We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible experience”
Review of Galileo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Galileo Hotel
Ranked #236 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Reviewed 10 May 2012

We were scheduled to stay here for 4 nights by a travel agent. We left after only one night. The first room we were given already had someone in it. The second one was so bad we complained about the moldy shower curtain, tiny bathroom (3 feet wide by 10 feet long), poor lighting and being located right beside the first floor gathering room. The staff tried very hard to accommodate us, but they can't control the high school kids who were banging doors, talking loudly in the hallways, or the loud music coming from the apartments across the street. The neighborhood feels dangerous. There are groups of men crowded onto the sidewalks. They make you push your way thru them, as they won't move. By 1 am we still hadn't had any peace and quiet, and they were expecting another full house of high school students during the next 3 nights. We packed our bags and left.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (425)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

132 - 138 of 425 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2011

My family and i went to Florence in June to spend some time in contact with art.
We found this hotel that was very close to the centre , that's very comfortable.
The rooms were very clean and they have the needful things for a family.
The staff was very kind and helpful, they answer every question we made.
The breakfast is a buffet breakfast and it was good. They also have italian espresso and cappuccino!
Florence left me a good impression , i wish i could spend more time in Florence and in the hotel but i had to go back to work.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2011

This was in Rick Steve's book, so I booked it based on that. Unfortunately, in his newer version of the book, he refers to the area as "sketchy". The hotel is just blocks from the train station and very close to the Accademia where David is located. We liked that the room was huge as was the bath. But it's difficult to take a shower without making the whole bathroom wet because there wasn't a curtain or doors. We liked there was a convenience store around the corner as we bought bottles of water everyday, cookies and milk once. The hotel is a bit dated, and the breakfasts are very basic.

Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
3  Thank Amummert12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2011

We had booked this hotel through a travel agent after reading its reviews on Tripadvisor.com. After Rome B&B Debacle, we were quite Skeptical about florence as it was our next destination but it turned out to be okay. Lets check the good points first - The hotel staff is charming and helpful to a fault. It is centrally located (walking distance from the station and the Duomo) and also houses brochures which offers variety of tours for Florence and neighouring cities in Tuscany, the staffe also helps you to choose them. It was value for money as it costed us 69 Euros a night +tax. Negative - the airconditioning was not working when we entered but the staff was helpful in rectifying that,even though it gave us problems over the next few days we stayed. The internet in room was not available as they were doing some wiring work but a computer was available in Hotel lobby for use. The breakfast offered flavoured yogurt to assortment of breads, cereal but there was no hot food,not even eggs which was a sore point. But the biggest dissappointment was the bathroom - tiny and cramped. but overall, if you can do with the bathroom and breakfast as mentioned, I think it is a good bet from money,location and staff point of view. So I would give it a thumbs up.....

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank noobietraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

We had saved up for a long time to visit Florence. We went into our room and the air conditioning did not work. We spoke to the staff who checked the computer and said it was working. They gave us a fan and said it was a hot night. The heat became more unbearable and we complained again and were told that, according to the computer, it was working. Eventually we asked a receptionist to accompany us into our room and she agreed that it was too hot. She promptly disappeared downstairs and we had to go and ask what what being done after nothing happened.

We were moved from a double room to a single room where the air con worked. However, when it was switched on the noise was unbelievable. We were told it would rattle for about twenty minutes. it did settle a little, but was ridiculously noisy. We had to ask for it to be switched off in the middle of the night as it was getting noiser and preventing sleep. The following morning we spoke to the front desk and were thanked for bringing the issue to their attention as they didn't know about it. This is despite us speaking to four different receptionists!! The room we were moved to also has a leaking sink.

So, we spent a bleary eyed week in Florence, through lack of sleep.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2011

the hotel is located about 10 minute walk from the central train station.
the rooms are not so big comparing to other hotels i'v been in, but they are very clean.
breakfest was nice, including coffee, pastry,cereals, fruits.... though the dining room was a part of the lobby.
i had no trouble sleeping there though i do remember construction noises late at night and early at the morning, i would not recomend it for people who can hear everything while they sleep.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tagami46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2011

This hotel was the best one we had stayed at in Italy. The hotel is neat, pretty and clean. The receptionist Francesca is a honey and she was so helpful with anything we asked her, even with helping track down my lost luggage. The other receptionist (a young asian guy) was also very friendly and helpful. There's a guest computer with free internet and the breakfast was good. You also get a special if you stay from Sunday to Tuesday, Monday is free! It is also close to the train station and museums/markets so very convenient This hotel was great value for money and exceeded my expectations.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dee198407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Kursaal Ausonia
Hotel Kursaal Ausonia
#138 of 410 in Florence
1,036 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Donatello
Hotel Donatello
#264 of 410 in Florence
589 reviews
San Lorenzo
Martelli Hotel
Martelli Hotel
#313 of 410 in Florence
602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
San Giorgio e Olimpic
San Giorgio e Olimpic
#251 of 410 in Florence
650 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Alinari
Hotel Alinari
#305 of 410 in Florence
317 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Caravaggio
Hotel Caravaggio
#119 of 410 in Florence
797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galileo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galileo Hotel

Address: Via Nazionale 22A, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #236 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Price Range: $77 - $230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Galileo Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An elegant nineteenth-century building in the heart of an ancient city: among the hotels in Florence, Hotel Galileo welcomes guests into a calm and elegant environment, furnished in the best Tuscan-style tradition. You will have a pleasant stay or holiday in the city with all preferred comforts, surrounded by exquisite, authentic Florentine workmanship. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Galileo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galileo Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing