We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Stay here! Great hotel in a great location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Alessandra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Alessandra
Ranked #37 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Stay here! Great hotel in a great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2012

We stayed here three nights during a 3 weeks trip in Europe and we all agreed this was our favorite hotel of the trip (we stayed at 8 different places)! The location is fabulous, service is great, the AC and wi-fi both worked, the breakfast is very good and everything is very clean and comfortable.
We loved being able to walk everywhere! Andrea had helped arranged our entry times to Uffizzi and Accademia when i asked about it months in advance. We appreciated that so much! It was HOT when we were there so not having to wait in huge lines was certainly a bonus. The rooms were very spacious and cleaned daily. After staying in other places in Italy that said they had AC that in reality amounted to a whisper of cold air from an ancient device on the wall, it was a delightful "problem" to have to wake up freezing and have to ask how to turn the air down! :)
I would absolutely stay here again and recommend to others!! Stay here!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Proprietario at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this review, 13 July 2012
Dear Guest, well thank you ! We are pleased when you are pleased, and we think that we got it right! We had new air-con ( green - very environmentally friendly) installed last winter, and is has proved to useful this hot and torrid summer. Florence and the surrounding area has so much to offer, and we are truly proud if we can help with bookings etc way ahead of time (then we are sure we can do it - did you know that the Leaning Tower of Pisa requires at last 16 days advance booking and they are NOT flexible!)
Thank you for your comments - they are really precious to us.
Kind regards - Andrea Gennarini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,672 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,142
    447
    61
    12
    10
See reviews for
345
798
149
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

We stumbled upon this hotel after booking at a different hotel that was not nice at all. They had a room large enough for our family of 4. It was a large room and very charming. The hotel staff was wonderful - best service we had anywhere in Europe. Andrea had suggestions for us and made phone calls and reservations for us at museums and on a tour. The breakfast was very good also. The only reason I didn't give this a 5 was the bathroom was a little small and you do have to lug your bags up some stairs. Also, there is a very good restaurant right next door. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Molly N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Proprietario at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this review, 13 July 2012
Dear Guest, firstly thank you so much for your comments. We do so much appreciate everyone's comments.

Our rooms are spacious (on a European scale) - this is an old old building, built when space was not such a premium. But built when they hadn't yet invented lifts! So yes, we have stairs!

We are glad you enjoyed your stay, even more so as we were a "substitute"!

King regards - Andrea Gennarini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2012

Fabulous location and wonderful service! We spent 3 nights at this hotel and it was so close to everything. We enjoyed the spacious room and it was very quiet at night. Air conditioning worked well and we often took a mid-day break since the hotel was so close. Everyone at the desk was very helpful and kind. Always remembered our name and room number. Breakfast in the morning was good and plentiful. We couldn't have asked for a better place to stay. We would definitely choose Hotel Allesandra again if we are visiting Florence.

Room Tip: We had a room without a private bath, but the facilities were right across the hall and very conveni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this review, 9 July 2012
Dear Guest
Firstly I am glad that my memory was working well for you name and room number; this is not a guaranteed service! We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again one day!
Kind regards - Andrea Gennarini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geelong, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2012

Based upon other Trip Adviser reviews we booked our accommodation in Hotel Alessandra and were delighted. The location was the most compelling feature, yet the cleanliness and careful service from the staff are flawless. The hotel is quiet, calm with excellent air-conditioning. Two floors of stairs or take the lift. Breakfast was dignified with all needs catered for and nice cappucino. We walked everywhere to all of the main attractions, and popping back to the hotel to drop off parcels or freshen up for dinner is so easy. Monti and Andre are so outgoing, enthusiastic and have excellent recommendations for every type of restaurant. Their recommendations are superior, within a reasonable walking distance and vary according to your needs. We will certainly come back.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this review, 9 July 2012
Dear Guest, it was really our pleasure! Thank for you for taking the time to comment, we appreciate it so much.
Kind regards - Andrea Gennarini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2012

We spent 6 nights at this hotel. You can't beat the location, price, and wonderful staff!
This hotel is centrally located (near Ponte Vecchio) and we were so happy to be able to walk everywhere in the city because of the great location.
We appreciated the helpful staff who arranged day trips for us, recommended great restaurants, and gave great tips on sights to see in the city.
And best of all, the hotel is very reasonably priced for being right in the heart of Florence.
Thank you for the great stay!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Krista K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this review, 9 July 2012
Dear Guest,
even if we say so ourselves, our location is unbelievable! Every day that we come into "work" we are grateful for such a superb location! Thank you for taking the time to comment.
Kind regards - Andrea Gennarini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
71 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2012

Hotel Alessandra was so wonderful! We booked all our rooms using trip advisor and I do not regret it! It is not far from the train station, and is in a great location. We walked to the Academia, the Boboli Gardens, the San Lorenzo Market and Il Duomo with no problem. Monti gave us a wonderful dinner recommendation for Zio Gigi and it was FANTASTIC, probably the best food we had in all of Italy. The next night Andrea gave us a great recommendation for a place to watch the football match between Italy and Germany. The room was very spacious and the bathroom was large. We had no street noise, or noise from the other rooms for that matter. I would definitely stay again if I went back to Florence. Thank you to all the staff at the hotel that. Are our stay so pleasant!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this review, 9 July 2012
Dear Guest
Hmmmm - thank you so much for you comments, but we think that the less said about football the better, given the totally disastrous final result! We are incredibly fortunate that we do have large rooms (Europe is renowned for it's general "lack of space") - thank you for noticing. Do come back - we loved having you!
Kind regards - Andrea Gennarini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakeland, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2012

Hotel Alessandra is a wonderful, small hotel with the best location in Florence. Our room was spacious and light and airy and immaculately clean. The bed and armoire were antiques and quite charming. Every morning we could look out of our window and see the Arno. We would see the bell tower and the clock of the Uffizi Gallery. It made us feel like honored guests of Florence. We were in walking distance of everything. It was the perfect hotel for us. The staff was super friendly and very helpful. My husband and I loved our stay in Florence and loved this hotel. We will return again and again. Jan and Tom McDonald

Room Tip: A room with a view of the Arno
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Alessandra, Owner at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this review, 6 August 2012
Dear Guest, it was truly our pleasure and we do hope to see you again.
Kind regards - Andrea Gennarini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#27 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,160 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Casci
Hotel Casci
#33 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,520 reviews
Pitti
Hotel Restaurant  La Scaletta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Rapallo Hotel
Rapallo Hotel
#25 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,740 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Perseo
Hotel Perseo
#46 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,593 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#8 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alessandra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alessandra

Property: Hotel Alessandra
Address: Borgo Santi Apostoli 17, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Uffizi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Alessandra 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our family run hotel is right in the heart of Florence old town - near to the Uffizi Gallery and Ponte Vecchio. Without doubt, Hotel Alessandra is one of the most centrally located hotels in Florence. In this privileged position, Hotel Alessandra offers a home away from home, with our friendly team and extensive knowledge of the local area. The hotel entrance is situated on the second floor of the building. You can reach the reception floor using the lift, small but working fine (in the 1400s buildings hadn't been designed with this in mind!) But please note that there are around 30 steps from the entrance on the street level to the departure of the lift. We very much look forward to seeing you! Andrea and Anna ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Hotel Alessandra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing