We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,860)
Filter reviews
1,860 results
Traveller rating
1,268
504
63
15
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,268
504
63
15
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ponte vecchio smiley face small elevator bell tower quiet street flights of stairs view of the river perfect location train station stay there again uffizi gallery yogurt heavy luggage hotel is located side street gelato restaurant recommendations
Filter
Updating list...
64 - 69 of 1,860 reviews
Reviewed November 7, 2017

I have to recommend this hotel for their cleanliness and location. The breakfast was adequate and the front desk help was very polite and informative. The bed was great not too soft and not too hard. The hotel is located in a quiet part of Florence and it is close to the best restaurant in Florence. The best restaurant is "Toto" just down the street from this hotel.

Stayed: October 2017
1  Thank V1160DAgeorgem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndreaGennarini, Owner at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2017

We think you most definitely enjoyed your stay! Thank you so much and do come back one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 30, 2017

We have stayed at this hotel on three occasions, each time in Room 20 (purely coincidental). First of all the good news: it is perfectly located in a fairly quiet and rather charming road extremely close to the centre of Florence. Almost all of the big sights in Florence are less than a 10 minute walk from the front door - the Ponte Vecchio is less than three minutes away - and yet you are away from the crowded main thoroughfares that can be rather daunting in high season. The staff are very friendly and helpful, the breakfast is O.K. and Room 20 is pleasant and very big (the bathroom is a bit cramped, though). Borgo SS Apostoli has several interesting shops and 4 or 5 generally good restaurants and has a friendly feel despite being so central. There is just one possible drawback: access. You enter through a door on the street and then have to climb 25 stone steps (yes, I counted them) until you arrive at the world's smallest lift (rather like a traveling wardrobe) that takes you up to the Hotel. This is not much of a problem if you have no bags, but it is daunting if you arrive with heavy bags.
Overall it is a very good place to stay, but do stop and consider access before booking - we have, but we have stayed here three times!

Room Tip: Room 20 is big and quite attractive. Bathroom a bit cramped, though.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kiacmaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndreaGennarini, Owner at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2017

Oh we had a giggle reading this! Never has our teeny tiny lift been called a traveling wardrobe! But it is really not a bad description, we admit! We do not hide our access issues and talk about our "compact and bijoux" lift and millions of stairs both here and on our Facebook page, with alarming frequency.

That said, we don't consider them negative points. Florence is never going to be a huge vacation destintation for those with serious mobility issues: walking and climbing stairs is what Florence is about! We always try to be as open and informative as we can, so that everyone knows before making their choice that we definitely have stairs.

We have made a light-hearted comment on our Facebook page about the Travelling Wardrobe. Forgive us - it's too magnificent to ignore!

We hope that 3 visits may one day become 4 and we can have a laugh together over this awesome description.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 24, 2017

Centrally located in Florence. Can’t say enough about the friendly and helpful 24/7 staff - front desk and breakfast room staff included. They were available with suggestions and advise. Good sized rooms, nice en suite. There are 76 steps to get to the reception area with a small elevator at the first flight. Do not let this minor item stop you from staying here. There are wall switches that turn on lights to stair area - they stay on for about 30 seconds - just enough time to navigate steps.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank fruitsy9989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndreaGennarini, Owner at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2017

All excellent advise, except you forgot to mention that is you do all the stairs, the following day you are allowed to eat 2 icecreams and have 3 extra glasses of wine!

Thank you so much for choosing us and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 24, 2017

We stayed a number of nights while exploring Florence. I must say this hotel is really well located and convenient to just about everything. The staff is very friendly and helpful with suggestions for attractions and restaurants. Breakfast was very good with nice options. The rooms are clean and comfortable although the furniture in our room was in need of some TLC. The stuffing was coming out of a chair and the other pieces were quite worn. That said, we had a wonderful stay and the good things far outweighed the not so good.
Recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank RERD09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndreaGennarini, Owner at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2017

We are glad about the outnumbering - that is good to hear. We are well aware of things that need doing and each year we carry out a full maintanance programme (usually in the winter months). We recently replaced 11 windows, compleletly overhauled 8 bathrooms and are working on our list for this winter.

Come back one day so you can check on how we are doing!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 18, 2017

We stayed in Florence three nights. This hotel was very convenient to all the major sights, including Uffizi and Ponte Vecchio, just a very short walk to each. Good restaurants right outside the door. Be forewarned that the elevator is a retrofit and starts about 30 steps up from ground level and is very, VERY small due to space limitations. We stayed in the upper level (Rm 26 or 27, can't remember), with a clear but limited view of the Arno River.
The staff was very good, friendly and accommodating. Breakfast was also excellent. If and when we return to Florence we will stay here again.

Room Tip: The room with the river view is in the upper portion of the hotel and is very quiet. If steps are OK, get rooms 26 or 27.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndreaGennarini, Owner at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2017

Yuh-huh! Our building is 500 years old and lifts came along a little later, so yes, a major retrofit :-) And you are right - very small, but it does the job, slowly and with not so much space, but it all works in the end.

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and very much look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Thanks for your kind comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews