We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (168)
Filter reviews
168 results
Traveller rating
122
35
7
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
122
35
7
3
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 168 reviews
Reviewed July 15, 2016

This boutique hotel/home is a hilltop private estate that made our stay! This is a family run villa and their focus is totally to enhance our vacation. They were available day and night for any questions or help. Stayed here with a family group for a week, and we took over the entire Villa.

The staff were all excellent. We had a tour of the premises and well in advance of our arrival, all plans were made for wine tours, cooking lesson, holiday celebration at The Rowing Club and our day-trip to Cinque Terra, led by Sylvia – Lorenzo’s sister. And, as someone else noted, there was a one-day taxi strike while we were there and the manager, Lorenzo, shuttled our entire group into Florence and back all day long!

They and the staff are truly hospitality professionals with whatever they did; and were flexible with our changes to plans and to new requests.
Check out the photos – what you see is what you get. If you are looking for contemporary digs, this not the place; it is traditional and well-appointed. Every room was quite comfortable – the living room was perfect for our gatherings. The décor was consistent, the bed was comfortable and the sheets comfy. Each bedroom was large and well equipped – including a coffee/tea and a mini-bar/fridge. There was a hair drier as well. The shower water level/power was perfect.
We met each morning on the gazebo where we could hear the birds sing, or close the sliding doors on a warmer day for the AC. The buffet breakfast was quite nice and I didn’t feel the need to order anything special. Cereals, breads, fresh pastries, fresh fruit, various yogurts, juice, coffee/tea, and immediate service as soon as anyone walked in the room to take the coffee order!

We taxied daily into Florence, which does add a cost – but so worth staying out of the tourist craziness in Florence central. The drivers all know how to maneuver into small roads – so not sure what the other review was concerned with.

As many others have said before us, this is a great place to stay if you want to be within easy reach of Florence but away from the crowds. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Looked like all rooms were well appointed. Just choose size of bed.
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AbsolutG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 15, 2016 via mobile

Firstly, whomever from Paris wrote the review entitled "Tourist Trap" clearly didn't stay at this property, but somewhere else, so please disregard. This villa, the staff, environment, food, hospitality, and location couldn't be better. You would be hard-pressed to find any better place for your Florentine holiday. We'll definitely be back!

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
2  Thank 336eugener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 14, 2016 via mobile

Lorenzo and his family made our family trip a trip of a lifetime! The villa was clean and well taken care of. Anytime we needed anything someone was always there to take our call or answer our questions. They set up our tours, cars, cooking classes and everything in between. We were there the night of a taxi strike and Lorenzo came out after midnight to pick us up! We can't wait to go back.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank Nicole C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 8, 2016

Stayed here with a family group for a week. The Villa has it all, beautiful well appointed rooms with every convenience. Management and staff were more than helpful and friendly in every way. There was a one day taxi strike while we were there, the manager, Lorenzo shuttled our entire group into Florence and back all day long! And he never missed a beat! Florence is a wonderful, exciting city. I'm looking forward to a return trip and would only stay at Marignolle.

Room Tip: Rooms 6 & 7 have lovely patios
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Ct_travelers_41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 7, 2016 via mobile

This is a delightful, small hotel set in a private hilltop estate. The decor is traditional and elegant without being fussy. The gardens are immaculately tended and there's a lovely pool area with views over the valley and the surrounding hills. The room is spacious, elegant and immaculately clean, bedding crisp and very comfortable.

There is a classic continental breakfast included in the price: a nice selection of breads, fruit, cakes, cereal, juices etc with hot drinks and warm croissants brought to the table. You can order other cooked options for a modest supplement.

As for the approach to the hotel, if you believed one review below you might be expecting little more than a narrow path. In fact it's a perfectly ordinary slip road up from the main road, scarcely 100 yards long and gently curved. The suggestion that it is 1.8 metres wide at best is factually incorrect (indeed impossible, if you think about it...). It really is not a problem.

The staff are excellent. We were  greeted warmly, given a tour of the premises and immediately made to feel at home. We're normally quite organised travellers but for some reason on this trip we kept forgetting / losing things. They were unfailingly helpful and friendly. 

In short, as many others have said before us, this is a great place to stay if you want to be within easy reach of Florence but away from the crowds. Highly recommended. 

Stayed: June 2016
1  Thank DavidandStuart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews