its own bathroom. It's an older hotel and the location couldn't be better. Everything is very walkable. Uffizi and Ponte Vecchio very nearby. It was a 15-20 minute walk to the Accademia or train station.

Room Tip: For rooms that share a bathroom - it is very much like dormitory life. There are 10ish rooms that s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank UsePassport3xYear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndreaGennarini, Owner at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2015

While we're so sorry you were ill, we are more than happy that you got the comfort you needed while being away from home! We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2012

I loved our stay at Hotel Alessandra. The hotel is located just a few blocks from the Ponte Vecchio and just a few minutes’ walk from the Duomo. It’s on the top couple of floors in its building, but there is a lift. Do be aware that the lift is up one flight of stairs from the entry, so be prepared to carry you luggage just a little bit.

Our room was very large as was our bathroom. It was clean and very comfortable, but a little worn around the edges. The bathroom had a huge shower and was lit during the day by a skylight. Breakfast at Hotel Alessandra was very good. With a selection of meats, breads, cheeses, and cereals, there was something for everyone.

The best part of our stay was the staff at the hotel. From the moment we arrived, to the moment we left, we were treated warmly and always felt that the staff really wanted us to have the best experience possible. Everyone we dealt with was exceedingly helpful and always had a smile on their face.

I would 100% stay at Hotel Alessandra if I was lucky enough to return to Florence. This is a great hotel at a great value

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank S_C_Barnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndreaGennarini, Owner at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2015

We're so glad you were as fond of our staff as we are! We hope to see you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2012

We very much enjoyed our stay at Hotel Alessandra.

The hotel is within walking distance from the train and bus stations though if you have a lot of luggage it might be too far only because the narrow sidewalks and cobblestones might make it difficult. We walked both to and from with our luggage.

The hotel staff were very friendly and they all spoke English. Monti was really nice and made several restaurant recommendations for us.

The room we stayed in was huge. I'm not sure exactly what type of room it was but, wow, you could play basketball in there the ceilings were so high.

The breakfast offering was nice and the free wifi was very much appreciated. For some reason free wifi wasn't always available in our hotels as we traveled through Italy this trip.

We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Doug W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndreaGennarini, Owner at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2015

Thanks so much for your input! We hope to see you back at Hotel Alessandra soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Hotel Perseo
Hotel Perseo
#37 of 409 in Florence
1,835 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Casci
Hotel Casci
#51 of 409 in Florence
2,816 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Pendini
Hotel Pendini
#36 of 409 in Florence
1,939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uffizi
Hotel Hermitage
Hotel Hermitage
#74 of 409 in Florence
625 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Santa Croce
Hotel Santa Croce
#48 of 409 in Florence
833 reviews
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#26 of 409 in Florence
2,381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alessandra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alessandra

Address: Borgo Santi Apostoli 17, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Uffizi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 409 Hotels in Florence
Price Range: $124 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Alessandra 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our family run hotel is right in the heart of Florence old town - near to the Uffizi Gallery and Ponte Vecchio. Without doubt, Hotel Alessandra is one of the most centrally located hotels in Florence. In this privileged position, Hotel Alessandra offers a home away from home, with our friendly team and extensive knowledge of the local area. The hotel entrance is situated on the second floor of the building. You can reach the reception floor using the lift, small but working fine (in the 1400s buildings hadn't been designed with this in mind!) But please note that there are around 30 steps from the entrance on the street level to the departure of the lift. We very much look forward to seeing you! Andrea and Anna ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Alessandra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing