We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Home away from home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Locanda Orchidea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Locanda Orchidea
Ranked #216 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
New York, NY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2010

I have been stayin at the locanda orchid for almost 15 years now. Number one, it's verrrrry clean despite the shared bath. I see someone else experienced a bug issue, but in all the years I've been coming here I've never seen so much as a spider. It must have been an anomaly.

The location simply cannot be beat. It's located on an adorable street, just a 7 minute stroll to the duomo, and surrounded by vintage shoppes, restaurants and street life. Vestri -one block away - has THE best hot chocolate.

The owner lives upstairs, and seems to enjoy steering people to great places to eat. I notice her suggestions are always changing, but are always great - and different!

This time around she even came knocking on our door to let us know that all the museums were open late and were free that particular night. We saw the David at midnight with no line!

I wouldn't consider staying anywhere else...Really!!

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The_Tiny_Guide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    61
    11
    5
    5
See reviews for
16
48
44
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2010

I work in rural Tuscany and have been staying at Ochidea in Florence
on my way to and from my destination since 2003. I often bring
colleagues, and I recommend Orchidea to friends and colleagues
unconditionally. You approach Locanda Orchidea from a lovely, safe,
friendly street, Borgo Albizi, which is adjacent to a lovely, quiet
piazza with several nice restaurants. The staff is friendly,
helpful, and kind while being very respectful of the visitors
privacy. Orchidea is located in the heart of Florence with easy
access to profoundly important sites for scholars, writers, artists,
and families interested in cultural enrichment and in achieving
goals regarding their work. The rooms and bathrooms are spotless.
The sheets are professionally laundered and pressed. I look forward
to many more splendid visits at Locanda Orchidea for years to come.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mmbernadette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2010

This lovely Palazzo is conveniently located in the center of Florence - east of the Duomo it's a short walk to all top attractions. Restaurants and bars are nestled all around the immediate neighborhood, included favorites - The Oil Shoppe & Acqua al 2!

The value alone is worth the stay - very inexpensive for comfortable and clean accommodations of modest, Italian decor.

www.hotelorchideaflorence.it/

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aWayfarer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, VA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2010

This charming, clean, friendly, welcoming hotel is beautifully located on one of Florence's lovely narrow streets. Within easy walking distance of most of the sighs, but quiet neighborhood. Extremely well-priced (we paid about 50 Euros per night). Coffee and tea were available in the sitting room, and they made their computer available for our use. Very helpful staff.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank katsuadashinomoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2010

What is there not to say about this place? Perfect location two blocks east of the Dumo, in the heart of Florence. Less than a 5 minute walk to the Uffizi, and 10 minutes or less to the Accademia, Ponte Vecchio, or the Pitti Palace. The service from our hostess was impeccable! She spoke excellent English, and was very helpful with recommendations on places to eat, see, and even made our museum reservations for us (which I HIGHLY recommend, especially in the busy tourist season)! The rooms were spacious, and clean, and the shared bathrooms (2 w/ toilets and showers for only 6 rooms or so) were well maintained, and right down the hall.

The neighborhood was amazing as well, with a huge variety of cafe's, bars, and pasticcerias. Lots of 20 something college students (w/ many Americans and Brits) to meet and have a few beers with. (It is kind of nice to have an oasis of English speakers every once in a while if you're not fluent in Italian.) The Irish pub Lion's Fountain across the street is the perfect place to relax, and people watch. Stop in and say hello to Allesia the bartender there, and she'll give you the low down on the "don't miss sights" in Florence!!

Tip: If you're a light sleeper, or like to turn in a little early, bring some ear plugs or a white-noise ap for your smart phone, as the rooms located above the street tend to be a little noisy from the nightlife going on down below.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank doubledown76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2010

I've stayed at Hotel Orchidea before - this time, I persuaded other friends to stay with me and they were not disappointed. Beds are extremely comfortable (my friends commented on this to me as well) and the rooms are appealingly decorated. The rooms and the bathrooms are absolutely spotless. Staff are helpful and friendly and the location could not be better - a stone's throw from the Duomo and other central locations. Some of the rooms face a garden and one of them has a terrace. I found it very quiet (my room faced the garden) although my friends said they occasionally heard noise from the street. You do have to share bathrooms (there are sinks in the rooms) which puts some people off but I have not found it a problem either time that I stayed. Breakfast is not included either - I went to a cafe just around the corner (there are several). That being said, I also cannot think of anywhere else in Florence that is such good value for money (and that offers decently priced single rooms). I plan on staying there again when I go back to Florence (which I definitely will).

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank suecamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
176 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2009

Handy location. Less than 10 minute walks to both the to the Duomo and Santa Croce. Within walking distance of the train station.

The rooms at the front can be very noisy at night, but the rooms at the back are nice and peaceful.

Good basic hotel, kept clean and good value for money for a central hotel in Florence.

Staff very friendly.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ph1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Hotel Bavaria
Hotel Bavaria
#165 of 422 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Dali
Hotel Dali
#127 of 422 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Il Bargellino
Hotel Il Bargellino
#119 of 422 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
HOTEL LORENA
HOTEL LORENA
#111 of 422 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel San Giovanni
Hotel San Giovanni
#243 of 422 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Por Santa Maria
Hotel Por Santa Maria
#211 of 422 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Locanda Orchidea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Locanda Orchidea

Property: Hotel Locanda Orchidea
Address: Borgo Degli Albizi 11, 50122, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #216 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Locanda Orchidea 1*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Hotel Locanda Orchidea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Locanda Orchidea Florence
Locanda Orchidea Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing