We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful old world hotel with all the amenities of the modern.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
San Giorgio e Olimpic
Ranked #230 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Fairfax, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful old world hotel with all the amenities of the modern.”
Reviewed 3 November 2011

So close to the train station made this a wonderful choice and the fact that it was also right by the hop-on, hop-off bus stop was a bonus. Easy walk to everything we wanted to see in Florence and safely nestled on a street that was a bit slower than the others nearby. Boutiques and street fairs close by - loads of restaurants and within walking distance of the meeting points of many tours. We were delighted by the friendly staff and clean, private room. Spacious but no wasted room. Adequate for several days while on holiday. Good value.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ewecountry5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

632 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    251
    170
    64
    45
See reviews for
131
302
28
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

The hotel is quite centrally located and under 10 mins walk from the train station and within walking distance to many of Florence's main "attractions". The hotel staff were friendly and helpful. Very courteous, they also helped us decide suitable day to visit PISA which was on our itinerary . We made a day visit to Pisa and were glad that the hotel staff recommended best option to travel instead of opting a tour .
They can improve their breakfast spread but honestly by then My husband and I had quite stop complaining about the quality of breakfast being served in France and Italy :)

rooms , they should consider improving/ refurbishing, rest all is good .

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dolly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Verwood, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2011

My wife and I stayed at this Florence hotel for 2 nights at the beginning of October.Trying to be positive this hotel is in a great location ,just across the road from the central station and with in easy walking of all the main attractions.The hotel itself fails in so many ways.The decor is old and tired and without exception all the members of staff we came into contact with looked fed up and clearly didn`t want to be there.The first room we were given was very basic with shabby furniture and lots of wear.We asked to move as the shower did not work.The second room looked no better ,but with some effort we got the plumbing to work.No in-room safe, television with no English language stations and being a tiny portable.The buffet breakfast was ok, just ok.Some might say that this hotel has some fadded charm,I would say it is in desperate need of a complete refit and some staff training,such a shame it could be so much better.If you do find yourself in this hotel and want a nice meal, turn left out of the hotel and walk a short distance and on your left you will find a little Trattoria called Palle D`oro.We had a lovely evening meal at a very reasonable price

Room Tip: find a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DLODRATSAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Florence hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 October 2011

The main advantages were proximity to the train station and the Duomo and free unlimited wifi. Other than that the hotel was very average. It's ok for a short stay 1 to 2 days, it's not very modern and breakfast was not good, breakfast staff were unhelpful. Still if you're going to be out sightseeing most of the time, it's very centrally located and please do consider it.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marisa434
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2011

This hotel is in a very good location - a few minutes from Santa Maria Novella station and five minutes to the centre of Florence. It's clean and quite comfortable but a little down at heel. Staff were fine and breakfast was satisfactory. Good value generally.

Room Tip: The rooms on the top floor and facing the internal courtyard are quite quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharp025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2011

San Georgio And Olympic proved a very good choice for my stay for two nights in Florence this July. The hotel scores on location, price, comfort, breakfast and a friendly and efficient staff. In a city like Florence which has to be experienced on foot, what more does one want? While functionally modern, it also has some quaint features that befit Florence.

The Santa Maria Novella train station is a three-minute walk, the Duomo five minutes away and the cluster of Uffizi Gallery, Ponte Vecchio, Museo Galili as well as Accademia within a radius of 15 to 20 minutes of leisurely walk. Perfect location.

Book in advance and you'll find the price reasonable for Florence where hotel rates are comparatively high.

The entrance is spacious and decorous though fading somewhat. The coffee shop, mostly done up in bright yellow, is cheerful and the breakfast truly sumptuous. The coffee is especially recommended. If one gets a top floor room like I did, the lift can at times test one’s patience, but once inside the room, one felt utmost comfort. There is an interesting marriage of the modern with the quaint and the traditional. The room is adequately sized and the furniture sufficient. The bed is comfortable and the bathroom clean. What I liked was the extra touches like an embroidered curtain in the bathroom and the period touch of the balcony door. The wooden- paneled balcony door has retained its old-fashioned latch. You turn the handle and the latch at the top of the long rod falls in position. The best part was the balcony. Great place to relax in the evening; it is so breezy, one doesn't miss air-conditioning. Here, one is level with the top of Duomo and to the right, not very far looms Santa Maria Novella. Great way to exist in the centre of history.

The staff is remarkably friendly and accommodating. Some of them speak impeccable and crisp English. I had taken the hotel’s help for doing advance booking at Uffizi and academia -- much easier and less expensive than trying to book online, going by my experience.

Room Tip: Top floors, balcony view of Duomo
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Columbustta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Bergholt, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2011

We booked a cheap 4 day/3 night break with Broadway Travel for £130 each including flights and couldn't have been happier with what we got. The location is fantastic, just 5 minutes from the station and close to all the major attractions. Our room was clean although a little tired in places but the sheets were crisp and white and that counts for a lot with me. The breakfast was a selection of juices, yoghurt, fruit, cereals, rolls, meat and cheese with tea or coffee and was ample to set you up for the day. The staff were friendly and helpful. The only downside was that our room was on the 1st floor at the front and there was a fair bit of noise at night with people walking past shouting and laughing. They offered to move us the very next day as soon as they had a spare room but we didn't bother in the end as we were only there for 3 nights and we were worn out from all the sightseeing and slept through most of it. The room had a mini fridge so we bought bottled water from the local supermarkets to take out with us each day. If you don't mind the slightly tired appearance in places you would go a long way to find a better located hotel but probably best to try and get a room at the back..

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank coolbeans_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Rex
Hotel Rex
#345 of 411 in Florence
359 reviews
San Lorenzo
Martelli Hotel
Martelli Hotel
#295 of 411 in Florence
580 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Alinari
Hotel Alinari
#325 of 411 in Florence
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Galileo Hotel
Galileo Hotel
#236 of 411 in Florence
414 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Delle Nazioni Hotel
Delle Nazioni Hotel
#191 of 411 in Florence
1,323 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Unicorno
Unicorno
#121 of 411 in Florence
601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Giorgio e Olimpic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Giorgio e Olimpic

Property: San Giorgio e Olimpic
Address: Via Sant'Antonino 3, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #230 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — San Giorgio e Olimpic 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your San Giorgio e Olimpic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Giorgio e Olimpic Hotel Florence
San Giorgio e Olimpic Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing